We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a return visit. Probably our last.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountain Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Full Bkfst Included
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwood, Massachusetts
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This was a return visit. Probably our last.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

There was a large fireplace in the main lobby. All you could smell was burnt wood. Not a pleasant smell. And the fireplace was not being used as it was summer and very hot.
Also, we ate breakfast in the dinning room twice (not the continental breakfast). The first morning, the breakfast was excellent. The second morning, the presentation was poor and the hash brown potatoes were cold. Also, I saw the waitress dump coffee from the decaf pot (orange rim) and pour it into the regular coffee pot (brown rim) and serve it in the dining room as regular coffee.
The last time we had stayed at this hotel was about 10 years ago. We had always been pleased. The staff was very polite. However, no one that we spoke to has been there long. So why is there such a turnover?? Not so sure we would return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, and certainly do appreciate your honest feedback. I am sorry that your experience at breakfast was less than pleasant. I can assure you that we do have a very high standard for customer service, and we are commited to providing a quality breakfast and pleasant staff. I hope that this situation was isolated, and will most certainly bring these comments to our Food and Beverage Director and General Manager/Owner. Thank you, and please feel free to call upon me personally if you would like to return, as we would like another opportunity to prove to you that we are indeed committed to quality customer service.
Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    171
    72
    26
    12
See reviews for
218
293
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Though it was only an overnight stay we had a fabulous time. The staff was friendly and personable,the room had the most incredible mountain views,very comfortable beds and easily fit us and our 3 children. Everyone enjoyed the pool,jacuzzi,fitness room,ping/pong and fire pit.
The included continental breakfast was well more than we hoped for with part buffet,part sit down service in the dining area overlooking the mountains.
Only difficulty is need better signage to find it.

Definately recommend.

Room Tip: The deluxe queen room was very very roomy with a foldout sofa and the room was rounded with a 180 de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay. I agree with you that the signage at the street on West Side Road is difficult to see from the Northbound side. Unfortunately town laws do not allow us to change this sign, make it bigger, move it, etc. so we are bound by the sign we have. Best advise is to follow the direction on our website, and know that you will not see the Hotel from West Side Road, as the driveway is 2 miles long. I am glad that you found us, and happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice, quiet rooms set within the White Mountains. A family hotel. Gorgeous dining room, The Ledges, not to be missed, for the views and the piano music. There is a Sunday brunch buffet too. Only downside is that the hot tub jacuzzi has only one working jet and the water was not very hot.
Would recommend this hotel to couples and families.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and thanks for the review. I appreciate your comments, and will certainly look into the Jacuzzi, as it should be fully operational. We did replace a heater unit a couple of weeks ago, and possibly this was the reason for the tempature. I can assure you this is all set now. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

There are many good things to be said about this hotel; location is excellent for exploring the white mountains, the hotel is very nicely situated with a golf course and a hiking trail just outside the entrance. The atmosphere is cosy and the staff very friendly. I hope I can come back and stay here again! The only small negative is the breakfast and that the AC is quite noisy and if you have a room near the "exhaust" from the kitchen you room will smell of food.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and I appreciate your feedback. You will be pleased to know that the kitchen fans that have been a noise concern for some guests in the past, are being relocated and that problem will be eliminated this year. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

First of all, the views are spectacular. Rooms are nice, breakfast is good. Bed is very comfy. Pool is nice and wasn't too cold. Only negative is that it isn't easy to find. But, it is worth the look. Hidden treasure is right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for your review and so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Best bet on directions is to follow the directions from our website, and know that you will not see the Hotel from West Side Road, as our driveway is 2 miles long. We agree the signage is a bit difficult, but unfortunately we are bound by town signage laws. Appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Normally when we stay in No conway NH, we stay on the main strip. Just one street back is a wonderful hotel, beautiful rooms, REALLY heated pool, reasonable rates, yummy restaurant , all in this hotel. We will be staying here on our return trips. No need to stay anywhere else !

Room Tip: The turret rooms are exceptional !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I appreciate your sharing the secret about our "hidden treasure" and so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, the hotel amenities, your dining experience and the secluded beauty of our property. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

There for a golf outing. Played North Conway CC twice, and Hale's once. Hotel has been the same over the many years we have been in June. Excellent. Hale's course in great shape. Family who came up for weekend also enjoyed it. Will be back again next year, and hopefully more often than that.

Room Tip: If you have a room on the town side, the shades close, the drapes don't, so the room is lit up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
So happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, some great golf, and our property. We look forward to your next visit. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Address: 2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#3 Business Hotel in North Conway
#5 Family Hotel in North Conway
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountain Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.