We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pleasant Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Pleasant Lake
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   853 Pleasant Street, PO Box 1030, New London, NH 03257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Availability on Website
Ranked #1 of 6 New London B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This charming B&B in New London, NH was an excellent place to stay. The dinner was of four-star, gourmet restaurant quality, a real treat and a bargain. Beautifully furnished common room with spectacular view over the lake and mountains. Highly recommended. -- Michael Lindgren, New York City.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Pleasant Lake. We enjoyed fall in New Hampshire reflected in the beautiful Pleasant Lake and the pond adjacent to the Inn. Our room was clean, pretty and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious - an interesting poached egg with tomato coulis along with the traditional buffet of fruit, yogurt and muffins. We particularly enjoyed walking along the beach seeing the fall leaves in the water and on the sand.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 and would not recommend it. The sound coming up the stairs was a bit loud at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The warm welcome was matched by the rest of our experience at this delightful Inn by a beautiful lake. A small but lovely room with a view of the lake lifted our spirits after a very wet drive from Vermont and the choice to opt for the excellent evening meal was a good decision. Highly recommend as a place to stay and to eat.

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This Inn has a wonderful setting just across from a beautiful lake. However, even when the weather prevented us from enjoying the free canoe/boat hire this Inn was still a great place to stay. We booked one of the cheaper rooms on the 2nd floor of the Inn and it was a good room for the price. It was clean, very well furnished and with a very comfortable bed, however air-con or a ceiling fan would have been a welcome addition-the windows only opened a small amount (a safety feature I assume) and even on a rainy fall night the room got stuffy quite quickly. The common rooms of the inn were lovely-plenty of comfy sofas and very peaceful and cosy. The afternoon tea was a pleasant surprise-lovely cheeses with cake and cookies-although it might have been nice, given this inn's emphasis on food and the areas wealth of produce, if the cheese would have been local, or labelled as such.
Breakfast was good; a nice selection of fruit and muffins etc, with an excellent hot main.

We reserved a place at dinner on the first night of our stay and we weren't disappointed. The food was great-almost on a par with some of the michelin-starred restaurants we have eaten at in the UK and we enjoyed a fabulous, well-priced wine. The staff were friendly and attentive. However, although some people may appreciate the talk given by Brian the chef about the food we are about to eat, we found it a little over the top; the food is good enough to speak for itself.

New London itself has a few nice shops and other restaurants but it's main draw has got the be the great coutryside around-we climbed Mt Kearsage from the Winslow State Park and it was a great way to spend a morning, even if the clouds prevented us from enjoying what must be a spectacular view.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have been to this Inn several times and have always been amazed at the chef's outstanding dinners - truly a treat and he gives a little talk beforehand about the meal he has created which really whets your appetite! We swam in the lake across the street which was clean and refreshing and we enjoyed cocktails and coffee on the Inn's sublime new outdoor patio equipped with lovely lights and music. Our room on the top floor had the most comfortable bed and charming, very clean bathroom. You'll find your cares definitely melting away here. I can't say enough about this delightful place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yankee4now, Owner at Inn at Pleasant Lake, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the inn. We are so happy that you have enjoyed all of your stays. Our new outdoor patio has been a big hit this summer and we love that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Inn at Pleasant Lake is an immaculately kept property in a quiet and lovely location. We visited mid-week for an anniversary celebration and found care and attention to detail evident in all aspects of the Inn—from the common rooms downstairs, to the bedrooms to the dining rooms and the lovely new patio. Only the exercise room was a bit lacking. However, being able to walk down to the lake and go canoeing made up for that. The highlight of our stay was the outstanding dinner—a truly memorable experience with beautifully prepared and presented top-quality food. It was special to have the entire meal presented by the chef before being seated in the dining room. The meal was nicely paced and the chef visited each table at the end of the evening. Dinner at the Inn is not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Rooms are very comfortable...we had a stunning lake view. Breakfast and afternoon tea spread with crackers and cheese delightful. Take a canoe out on the lake and enjoy the views, peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Pleasant Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pleasant Lake

Address: 853 Pleasant Street, PO Box 1030, New London, NH 03257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Pleasant Lake 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Pleasant Lake is a historic ten room country inn overlooking Pleasant Lake and Mount Kearsarge in New London, New Hampshire. Guests of the inn enjoy afternoon tea and a full breakfast included with their stay. A five course prix fixe dinner is available Wednesday-Sunday by reservation. James Beard award winning chef-owner Brian MacKenzie prepares the evening's meal with focus on flavor, balance, texture and appearance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Pleasant Lake Hotel New London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pleasant Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Pleasant Lake to your Saves list