We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stonehurst Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Stonehurst Manor to your Saves list
The Stonehurst Manor
3351 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Dinner & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We planned a last minute trip to meet up with friends for dinner in North Conway, as well as a business meeting the following morning. We had to take our dogs along. We had a previous pleasant stay at Stone Hurst Manor, so we decided to book another stay with them. I indicated that we would not be staying for dinner & inquired if we could get a reduced rate since the quote included dinner & breakfast, as well as lodging. I was told, "no"! I went ahead and booked the room in spite of their inability to make concessions. The room was clean & they had doggie treats and dishes for our "girls", as well. A nice touch! Upon check out, we indicated that we couldn't stay for breakfast due to an early business meeting. They were most gracious and gave us a breakfast sandwich & English muffin to take out. We asked if they would consider giving us a voucher for dinner to be used in the future since we were unable to have dinner the previous evening, but again we were denied. I feel they should consider having a policy that is more flexible. It is leaves a bad taste in ones mouth to pay for something & not receive it, especially since they were apprised of our situation in advance. Just a thought!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review--we certainly understand what is it like traveling with our little ones and know that every little special treat makes a lasting impression. We are beyond delighted to hear that you and your little ones enjoyed your recent visit~see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    164
    40
    29
    38
See reviews for
92
492
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A+ for our wedding! Heidi and the staff did such a great job. I didn't want to worry about a thing on my wedding day and I did not have to one bit! Heidi knows how to run a wedding inside and out. That's all there is to it.
The food was amazing as always. They made us custom martini's for our wedding. How cool is that? Oh, and they were very good. Their bartender is a drink genius.
We stayed in room 22, one of the biggies with the fireplace and jacuzzi. It was wonderful. The bed was comfy.
We had after-parties in our room both nights we were there and amazingly didn't get yelled at for being too loud (which I thought we must have been). So either the staff is tolerant or the room kept the sound in.
Anyway. Definitely recommend Stonehurst. It was an awesome day, hosted at an awesome location.
Cheers!

Room Tip: The rooms inside the manor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful words and are happy to hear that you wedding was more than everything you could have imagined. We do hope to see you for your anniversary! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Please read this and do not be persuaded by the 5 star comments as we were. We were so looking forward to this place as the location and the reviews were positive, the location was excellent. My wife and I planned to stay here two nights and had reservations for the deluxe room with fireplace, we had to have half board with the price quoted, as we were told the food was good we thought that would be ok. We arrived and found a small cubby hole for a reservation desk which should have clued us in and the only time I would gladly given the bell boy a tip, they did not have one, as there were no lifts, got to the room, on the third floor (not good for the back) which had a fireplace, which we assumed was a log fire, wrong, we were given two bits of, what I can only describe as fire lighters or charcoal, the only heat apart from this was a wall mounted fan which was very noisy, it had radiators but were either not working or not on, however they did clang most of the night. The bathroom was very poorly equipped for a boutique hotel. The windows were screwed shut and had no screens so could not be opened. As for the food, we were disappointed to say the least, fresh fruit cup, looked and tasted like it had been in the fridge all night, my wife’s ravioli (House specialty) was gritty and when we complained we told they would tell the chef, I think a lot of people get mixed up with good food and quantity, as they were large portioned but very poor quality. The next point is contentious as we are from the UK and are not great tippers, however when in Rome. This I thought was different and I found the experience very uncomfortable, we were told it had to be half board but after each meal we were presented with the bill for the meal with a zero amount so we could leave a tip??? I could wright a lot more but none of it would be positive.

What a big disappointment!!!

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. We do not have elevators due to the age of the building and we would have been happy to help you with your luggage had you asked. We present a dinner check at the end of each meal as gratuities are not included in the meal package. We would be happy to speak with you if you would like to give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have been staying at Stonehurst Manor for many, many years. We love it. The staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating. Heidi and Leona are wonderful. The rooms in the Manor are clean, comfortable and roomy. The food is delicious and of excellent quality. Take some time before or after dinner and enjoy a drink in the Library Lounge. Very relaxing and Michael, the bartender is great! The Manor and grounds are beautiful and the view of Mount Washington is gorgeous. We always feel like we are home again walking through the front door. We highly recommend Stonehurst Manor.

Room Tip: Any room in the Manor house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you !! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stonehurst Manor is the perfect place to go whether you're celebrating a special occasion, getting away with your family, including the family dog, or meeting friends. We celebrated our anniversary. We felt right at home. My husband and I had only been to Stonehurst Manor once before and a couple of the staff members remembered us from last year! (Lisa... :-) impressive! Loved our room! Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend!
Linda H.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent visit with us. When our guests return yearn and year after it certainly tells us that we have hit our mark. We do look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at Stonehurst for two nights on our New England trip and were pleasantly surprised in many ways. In Europe we often forego the inclusive table-hote dinner when staying on a half board basis and eat out in local restaurants, as the choice is usually limited and boring, but the dinner at Stonehurst surpassed all expectations. We could choose from any main course on the a la carte menu including baked or steamed lobsters, prime rib, lamb or fish.... and the quality of the food was excellent. We had an Irish server who was great and told lovely tales of her parents’ trip to Ireland. Again there was a huge choice at breakfast - the blueberry pancakes were divine.

Whilst North Conway is well known for its shopping, it is also a great base to visit the White Mountains. A very kind gentleman at reception gave us a local map and directions to Cathedral Ledge which is a short drive from the hotel. The views are breath-taking. Well worth a visit! We also spent some time at Diana’s bath, very picturesque and not as crowded or touristy as the other waterfalls along the Kanc Highway.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Stonehurst Manor. Our Executive Chef Avi Dieter and his culinary department take tremendous pride and care to make sure that your dining experience exceeds all expectations. We look forward to having join us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just returned from our fall foliage weekend and were delighted that we could bring our 2 dogs with us (not many places allow for this). We had 2 rooms (parents came up with us, and brought thier 2 dogs as well). The grounds are amazingly beautiful and the view of the mountain range was totally gorgeous. Architecture of the Manor itself is incredible-this place has romantic ambiance for days!! You get a very old-worldly feel. Out pet-friendly rooms were functional (one double-bed and 1 twin) and comfortable-and were pleased they led out to a beautiful trail in the woods. No in-room fridge, however-but they will keep items cold for you, if you request it. The food was exceptional quality and for the price we paid-we got 2 complete dinners and 2 complete breakfasts in our package--a real value! YOu can order anything off the menu (no pre-fix stuff) and their Prime-Rib was to-die-for and the stuffed french texas toast w/mascarpone cheese was yummmyyy! We came home very relaxed after spending a few nights with Michael, the bartender-who mixes up some FABULOUS after dinner drinks by a nice roaring cozy fire, while watching the Sox clinch the series...Definitely a trip worth taking again. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and we do look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Address: 3351 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#11 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire, is where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stonehurst Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.