We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at Forest Glen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Glen Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Glen Inn
Save
You added Forest Glen Inn to your Saves list
277 Artist Falls Road, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay at Forest Glen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week at Forest Glen and had a wonderful time. As other reviewers had noted, it is tucked away off the main street providing all the guests with a very quiet setting to enjoy nature and to avoid traffic noise. During our stay we sensed that we were in a somewhat remote setting, yet we knew that the North-South route and all the restaurants and shops of North Conway were just a couple of minutes away when we needed them.

We were greeted by friendly staff when we arrived late Friday evening and found our room very clean and neat. Throughout our stay we found our studio suite to be very comfortable and we prepared many of our meals in the more than adequate kitchen. We also took the opportunity to use their modern laundry facilities, complete with ice machine. The grounds of FG are very well maintained and the pool seemed very attractive even though my wife and I never used it. I would have loved to have played some tennis on their tennis court, but did not have the opportunity to do so. (Suggestion - they could have a sign-up sheet of guests who are looking for a tennis partner). The court was in good shape although it needed a washing.

Forest Glen is very family friendly. It has a game room (pinball, video arcade), table tennis, pool, hot tubs, a TV room, basketball court, picnic area, barbecue grills, and a large area for kids to run around safely. It also has free bikes that the guests can use to bike around the area.

A couple of nice touches included a free wine and cheese social Saturday evening where guests could meet each other and free coffee and newspapers in the lobby lounge area in the mornings.

Forest Glen did more than meet our expectations. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it as a destination for families, seniors and couples. Yes, some of the decor might be a bit dated but FG is clean, comfortable and homey, and a very quiet place to enjoy the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire. Make sure to plan your stay well so that you enjoy all that the region has to offer. There is so much to do. Hiking, rafting, kayaking, biking and rock climbing are some of the more active alternatives to shopping and eating.

Room Tip: Suites on the back side of the building away from the parking lot - however, ours was on the front s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Forest Glen Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. Your suggestion of a tennis sign up sheet is an excellent one. We will have that available for your next visit, which we hope will be very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked a week in July through RCI. The weather was perfect, bits of rain but it did not change any of our plans. The Inn was clean, all of the people were very friendly and helpful. I did use the pool a couple of times and it was great. I am used to swimming in Lake Huron, so the temperature was fine. The area is beautiful for hiking and sightseeing. This was our second trip to the area and we found new things to do.
July is a perfect time to visit. Take the train trip, do the drive up Mount Washington, hike as much as you can and remember your sun screen and bug repellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Forest Glen Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as well as the Mt. Washington Valley. We look forward to your next stay with us. Soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We (wife and two teenage kids 17&15) stayed for one week in a Suite or one bedroom booked through RCI. We had two Queen beds and a bathroom in one room. The other room had a kitchen and breakfast table and a pull-out couch and a bathroom. My son slept on the couch and thought it was very comfortable. The Inn was very clean and neat. This Inn is just off (.25 mi) the main street through North Conway. It was so quiet and peaceful we really enjoyed the location and our stay. There was hot coffee every morning in the lobby. The Inn has two large hot tubs available to guest inside the building. They did have an outdoor pool they was too cold for us the first week of June. The basement has a ping pong table tons of games, puzzles, and some vending games. We spend a couple of evenings down there having family fun. There are bikes you can check out along with tennis equipment. A playground for smaller kids is available as well. The staff was always friendly and eager to assist us with any questions or information we needed. This would be a great place to stay in the winter or Summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Forest Glen Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and compliments. Please include us in your plans for Winter, Spring or Fall as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Forest Glen Inn on our recent trip to the White Mountains in New Hampshire. We have a time share and exchanged it through RCI. The Inn is rustic, quiet and the people that work there are great. Some of the rooms at the Inn were converted to Time Share and have all the simple amenities of home with the exception of a dishwasher and garbage disposal. It might look old, but everything about the Inn is exceptional. There are laundry facilities for no charge, fresh brewed coffee every morning in the community room. A sauna and hot tub in the lower level of the building. A game room for the kids and if you can take the ice cold water, an outdoor pool. I tried it and am still shivering LOL. Great place to stay, very quiet, very simple. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Forest Glen Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience. Our cleanliness and hospitality are our #1 goals. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
PS: the pool really does warm up in July and August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent a week in June at the Forest Glen Inn. What a pleasant surprise. We arrived after dark and were extremely hesitant while driving down the dark dead end street to the inn, it was a bit spooky. But my oh my what a great find this was. The inn is not new and not fancy-schmancy. It is a bit dated. Appears to be an old motel that was converted to condos. But everything was extremely clean and very comfortable. We had a one bedroom two bath unit. Very comfortable beds with room-darkening-curtains. There was a full kitchen, very very small, but very doable, especially since there were only 2 of us. Everyone who worked there was extremely nice and very helpful. There was an outdoor pool but it was absolutely FREEZING in June. The water was so cold it actually hurt when you stepped in. They had indoor hot tubs but we never used them - we were too busy running around the White Mountains enjoying all of the wonderful outdoor activities in that area. This actually turned out to be one of the best vacations we have ever had, and we have been to a lot of places! We love the outdoors. So we felt like we were lucky to be staying at this nice clean relaxing peaceful inn while enjoying all of the incredible beauty of the area. Although we don't like to go to the same place more than once (need to see the world!) we would definitely consider going back to the Forest Glen Inn.

WARNING: If you go during May/June be aware that this area is infested with Black Flies which bite. We did not encounter them in town, only while we were hiking in the mountains or near the water. But they are horrible, create huge painful welts and almost ruined our vacation. If you are there during this time of year (apparently mid-May through mid-June) and will be in that environment, be sure to cover yourself (especially your neck and head, even your hair) with bug spray that contains deet!

Room Tip: We were in the front on the first floor, so we could pull the car almost right up to our porch where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Forest Glen Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your stay with us. Yes, the black flies can be fierce approximately Mother's Day until Father's Day. Great advice to cover up when hiking. We look forward to hosting your next vacation in the White Mountains at Forest Glen Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Friends and I stay here 2-3 times every winter while Snowboarding in the North Conway area. Great value, clean rooms and friendly staff while being in close proximity to some of New Hampshire's best ski resorts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Forest Glen Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. Visit us in the spring/summer/fall and we will take $15 off of your second nights stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My Family and I recently thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The warmth of the staff was unparalleled. ..Amenities were more than efficient. ..We have two young children, ages 7&5...They loved all that The Inn offered...Additionally, great compassion and understanding with regards to our Son who has some special need issues was exhibited by the "Friendly Staff"!We look forward to visiting again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Forest Glen Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Forest Glen Inn. It is always exciting for the staff to see the excitement on the faces of children playing in snow for the first time. We look forward to welcoming your family on your next visit to Forest Glen Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Glen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Glen Inn

Address: 277 Artist Falls Road, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located 1 mile from the village shops and restaurants and only 2 miles from tax free factory outlet shopping. All of our compact yet fully equipped units include a complete kitchen. Our units can accommodate 2-6 people. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Glen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.