We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGrath's Tavern

McGrath's Tavern
3465 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860-5190
603-733-5955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 86 Restaurants in North Conway
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sat up top on patio and enjoyed the full moon and fresh air , the food was good ,portions were good and the service was very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would never go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we were looking forward to eating here, however nothing lived up to the great reviews we heard. The service was extremely slow. We ordered burgers and the buns were stale and twice the size of the burger itself. I ordered a blue cheese burger and couldn't taste the burger through all the dressing. The Irish nachos were potato skins with salsa on the side, not Irish nachos at all. Hands down the worst part though was when the waitress took a food bowl from another table and set it in the middle of our appetizer plate before asking us if we were done with our food, we were after that! The owner/manager did make good on our bad experience by comping us for the meal, though that's not enough to change my mind about going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

After I waited for my apps for 20 minutes, they then told us that the nachos were 86ed, I would have known a little sooner. My entree came, the Reuben, it was surprisingly good, not many other places load their Reuben's like mcgraths, it had a perfect amount of sauces on it. Overall the service was poor and the food was above average

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yunny, yummy, yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were staying at Adventure Suites across the street and one of the employees there recommended McGraths. We shared the Aisian wings to start with some delicious bread. My husband had the shepherd's pie, which was made with ground lamb and was amazing. I had the chicken cordon bleu which was also very good. He had blueberry pie for dessert - he said it was great. I had the molten lava cake - very good, but could have used some whipped cream to cut through the chocolate. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next night for dinner as well. I had the shepherd's pie because I had a bite of my husband's the night before and it was so good. He had the pot roast and it was also delicious. The mom and dad of the chef were the host and hostess and they remembered us the second night which was a nice surprise. Both nights the service was fast and efficient and friendly. I often go to North Conway to shop and have never gone up as far as McGrath's but I will now. I will be back - we loved it there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful after a day outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We came here for dinner after a summer day at Attitash riding the Mountain Coaster and the Alpine Slide - we were happy, tired, and starving. We were able to get a table on the outdoor dining deck, and enjoyed a few local brews and admired the scenery and the magnicent chimneys of the restaurant while we waited for our meal. My husband and I both ordered "Seamus's Pot Roast" which had a disclaimer on the menu saying we'd never think "Mom's pot roast" was the best again! And they were right - it was absolutely amazing, with mashed potatoes and a side of squash that tasted like warm pumpkin pie. Our daughter had the chicken fingers from the kids' menu - but we brought that home in a doggy bag - I couldn't keep her out of my plate! There was enough for the both of us, fortunately! The service was helpful and friendly, and we just had a great time. We'll definitely come here for dinner the next time we visit Conway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Tavern also viewed

North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to McGrath's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGrath's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.