We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille

The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille
Intersection of route 11 and 114, New London, NH
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a nice family style restaurant. They brew a lot of their own beers which are outstanding. While not gourmet, the meals were very good and ranged from hearty sandwiches and burgers, to entrees such as steak tips, and fish. The prices are reasonable and there is a nice view of the mountains from the dining room. It is a little noisy and usually fairly crowded.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Flying Goose Brew Pub & Grille had nice beer and wine along with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our first night in New Hampshire we went to the Flying Goose Brew Pub & Grille. We sat in the dining room at the window overlooking the mountains. Pretty view and it was nice to see that the restaurant was solar powered. We had a really great waitress that helped us navigate the beer and she got me the wine. We had a very nice conversation with her and she was really attentive to our needs. The food was tasty too

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“eat at your own risk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The bar area is noisy and unappealing. The beer is fair. Food is substandard and spouse got sick on the fried clams. Service is poor and unattentive. Too bad as it has potential and only game in town

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Brew Pub - and solar powered!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I read the reviews and had to check this place out. The staff are very friendly and it has a nice comfortable feel on the inside. Get a table on the back side and you'll have a great view.
We ordered the Calamari for an appetizer and it arrived piping hot and fresh.
I ordered the Elk Sliders for an entree, three mini- burgers and a side of fries. Very generous portions and again fresh made and delicious.
There's a full bar with a flat-screen and the solar panels are proudly displayed on the back side of the restaurant, very cool.
Highly Recommended..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great spot if you're in the area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I only say if you're in the area because there isn't a whole lot else there. Some nice roads if you are on motorcycle ride, skiing isn;t too far away but I'm guessing there are closer places to the mountains. I have a student at Colby Sawyer college and while not a destination point I would not miss "The Goose" on any trip! If you like craft beers they have some good ones. The food is more than pub food but not priced thata way. Reasonably priced, nicely presented and friendly staff...and patrons. Very green as well if that is important to you. You can get a growler to go as I always do. And the $2 deposit on the jug gives me reason to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.