We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the worst place I have ever stayed in in my life.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages
Kearsarge Street, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 North Conway B&B and Inns
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is the worst place I have ever stayed in in my life.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 1 night on a cold Decembr weekend. It was dirty, it had no heat except fo a space heater. The bed spread had long hair on it and the place smelled like cigarettes. The space heater was merely a box where the heating elements were house inside of a cage with wide openings. We arrived at 11PM and had to get up early to drive to hockey tournament in vermont. The next morning on ourt way to Vermont we called the front desk which is located at The Eastern Slope Inn, and complained about having no heat all night, the hairs, and the bad smell. They said that it would be taken care of and fixed by the time we returned for our second night's stay. when we returned the room reeked of fabreeze and still had the cigareette smell, it was still frezzing and the floor was dirty. This time we went to the front desk and said how bad it was. They gave us a suite at the eastern Slope Inn for the second night for our trouble. The creepiest part of this is when we were checking in the first night the hostess was telling me that her parents were coming up for the weekend that night too and would be arriving shortly, then she handed me the key to the room, and then gasped and said , "oh no, i'm sorrry that's not your key" and handed me another key. I would bet that she gasped because she would never in a million years would put her parents in such a terrible room. This room was on the third floor....it was soo bad.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Manager at Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
My apologies if your stay was not as it should have been. All of the units at the Oxen Yoke are heated in the colder seasons and air-conditioned in the warmer summer months. As none of our units at the Oxen Yoke are located on the third floor, it is harder to determine exactly which part of the property you may have stayed in, however your concerns regarding the heating system and the cleanliness of your unit have been reported to the appropriate department managers for review.

I am glad that the front desk, was able address your concerns the second night of your stay by upgrading you to a deluxe Suite at the Eastern Slope Inn Resort.

As the areas you mention in your review are not typically of the quality and service our guests have come to expect I hope you will consider giving us a second chance to show you what our resort has to offer. We have very recently completely renovated one of our pet friendly cottages at the Oxen Yoke property. This room includes a king bed, sleep sofa, full kitchen/dinning area and spacious bathroom. If you do consider another visit to the area please contact Megan Scheid the Hospitality Manager for the Eastern Slope Inn resort so she can make sure your accommodations are all that you expect them to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The place is great value. It is clean. The beds were comfortable. The decor is old/out dated. Always love placed with refrigerator and microwave, especially when traveling with kids who always want to drink milk in the middle of night. Free wifi worked great. Small tv in the room with cable. there is a swimming pool on site, but I don't think it was open and i don't think it is heated. There is no extra blankets in the closet like most of other places that I've been to. Close enough to walk to main street, but not actually in the middle of it, so it is bit quiter. The building itself is kind of noisy, just because you can hear cars driving by, or people walk up and down the stairs. Also you do have to check in at the Eastern slope Inn, which I did not mind it. There are other places near with similar price, but with this place, we were able to use the Eastern Slop Inns amenities, like their indoor swimming pool.
At the end, great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, Dec 30 + 31 2012.
Rooms clean and beds comfortable.
Yes, noisy, walls are thin, but this is to be expected for the time of year.
Would stay again.
Accessibility to the lovely Eastern Slope Inn is a real plus. Beautiful hotel and amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was a good price. but rooms are old some up dates but lack of very basic mantian and clean were a problem. You can also here every time some one else turns on the water flushes the toilet, walks around or shuts a door. Ceilings are shorter than normal 8 ft. There is no staff at this hotel at all , it is run by its sister hotel down the srteet. location is good but that all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Oxen Yoke for one night in July 2012, for our trip to Storyland with another couple and our kids. It is a good roadside motel. The rooms were clean, and having a fridge as well as a microwave in the room was quite nice. It was on the cheaper side of local rooms as well, which was nice. We especially liked that there were chairs out on the deck, which allowed us to hang out and chat and relax with our friends right in front of the rooms while our kids slept (were given rooms next to each other, which was accomodating). We've stayed a lot of places where my husband and I had to read in the bathroom while our kid fell asleep, so it was a nice change to sit outside the door with a glass of wine in an Adirondack chair. If you are looking for a clean place to stay, within 20 minutes of Storyland or other attractions, this is a good value for your dollar. The only critique I had was that I wished there were not bedspreads on the beds. I always worry about how clean those are! One other thing on the plus side is that you had access to the amenities of Eastern Slope Inn, like the pool, etc. So that was a nice advantage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

we stayed here for two nights around fathers day 2012, as a base for hiking in the Whites. Family of 4, with another family in the next room. Postives, rooms are clean, kind of cute, and basically close to the main drag in town without having to hear all that traffic, etc. Peaceful. And, with the small fridge, it was workable, with a nice little porch out front. We overpaid by booking early, $100/nite++, vs. the $69 night offered to new bookings when we arrived. Go figure.

This motel (which must have been a small private one that was purchased by the much larger and better positioned Eastern Slopes Inn) is located on a side street and has two levels. Easy walk to downtown things to do.

For negatives, there were a few, although some are one of a kind. 1) checking in at the Eastern Slopes Inn is a minor inconvenience. 2) there is NO management on site, if noise or other issues occur there is noone there to help, although its not that far for them to get there if needed. 3) The outdoor pool is small, older, and shaded, and was down the entire weekend (which was one of the reasons we booked here). Big dissappointment here, it is not very likely that we will walk the 3/4 miles both ways with wet kids to use the indoor-only one at the ESI. 4) old school motel with thin walls and floors, for maximum quiet use the upper floor. 5) the EIS computer center for guests was down precisely when I needed it, although kudos to network guy John who let me use his laptop. 6) game room at ESI is older, altough does offfer some things to do. 7) for some reason the housekkeeping made the beds but did not clean out the coffee maker, or provide clean cups, a couple other minor oversights. As they are based at the ESI, it was not really something easily solved. 8) Room AC was weak at best, further compounded by positioning of the unit which confined the cold air to area in the front of the unit which would then sense the cold and disengage the compressor.

All in, it was not a terrible experience, but there are so many other places that I would look elsewhere unless everything is booked solid. Then, i would adjust my expectations. Probably best as a base for guys or adults going hiking, rather than with kids.

Room Tip: If you are stuck at the Motel go with upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a no frills kind of place. However, the rooms are clean. The staff is kind, friendly and helpful. The location is central but not on the main street. If all you are looking for is a place to crash, at a good price, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages

Address: Kearsarge Street, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet side street between Cranmore Mountain and Main Street in North Conway Village, The Oxen Yoke offers you a variety of choices for your stay in Mt. Washington Valley. Just two blocks away you'll find country shops, boutiques, cafes, and many fine restaurants. Over 100 factory outlets are within minutes. Whether you enjoy shopping, sight seeing, or a ride on the Conway Scenic Railroad--The Oxen Yoke is in the heart of it all!Guests are invited to use all the amenities of the Eastern Slope Inn Resort at no additional charge.These include a glass-enclosed swimming pool with spa tub, a year-round outdoor heated spa tub, exercise room and game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages Hotel North Conway
Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel And Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.