We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountain Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Full Bkfst Included
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Just had a wonderful overnight stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. Only spent 1 night but would really liked to have spent another few nights here. The hotel was very clean, quite and comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
I appeciate you taking the time to post your kind review. It means so much to me to hear from our valued guests. I hope we will have the pleasure of your business in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    174
    73
    26
    12
See reviews for
218
300
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The white mountain hotel and resort was reminiscent of a bygone era. While the hotel has some age under sparkling the white exterior, the friendly, well trained staff, really makes the difference. They go out of they way to make your stay pleasurable and to make you feel welcome. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the service is impeccable and efficient while you never feel as tough you are being rushed through your meal. I feel this hotel is an excellent value and well worth considering when in the area. The only thing keeping it from getting an excellent rating is the dated amenities in the room, (smaller flat screen TV difficult to see from a slight angle; older air conditioning unit that is somewhat loud).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to see you enjoy all that our hotel has to offer, especially our reknowned Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff. They work so hard to insure every guest has a plesant stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Lovely views from quiet but somewhat dated hotel. Food was very good but ambiance in restaurant was lacking and hostess not welcoming. Great location from which to access the gloriously beautiful White Mountain trails.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are constantly upgrading and improving our hotel to meet our guests expectations. I'm sorry you experienced rude behavior from one of our hostess'. It won't happen again. I hope to see you here at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here this weekend for a night. Totally average place with a spectacular surrounding. Surprisingly the rug in the room was very dirty. And there is no way to lock the door from the inside to prevent our small child from unlocking it and leaving the room unattended - whether in the middle of the night or while we were just glancing the wrong way.

We explored the hiking trails on/around the premises. The signage is terrible, and in the case of the trail up the mountain, the remnant of what clearly used to be a well-placed sign is just sitting there flat on the ground in the leaves, not visible from even 5 yards away.

Swimming pool is totally adequate - nothing luxurious - and the pool towels are like cheap gym towels, which is not a plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not completely enjoy your overall experience. i have taken note of some of your concerns and will address them. I would like to point out that the signage that you discovered to be in disrepair on the hiking trails around the hotel are the property of the National Forest and the State Forest that surround the hotel. I do hope you'll give us another chance in the future. This property really is in a magical setting and ideal for exploring. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We just finished spending 5 nights at the White Mountain Hotel. The staff are the strength of the hotel. They will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is very nice but a little older. Pool is great. Free wifi that works very well on the property. The food in the restaurants are great especially the chowder. The grounds and scenery around the hotel are beautiful. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. we try to make all our guests feel special with over the top customer service. Thanks for noticing. I'm glad you enjoyed the grounds. Nora works very hard to make sure our flowers and gardens are a sight to behold. I agree with you, evceryone should try our award winning seafood chowder. It's second to none. thanks for staying with us and we hope you will again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are a little outdated but clean and conformable. The near by shopping was great, my wife had a great time. the staff were pleasant and help wit attractions in the area.

Room Tip: even though your not in your room alot take a room with the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your frank and honest review. I'm sorry you didn't like the decor of our hotel. The hotel was designed in 1990 by the former architects of Colonial Williamsburg. Subsequently, the interior decor reflects that style in many ways. The furniture and fixtures throughout are of a very high quality, but they are colonial and classic. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our Dining Room and Tavern. I would like to point out that the $1.50 gratuity is only added to your bill if you actually ate from the Continental Buffet Breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Interesting hotel in the mountains. I guess it would be ideal if you are a golfer. However I found the furnishings and overall style of the hotel very old fashioned and dingy. Some might consider this as having character, so I suppose it's subjective. But not my cup of tea. To be fair, it's fairly represented on its website, so I suppose it was my bad.

The hotel is situated well away from the main North Conway town centre, so if you want to eat elsewhere you'll have to drive. The hotel restaurant has a strict dress code, however the bar area (which is effectively the same room), does not, and has the same menu as the restaurant.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant. A continental breakfast is included free, and you can order cooked food too, at extra expense. A tip of $1.50 per person per night is automatically added to your room bill (even if you don't take breakfast!), so take that into account!

There is an outside pool, and a games room with table tennis and some video games.

On the day we were there it rained continuously, and there really was nothing to do in the hotel to keep the family amused.

Free wi-fi however was welcomed.

If I were to return to the area I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your frank and honest review. I'm sorry you didn't like the decor of our hotel. The hotel was designed in 1990 by the former architects of Colonial Williamsburg. Subsequently, the interior decor reflects that style in many ways. The furniture and fixtures throughout are of a very high quality, but they are colonial and classic. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our Dining Room and Tavern. I would like to point out that the $1.50 gratuity is only added to your bill if you actually ate from the Continental Buffet Breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Address: 2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#3 Business Hotel in North Conway
#5 Family Hotel in North Conway
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountain Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.