We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountain Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Little England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We spent three nights here in late July. The location is about two miles out of the town and adjacent to a golf course. The area around the hotel is well kept and the private road includes a few up-market houses. The room we had was a suite with a private balcony looking out over the trees and the beautiful distant mountains. The hotel staff were very helpful with suggestions of activities to fill the day. The swimming pool was a little cool but the area around the pool popular with families and in the evening they lit a fire pit for toasting marshmallows etc. They run a quiet time after 11 which ensures the outside area was not noisy late at night. A good place to stay for a break or golf.

Room Tip: Fairways suite has a great balcony to sit and watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    192
    80
    27
    13
See reviews for
238
339
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We loved the hotel and the wonderful location. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We would definitely like to go back, but we won't go anywhere near here at the beginning of June again - the black flies were vicious! It's a shame as there is nothing the hotel could have done about this, but it did have a big impact on our ability to enjoy the wonderful countryside and surrounds.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolcranmore, Director of Sales at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value the feedback from our valued guests, and I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and the Hotel. Black flies are something that we deal with and just like mosquitoes, some years are worse than others. This year we had a particularly wet spring and the black fly were out in full force. If there were something that we could do about them, we certainly would. Fortunately they are only around for a short period of time. We have contacted the State of NH to see if there is anything naturally that eats black fly (such as bats eat mosquitoes), and will see if the state is working on any future plans. We hope you do plan to return, and look forward to your next visit. Thanks, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved the great hospitality offered. Great pizza in the restaurant!

Be forewarned though: do not be surprised if cannot find your bed in the room. They are famously proud of providing pull out beds from the walls. Once you can get pass this, the rest of the stay is a charm.

The town of N.Conway and its quaint cafes (Do try out those breakfasts!) shopping, train rides and beautiful autumn weather and foliage makes the drive from New Jersey all worth the effort!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolcranmore, Director of Sales at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, however, I think you have the wrong property.
We don't have a single murphy bed in the Hotel, so you must have a switched with another
property. We offer rooms with 2 double beds, a king bed, or a queen bed. We do hope that you
come and stay with us soon! Cheers, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just returned from our annual visit to north conway,
have been visiting for over 25 years, and for the last 5 we have been staying at the White Mountain Inn.
This is still our favorite place to stay.
the hotel is peaceful and relaxing, decor is tasteful and the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept on.
Staff remains very friendly and helpful.
The location a couple of miles out of town is good for us as it is quiet but close to restaurants and other attractions and shopping.
The overall feel is like a country club environment. We will definitely stay there again next summer

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our fourth time staying and it is our favorite hotel in North Conway. We've stayed at other places but keep coming back to the White Mountain Hotel. It's not on the main drag which is what we like but it's a quick drive to North Conway center. It has some great views of the mountains and Cathedral Ledge. I would use peaceful, relaxing, friendly and "scenic" to describe the hotel. We've never been disappointed. We've stayed in different types of rooms from suites (which are great) to the king with a roll-away bed (for our child) we recently had. The rooms with the views of the mountains are very scenic. This time we called at the last minute and were lucky enough to get a room. Our room this time was on the 3rd floor, Room 304 (top floor) partially overlooking the mountains, the road leading to the hotel and restaurant. It was quiet though I did notice that when the ac wasn't on and I had the window open I could hear the fan from the kitchen in the early morning. This was minor and if you have the ac on you can't hear the kitchen fan. Otherwise it was a quiet room. It was a very hot weekend and the air conditioner worked great. The king bed was very comfortable. It had a nice flat screen TV and a mini - refrigerator too. One of the things we love to do is watch the climbers on Cathedral ledge. It's close to Echo Lake which is a nice place to swim. The food is delicious!!! The seafood buffett Friday night is wonderful. You can go on a "MAP" plan for breakfast and dinner or just one of them which saves a little money or just decide when you want to eat there. We did both. The pool is nice and warm and there is a hot tub. The grounds are well-kept and have beautiful gardens. We are not golfers though I hear good reviews of the course. There are tennis courts as well. The restaurant staff is very nice and will take good care of you. They remember you when you come in everyday! The front desk staff is cordial and the maid service staff are good at cleaning the rooms. One of things we really appreciate is a military discount for active military when available. You have to request it and find out the details for when it's available. The fact that they have this discount when many, many places don't says something very positive about the hotel!

Room Tip: Best views are in front overlooking mountain but ones facing cliff are nice too. There are some gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolcranmore, Director of Sales at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thanks for your kinds words and nice comments about our property and our staff. We do take great pride in providing outstanding customer service. Can't wait to see you on your 5th visit!
Have a great summer and fall. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have stayed here on several occasions over the years and always a great experience!
Rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping staff is second to none. The location is
central to many activities in the area. The highlight of our stay is enjoying a leisurely breakfast
or dinner in the Ledges dining room with great views of the White Mountains!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolcranmore, Director of Sales at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
I appreciate your feedback and rave reviews of the housekeeping staff. Our Housekeeping Director has shared these comments with her staff, and is thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return visit. Regards, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslindale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

A friend told us about this hotel and we can not say enough good about it. The views from the hotel were amazing. The hotel property was beautiful. The restaurant was fantastic. Besides the most beautiful setting, the food was unbelievable delicious. There were plenty of places to explore near the hotel. The pool was great and who could ask for anything more then a cold beverage pool side while looking up at the most amazing view of the cliffs.
I would highly recommend this hotel.
Last but not least the service was amazing, friendly and helpful!!
We wished we could have stayed another week.

Room Tip: Ask for cliff view room on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolcranmore, Director of Sales at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thanks very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We value our repeat customers and and this is why we have such a high percentage of repeat clientele. I am looking forward to your return visit. All the Best, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#14 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.6 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#8 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Address: 2560 West Side Road, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#8 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountain Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.