We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountain Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Full Bkfst Included
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Keene, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit the White Mountain Resort in North Conway, NH for a business meeting. While I did not stay in the hotel itself, the meeting facility was clean and well kept. I did eat lunch in the beautiful restaurant where most of the outside wall was all glass, to give a beautiful view of the White Mountain Valley. Food was good and wait staff was friendly.

If you have the opportunity, be sure to give it a try....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your meeting
Experience and hope that next time you can stay with us.
Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    171
    72
    26
    12
See reviews for
218
293
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to this hotel to celebrate our anniversary. We wanted something quiet and romantic but we also wanted things to do in the area. We picked the perfect spot! When you first drive up to the hotel it is beautiful it is up a hill on the side of a mountain. The grounds were beautifully manicured and were lovely gardens and flowers everywhere. The check in was quick and friendly. Our room was very pretty with a large bathroom, fridge and small sitting area. The bed was comfortable and the housekeeping was good. The only thing we DID NOT like was that our room was next to what we think was the air conditioning unit. It made a loud annoying noise constantly. When the window was shut and the AC was on you could not hear it. One night it was cool out so we decided to open the window and that noise was really bothersome. It came from the poolside of the building we were in room 214 if you want to avoid that.

They had a pool and a hot tub that we loved. It was quiet with only a few people coming and going. We enjoyed the hot tub in the rain with no one around in the afternoon and it was perfect! The pool and hot tub are open year round.

We had dinner in their restaurant both nights. There were gorgeous panoramic views of mountains all around. The food was good and the servers were very kind and talkative asking us what we did that day or what our plans were. I had a very delicious Swedish Fish Martini from the bar. Later we had a drink in the lounge and listened to a piano player named Heather that played nicely.

We got excellent advice from one of the women at the front desk. She gave us maps of walking trails right off of the property and told us about nearby hikes and shopping. She was super helpful. We walked to Echo lake from the hotel. It was beautiful and an easy walk. We drove to Diana’s Bath which has a short hike to some lovely waterfalls that you can climb, put your feet in and enjoy. Then we drove to a nearby mountain that we could drive up, park and walk out to the summit. It had beautiful views and was one of the highlights of the trip. Both of these were no more then 10 minutes away from the hotel. We were also able to fit in shopping and the outlets and on the main strip with more local shops and restaurants. They were also only a 10-15 minute drive from the hotel.

The location of this hotel was great and it was beautiful inside and out. If you are looking for a romantic get away in the White Mountains with lots to do close by, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the AC unit on the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review & for your positive
Comments. We are working on the issue with the
Kitchen fans and hope to have this resolved. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed here before and while i wrote a favorable review at that time, it seems there are too many negatives that have not been addressed that will cause us to seek other accomodations in the future. I don't like to post such a review considering everyone at the hotel does their very best to provide a comfortable stay, but unfotunately, even the best staff simply cannot compensate for so many shortcomings.

To begin with the noise was unbearable. Slamming doors and other disturbances could be heard at all hours. We could hear the conversations of guests in the adjoining rooms. The bathroom door could not be closed shut and the toilet seat was painfully uncomfortable, as the outer edges are turned upwards to form a sharp lip. Overall appearance is gloomy. At breakfast we were seated at a table with crumbs scattered all over the table and the floor. I had to wipe my chair seat clean before sitting. The ceiling was obviously patched from repair but never repained. Furnishings are drab and need replacement. This place needs a complete renovation before we would consider another stay.

Too many negatives to list when restricted to only 200 characters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write and want to assure
You that all of these comments will be adddressed. If you could email me
Directly with you room number, I can address the comments on your guest room.
We have replaced a number of furniture items over the last
Couple of years including the guest room chairs and lamps, lobby furniture and tavern
Furniture. I want to assure you that keeping the hotel in tip top shape is our #1 goal and
We work diligently to keep on top if maintenance issues. I am sorry to read that you did not
Enjoy your stay, and do hope you will give us another chance.

Carol Sullivan
Csullivan@whitemountainhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow,Ok, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed on night at the White Mountain Hotel and Resort and really enjoyed our stay. We room was good size, quiet, and had an excellent bed. There are nice painting on the hallway's walls. There is a golf course that you could use at the resort. I only wished they had turned on the air conditioner before we arrived. It took about 5 hours to get the room cooled. The location is very nice because it is about a 5 minute drive to downtown North Conway; 5 minute drive to Diana's Bath and 5 minute drive to other eating establishments. The breakfast was included in our package and was very good. The breakfast included some fruit which was very good. The dinning area was beautiful and have great views of the mountain.

Room Tip: Enjoy a great breakfast in their beautiful dinning area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had booked two nights with this hotel but stayed three.
We really enjoyed our stay here, after we finally located the hotel. When the Visitor Information Centre tells you that GPS doesn't work well in New Hampshire, they aren't kidding.
It's a beautifully quiet little hotel away from all the noisy outlets stores, but you are not far from these at all. I believe it's about 2 miles away to shop to your hearts content.
You are also very close to some of the most beautiful hiking trails we been to. Some trails were easy, some were really difficult. We enjoyed them all.
The rooms were small but comfortable. We made a point of asking for a room on the third floor (as noted in so many reviews) and we are happy we did. It is an older hotel, so you do tend to hear a little noise from out in the hallways. Our welcome at the front desk was warm and friendly. Parking was right in front of our room.
Like a previous reviewer, we have forgotten our waitress's name, but she was one of the best! We were there for dinner on our first night and our waitress told us a lot about the area, trials, stores, etc. She was on the ball, never interfering while we ate yet entertained us with stories of the area...and the food was fantastic! We did end up dining here two of our three nights.
Check out went as smoothly as our check in.
Yes, we will return here one day soon!

Room Tip: GPS did not fine this hotel, but it wasn't far off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Sadly I forget her name but our waitress was excellent, been there 18 years and her mother even works there. Left her beach in Falmouth to please her husband & kids, funny I remember all our conversations! She was an excellent waitress and the food matched her service. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
You are referring to Adel and she is a true Gem.
I will make certain her manager is informed of her
Great service & I thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel that seems like time has stood still. Not that it is run down, although the furnishings are definitely outdated by decades, but it feels timeless. The location at the secluded foot of the mountain and the style of architecture felt like we were nestled in an alpine resort back in the 60s. Sounds odd but it was very inviting and friendly and unique. Bustling bar and good restaurant along with a decent size pool with terrific mountain views make this worth a visit. We would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Address: 2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#3 Business Hotel in North Conway
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountain Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.