We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect summer vacation spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountain Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect summer vacation spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the White Mountain Hotel and Resort for 5 days/4 nights and found it a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing place. Our room was immaculate and spacious, with nice furnishings and country-inspired decor we found very pleasing. The bathroom was very large and the toiletries provided were certainly a cut above what most hotels supply. We opted for the continental breakfast each morning, which was included in the price of our room, and were pleasantly surprised by the wide variety of items from which to choose as most continental breakfasts tend to consist of simply a few muffins or pastries, juice and tea or coffee. The continental breakfast here offered these as well, plus hot or cold cereals, mixed fruit, hard-boiled eggs, scones, cinnamon buns and yogurt, all buffet-style and all-you-can-eat. There was also a relatively extensive a la carte menu available, too, at reasonable prices.

The outdoor pool area was clean and had various comfortable chairs, a few tables and umbrellas. The water temperature was just right, neither too cold nor too warm. The view was fabulous. The fitness centre was well-equipped and also very clean.

There is a pro shop that offers all types of golfing equipment and accessories, and golf carts are plentiful. Tennis courts are also available.

The one drawback, if so it can be called, is that there is only one elevator in the hotel, which was a very slight inconvenience as we were on the top (third) floor and not always disposed to take the stairs. It can also be a bit of a challenge to find the hotel in the first place, as signage is minimal (per municipal ordinance) and it is located in a residential area.

We found the staff very welcoming and accommodating. In particular, Laurie at the reception desk was helpful and very friendly and we appreciated her easy but professional manner.

All in all, a most satisfying experience in a beautiful location to which we will certainly return and recommend to our friends!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side have beautiful mountain views and are quieter than those at the front and tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    180
    73
    26
    12
See reviews for
222
314
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel was in a lovely location with quite a view of the cliff behind it. It is not near the centre of town however so restaurants/gas/shopping are about a 10 -15 min drive away.
Room was on the small side and tired- paint peeling, noisy air conditioner.
The free breakfast is not entirely free as they charge a gratuity per person. Also the selection for this free breakfast was mediocre - I've had better at Best Westerns. Hostess was not particularly friendly and overall, I would say the servers seemed like they didn't want to be there. Not unfriendly just not enthusiastic.
The pool is heated which is nice. The hot tub was fine but I did end up with a nasty rash after using it.
Generally, the hotel was underwhelming for the price and appears to be resting on its laurels.

Room Tip: Cliff view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I apprec iate your review and your honest opinions about your stay. I am sorry to read that we did not exceed your expectations with regard to service and your dining experience. I will most certainly forward your comments to our Food and Beverage Director and weill look at the A/C unit and paint in your room, as this certainly is not an example of our high level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

There was a large fireplace in the main lobby. All you could smell was burnt wood. Not a pleasant smell. And the fireplace was not being used as it was summer and very hot.
Also, we ate breakfast in the dinning room twice (not the continental breakfast). The first morning, the breakfast was excellent. The second morning, the presentation was poor and the hash brown potatoes were cold. Also, I saw the waitress dump coffee from the decaf pot (orange rim) and pour it into the regular coffee pot (brown rim) and serve it in the dining room as regular coffee.
The last time we had stayed at this hotel was about 10 years ago. We had always been pleased. The staff was very polite. However, no one that we spoke to has been there long. So why is there such a turnover?? Not so sure we would return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, and certainly do appreciate your honest feedback. I am sorry that your experience at breakfast was less than pleasant. I can assure you that we do have a very high standard for customer service, and we are commited to providing a quality breakfast and pleasant staff. I hope that this situation was isolated, and will most certainly bring these comments to our Food and Beverage Director and General Manager/Owner. Thank you, and please feel free to call upon me personally if you would like to return, as we would like another opportunity to prove to you that we are indeed committed to quality customer service.
Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Though it was only an overnight stay we had a fabulous time. The staff was friendly and personable,the room had the most incredible mountain views,very comfortable beds and easily fit us and our 3 children. Everyone enjoyed the pool,jacuzzi,fitness room,ping/pong and fire pit.
The included continental breakfast was well more than we hoped for with part buffet,part sit down service in the dining area overlooking the mountains.
Only difficulty is need better signage to find it.

Definately recommend.

Room Tip: The deluxe queen room was very very roomy with a foldout sofa and the room was rounded with a 180 de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay. I agree with you that the signage at the street on West Side Road is difficult to see from the Northbound side. Unfortunately town laws do not allow us to change this sign, make it bigger, move it, etc. so we are bound by the sign we have. Best advise is to follow the direction on our website, and know that you will not see the Hotel from West Side Road, as the driveway is 2 miles long. I am glad that you found us, and happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice, quiet rooms set within the White Mountains. A family hotel. Gorgeous dining room, The Ledges, not to be missed, for the views and the piano music. There is a Sunday brunch buffet too. Only downside is that the hot tub jacuzzi has only one working jet and the water was not very hot.
Would recommend this hotel to couples and families.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and thanks for the review. I appreciate your comments, and will certainly look into the Jacuzzi, as it should be fully operational. We did replace a heater unit a couple of weeks ago, and possibly this was the reason for the tempature. I can assure you this is all set now. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

There are many good things to be said about this hotel; location is excellent for exploring the white mountains, the hotel is very nicely situated with a golf course and a hiking trail just outside the entrance. The atmosphere is cosy and the staff very friendly. I hope I can come back and stay here again! The only small negative is the breakfast and that the AC is quite noisy and if you have a room near the "exhaust" from the kitchen you room will smell of food.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and I appreciate your feedback. You will be pleased to know that the kitchen fans that have been a noise concern for some guests in the past, are being relocated and that problem will be eliminated this year. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

First of all, the views are spectacular. Rooms are nice, breakfast is good. Bed is very comfy. Pool is nice and wasn't too cold. Only negative is that it isn't easy to find. But, it is worth the look. Hidden treasure is right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for your review and so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Best bet on directions is to follow the directions from our website, and know that you will not see the Hotel from West Side Road, as our driveway is 2 miles long. We agree the signage is a bit difficult, but unfortunately we are bound by town signage laws. Appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Address: 2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#4 Business Hotel in North Conway
#6 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountain Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.