We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountain Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Full Bkfst Included
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kittery point
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Real Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our stay at the White Mountain Hotel was one of the best travel experiences we've had! It is a superb facility with a great staff that could not have been friendlier of more accommodating. The food was absolutely superb. It is truly a great place to stay and relax or have fun. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Your kind comments are very much appreciated by our staff. We will look
Forward to your next visit. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    172
    72
    26
    12
See reviews for
218
294
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been going to the White Mountain Hotel for about 19 years. In that length of time, one often sees a hotel decline in quality and service, etc. However, the WMH is even better today than it was one or two decades ago. In fact, I''d say that the restaurant has never been better, both for breakfast and dinner, the only exception being the lack of a live pianist on weeknights. I hope we'll be back there many more times!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. That's our goal "Better than Ever!", and I am so happy that we met and exceeded your expectations. See you next time. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The setting for this hotel is beautiful. The staff is nice. The hotel itself is not particularly nice, bordering on shabby. Outdated decor, poor sound insulation between rooms, and does not seem professionally managed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I appreciate your honest review, however I am disappointed
You did not enjoy our facility. I can absolutely
Assure you that we are a professionally managed
Property and I would be more than happy to discuss
With you any concerns or feedback you have.
Please feel free to email me directly at
Csullivan@whitemountainhotel.com

Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and it was great! The rooms are big and clean, and the hotel staff is pleasant and helpful. They have a very nice pub for drinks, and for dinner, they have a large restaurant with a great view. The hotel is just outside of North Conway, which makes it quiet. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the
Property. The view from our dining room is second
To none & I am glad you enjoyed. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This Hotel located on West Side Road in No. Conway, NH is a real taste of Up North County
in New England. The rooms are quite attractive and comfortable. The panoramic dining room
is a real touch of class with white table cloths and flower with a view looking clear across the
Valley to Mount Cranmore and the mountains in the distance. On Friday nights the dining room
features a seafood bonanza buffet that is hard to beat.
The hotel sits at the base of two climbing peaks White Horse Ledge and Cathedral Ledge which are well known for rock climbing. These peaks make for a dramatic view in the back of the hotel.
We have been to this hotel many times and never disappointed.

Room Tip: To stay at the hotel is an experience especially to the first time visitor. The higher rooms offer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding at the White Mountain Hotel on January 12th. The wedding was held at the hotel and the reception and everything and I mean everything was great!
The staff is amazing! Russ and Chris in the lounge great job! The food was excellent! I would recommend for any occation or just for a really nice weekend!

The Robinsons

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for staying with us & thanks for your comments.
I will make certain to share them with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife, 15 year old son, 13 year old daughter, 5 year old son and myself planned a weeekend ski trip and decided to stay at the White Mountain Hotel and Resort. We had great service via email in order to answer our questions and help us make our decision. After a few emails and great responses from the staff we booked this resort back in August of last year. We reserved two nights, Friday and Saturday and decided to purchase the meal package with our room for 1 family dinner, 1 family breakfast and 1 family brunch. We felt that it would be easier to just prepay for these meals and would make the budgeting of the trip that much easier.

We arrived about 6 pm on Friday January 11th and immediately saw how beautiful this property was, the pictures online are amazing but lit up with snow on the ground it is breathtaking. We were greated immediately upon entering by a couple of staff members and then again immediately at the front desk. Check in was less than 5 minutes and we had our room keys. We loaded up the luggage cart and were up the elevator and entering out room in less than 15 minutes total. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, and the art work in the halls and upstairs were very nice as well. We had reserved a two queen family suite and upon entering it was very nice as well, plenty big for the 5 of us, and with the sofa bed plenty of bed space as well. The bathrooms were very clean and nice size, the room has a flat screen tv, a few chairs, the sofabed, and because of the location, there must be a great view from every room. There is a small fridge in the room, keurig type coffee maker, ironing board, iron, blow dryer and some nice shampoos/soaps in the bathroom. We were very pleased with the size, cleanliness and comfort of the queen family suite.

My kids had never gone swimming outdoors in the snow, so they immediately wanted to put on bathing suits and go swimming, so even though it was 33 degrees outside I went with them. The pool was great, they keep it at 92 degrees in the winter and it is so nice to swim in a heated pool when it is so cold outside, we all actually agreed that it was better than an indoor pool. They also have a fire pit going outside next to the pool, so my wife didn't want to swim but was able to come out and enjoy the fire and be warm and watch us swim. It was a great first couple hours.

After about an hour of swimming we went back to our rooms, went into N. Conway for a few hours, about a 10 minute ride, and then came back to the room for the night. The beds were comfortable, the pillows were very nice and we all had a great night sleep.

Our first family package breakfast was for Saturday January 12. We arrived at the Ledges dining room about 8 am, we were greated immediately and brought to a table. The view from this dining room is awesome. It was a little foggy so we didn't even get the "full" effect but we were still very impressed. The service was what you would get from a very nice restaurant and the food was very good. The french toast, maple butter, waffles and homemade whipped cream were all favorites but all the food was very good.

After a day of skiing we returned to the hotel, the kids wanted to swim again, this time we got Mom to go too!! We changed into nice clothes and went back to the Ledges dining room for our dinner package. They had a very good paino player on that night which they kids loved because he played a lot of songs that they knew as well. He even asked my 5 year old if he wanted to hit a few "keys" on the piano, My 5 year old really loved the paino music. We all ordered different meals, prime rib, filet mignon, homemade meatloaf, all of the food was amazing, the salads and soups were all freshly made, the meat was good quality cuts and cooked to perfection, and the childrens menu for my picky 5 year old was even a winner. This is definitely a plus for this resort, the Chef is very good and talented.

Brucnh Sunday morning was a buffet style with choices from the kitchen as well. We slept in a little Sunday and arrived at brunch about 10 am. The food again was excellent and the service was amazing.

Overall, I cannot be happier with the choice we made. The prices for a family of 5 for the whole package was very good, the rooms were nice size and comfortable. Bathroom was large, plenty of drawer and closet space. The staff was all super friendly and were great to the kids, especially my 5 year old that can be a little hyper. My daughter is already begging me to plan another trip in february but not because she wants to ski again, but because she wants to return to the White Mountain Hotel. Make this your next stay, you will not be dissapointed !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I have to thank you for your very thoughtful, thorough, and honest review. It is comments like yours that remind us why we are all in the hospitality business. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with your family, and will make certain to share these comments with out dedicated staff. Hope to see you in February, we just got some fresh snow yesterday. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Address: 2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#3 Business Hotel in North Conway
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountain Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.