We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Black Dogs Country Pub

Two Black Dogs Country Pub
2781 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860
603-356-3663
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 87 restaurants in North Conway
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Boylston, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A good location right on White Mountain Highway with plenty of lunch options for adults and kids. If you go, I would definitely recommend the crostini appetizer with hummus, bread, roasted peppers, tapenade, and feta. Very delicious! We had nice service, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    33
    30
    5
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprising find!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food was fresh and impeccably prepared to order, so expect service to take a little more time. Wait staff was friendly and knowledgable about the menu. Spartan atmosphere. Sit away from the door. The smokers go in and out, creating a noisy background.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just like the name implies 'country pub'. Not fancy, but very inviting. You get the friendliest service. Our waitress was excellent. She really knows the menu which is a major plus. She also was very enthusiastic about the food. She made it a point to let us know that everything was fresh and made to order. Even the coleslaw was shredded when ordered, not ahead of time. She also said that they use local when possible. We tried the Porto Fries for the appetizer. Really enjoyed them and they were the perfect size for sharing. Fish and chips for the meal. the homemade fries and the fact that the fish was not greasy made for the best fish and chips I have had. Next time in No Conway it is a must stop. I went because of the reviews on here and my husband was very pleased with the beer selection We almost missed out. We put the address listed in gps and it sent us to citizens bank. Turns out the address somehow got transposed on here. It is 2718 White Mountain Highwy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt Like a Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not the fanciest, but the most fun and welcoming. great food and fun staff.
What can be bad when you have Guinness straws on your burger and a Boddington's in your hand.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Back in North Conway for one of my bi-annual visits, and looking for a place for lunch with a friend. I was tempted to go to one of the old stand bys in town but another friend suggested Two Black Dogs since it was only a block from where we stood at the 5 & 10. It proved to be a great recommendation. My buddy ordered a cheeseburger, medium rare. I opted for the grilled ham and gruyere topped with a fired egg. The burger was HUGE and cooked to perfection. My sandwich was like I would expect in a fancy big city cafe. Eat it with a fork.
The bar had a wide variety of brews as well as some good ciders. I chose the cider and it was a nice compliment to the meal.
You'll find the pub in the Reporter's Alley across from the library in North Conway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Black Dogs Country Pub also viewed

North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Two Black Dogs Country Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Black Dogs Country Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.