We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Old Inn with some modem touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Slope Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern Slope Inn to your Saves list
Eastern Slope Inn
2760 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall “Leaf Peeping Rates”
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Old Inn with some modem touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed here several times. The pool is always warm. 2 hot tubs one is outside and open all year. There is also a great wood fired pizza restaurant on the premises.
We brought some BIG white towels from home for the pool. Some how they got mixed into the hotel laundry. When notified the staff started searching the laundry at once for them. After 20 mins they found 1 for us. A week later we received the other by mail! I cannot say enough nice things about this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    107
    42
    24
    10
See reviews for
123
153
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in the 'Savard' in July in the two bedroom unit on the second/third floors. The second floor houses a nice size living/dining/kitchen area with full size range, fridge, sink and microwave with deck off the back. Included on this floor is bedroom #1 with one double bed and a separate bathroom with tub/shower. The second bedroom is on the 3rd floor with a second full bath with jacuzzi tub.

Although the unit is spacious for four adults, the furniture/decor needs a serious overhaul - very dated. The double bed was uncomfortable, pillows were strangely small, carpet was worn and the drapes (no blinds) were too thin to block the parking lot street lamps from illuminating the room.

Recommendations - get rid of the drapes and invest in good light blocking shades/blinds. Switch the double bed for a queen and replace the carpet and bedroom furniture.

During our first night the air conditioning stopped working around 11 p.m. and did not kick in again until 7 the next morning although we had no issues on the second night.

It appears 'The Savard' was originally a two or three family house purchased by the resort years ago. The North Conway Train is behind the building and at 7 a.m. they were already clanging and banging out back. Also, a good bit of noise came from neighboring businesses receiving early morning deliveries - not something one wants to hear while on vacation.

The positives - perfect location right in town and easy to walk the main strip of North Conway. Great coffee shop across the street and another a few doors down. We did not use any of the amenities the Inn offered since we spent our time traveling the area. Having the full kitchen was wonderful - we never cooked however, we were able to stuff plenty of drinks and perishables in the fridge.

Would we stay again - probably not. There are other resort options in the area and living so close to NYC we would prefer a location less congested. But for those who would like to park and not drive - this may be the place for you!

Room Tip: Ask which building your room will be in and avoid anything facing the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We (3 couples over 60 ) stayed for 3 nights at the Gibson Unit which has 3 bedrooms of various sizes and is away from the main building. This was a very hot time and all the A.C's worked very well except one unit was hidden behind a bed and took time to find in the small bedroom upstairs. This unit had everything a condo would (full kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher etc) but with maid service.

We would recommend this for any family or similiar size group as there was a large living room and dining areas to sit around.

Room Tip: This unit is on the second floor of the building and has a very steep stairway to get in. Overall a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This weekend we went for another weekend at the mountains and it was my first time visiting North Conway, which I fell in love with. We were driving from Boothbay, ME and started calling places to stay in North Conway at 9:30pm not knowing this was a very busy weekend and that pretty much every place was booked! The sweet and very nice front desk girl at Eastern Slope Inn picked up the phone when we called and prompted to stay and wait for us even though she was about to leave at the end of her shift just to make sure she would save the last room of the house for us!! She also called one of the staff at the off ground property we were going to stay at to make sure they would leave the light on outside so we wouldn't walk in the dark!!! The room was amazing! extremely clean with all the utensils needed! the room made me feel like I wish i had more days to come back to it. Unfortunately we were only staying one night and the very comfortable pillows provided me with a great night sleep! The bathtub with four jets were amazing to relax the body from a day of driving! simply amazing. The next day, we left for breakfast and got on the road for our Sunday adventure forgetting to check out. We called the front desk, the same girl picked up and she promptly checked us out over the phone. I unfortunately don't remember her name but Both of the girls at the front desk and all the staff we talked to were very helpful and made our short stay stress free and very enjoyable :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have been to this hotel 3 times and all 3 times this facility messed up our room. The last time that my sister and i went they again got the room wrong. They put us in this dark "upgraded" room which i ended up on this pull out bed with a slant so i kept sliding off of the bed! My sister had a hole in her mattress upstairs so she kept falling into the middle of the bed. The room also didnt have A/C. In fact the whole hotel didnt have it. Very hot! For the price that you pay to stay here your better off at the Grande Hotel right at Settlers Green and you can walk to everything. The hotel needs to upgrade their things and get A/C. Wasnt impressed with the staffs attitudes.

Room Tip: The best rooms were the suites where they have 2 bathrooms and an upstairs. Still no A/C. Very hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are sorry if your recent stays with us did not turn out as you had planned. If ever a guest at our resort checks in to a room that they find less then satisfactory, we encourage them to contact our front desk team immediately so we can find accommodations that will meet their expectations.

All of the mattresses in our bedroom units throughout the property have been changed out recently to Serta Queen Pillow top mattress. From the sounds of it - it's possible that the mattress in your room was not up to our standards. We will bring this concern, as well as that of the quality of the sleep sofa to the attention of our maintenance and housekeeping management for follow up. It is possible that the room you stayed in was missed when we changed out the mattress, or may already need to be replaced. We are in the process of a major renovation project, which has already seen extensive upgrade to the kitchens, baths, carpeting and furniture in our Main Inn and Randall House units and will continue throughout the entire resort over the coming year. All of our units do already have air conditioning, which can be controlled by our guests using the control on the units themselves or by a thermostat on the wall.

As for our resort team, our apologies if you were not impressed with their attitude. Our front desk team is consistently recognized on this site as well as others for their friendly, knowledgeable personalities and willingness to help. It's our hope you will get in touch with our Hospitality Manager, Megan Scheid at 603-356-6321 ext 6403, so we can discuss your experience with us in more detail and make sure your next stay with us meets all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at ESI using our RCI exchange. We stayed in the carriage suites out back. Room was spacious. Kitchen a little light on dishes and utensils for a group of 8.
The deck of the room nice idea but very very small and gave us splinters.

Why did the put the whirlpool tub in the main room rather then in the bathroom? Just seemed very odd. There was plenty of room to enlarge the bathroom and put the tub in the bathroom. Wife said creaky some makes thought it was a good idea to have the tub in the main room, but any female would of told them it was a bad idea.

Disappointed that the indoor hot tub was closed for the entire week, would think they could do that work on mud season. While the ESI promotes recycling they do not provide the proper facilities in the rooms to actual do it. Management needs to get the weeds out of the gutters near the outside hot tub for the second year sitting in the hot tub and looked up to see weeds growing in the gutters not a big deal but just looks bad.

We loved the location being right in town really enhances the stay. Being able to make some meals in ou room was great and having a washer and dryer on the room was a big plus.

Flatbread restaurant was good but a little over priced.

Game room was kind of dumpy felt like the 1970s. With a little work and imagination could be a lot better.

Empty space were they used to have a coffee shop. Missed being able to get an early coffee in the hotel but just walked into town. But what a waste of empty space.

Planned kids activities were kind of limited and not very exciting. But so much to do outside the hotel.

Nightly movies a good idea, but not really promoted well and nothing special how about offering popcorn ect with the movie it would make it more fun plus a money maker for the hotel.

Loved the trails leading to the Saco river behind the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay hotel needs some updating and a bit more attention to details.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our resort. The Carriage House Suites are among the more recent additions to our resort (along with Whitaker House, and most recently Center Chimney). IWe're sorry that the one bedroom deluxe unit you stayed in did not have enough dishes for your party. If ever you stay with us and there are either items missing or items you would like that you do not find in your unit please do not hesitate to contact our front desk team so we can get those items to you immediately.

We appreciate your comments regarding the location of the 2-person spa tub in the bedroom side of your unit. Your observations will be passed on to our senior management team to consider placing the spa tubs in the bathroom in future constructions, which is what was done on the studio side of these units.

We are in the process of many upgrades throughout the resort, one of which will include some upgrades to our game room. We have recently switched out some of the video games, repainted the room, and added a flat screen television and will be installing new carpet in the very near future.

The space formerly occupied by the coffee shop has already been rented to our Flatbread restaurant which has added more outdoor seating and will be expanding their eat in and take out services into this area by this Fall.

Your comments and oservations regarding the resort activities will be shared with our front desk team to see how we can better promote our onsite activities.

We're glad that you enjoyed the resort and the area, and thank you very much for your comments on where we could improve on our attention to the details. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England - USA
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I took an anniversary trip here in July 2012 and stayed for a week. We loved the historic old Inn and resort. It was charming. The staff was friendly and very helpful. It was on the expensive side, but it was an anniversary week, after all . . . The Inn is located right in the heart of North Conway, and you can walk to many places of interest. There is a museum, a scenic train, a dinner train, scores of restaurants, arts and crafts stores, art galleries, jewelry stores, a Native American store, and a large park that seemed to have something happening on a daily basis. While we were there, that happened to be a hot air balloon festival, which we attended. On another day, there was a motorcycle rally. The choice of restaurants is quite eclectic. We ate in many different plces, including the small coffee shop and pizza restaurant in the Inn itself. We thought overall that the restaurants near the Inn (both within walking distance and a short ride by car) were excellent. The only drawback is that the Inn is right on the main road through town, so there was constant traffic and noise. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you and your husband chose to spend your anniversary with us. Our location in the center of North Conway Village is perfect for walking around and enjoying the shops or eating out at one of the many restaurants onsite or in the village. Being centrally located in the heart of the White Mountains, it is also very convenient for making short day trips to enjoy all that our area and New England has to offer.

It sounds like you hit a perfect week with all of the special events going on in and around town. We frequently have concerts in the park, festivals, arts and craft fairs and so much more in addition to all the summer and winter attractions.

We do offer a variety of room options in 10 different buildings throughout the village. Some face the village while others are more towards the back of our property and offer views of the Mountains. We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in the area. If you do please do not hesitate to speak to our front desk team prior to your arrival so we can help find you a location on property that will provide you with the atmosphere you are looking for while still being able to walk to all that the village has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Inn

Address: 2760 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN HOME WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Eastern Slope Inn Resort - an elegant, four-season resort located on the National Register of Historic Places in the center of New Hampshire's North Conway Village. Situated on 40 acres, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, cafes, and popular attractions, the Resort features 250 rooms bridging the charm of yesteryear with modern day comforts and conveniences. The main inn offers a variety of elegantly furnished guest rooms with many units featuring kitchenettes. Guests can choose from a diverse array of accommodations to include studios, townhouses and deluxe suites with gas fireplaces, spa tubs, full kitchens and living rooms. Resort amenities include the Eastern Slope Playhouse, indoor heated pool, indoor and outdoor hot-tubs, clay tennis courts, fitness facility, meeting room and business center, playground, retail shops, walking trails to the Saco River, stocked fishing and ice skating pond, and Flatbread Company restaurant with pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Eastern Slope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Slope Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.