We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Ice cream & Great Family prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson's Seafood & Steak

Johnson's Seafood & Steak
69 Route 11, New Durham, NH 03855
(603) 859-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in New Durham
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yummy Ice cream & Great Family prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

As a family of 6 it can all add up fast. We went with only ice cream intentions but stayed for dinner! Food was good and price was right!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    11
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I will second the reviewer that stated this restaurant is in New Durham, not Durham.

The portions are huge you will not leave hungry. Skip the bread before the meal, it is basically a seeded hamburger bun. Chicken tenders and steak are very good. Ice cream is excellent and also huge portions.

My biggest issue with this restaurant is the noise. It is all wood and hard surfaces and the echo is awful, especially in the small area in the back. You will need to yell to be heard to your companion across the table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meals are ok, ice cream is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The restaurant food is typical diner or american style (burgers, grilled cheese, chowder). The ice cream, however, is where this place shines. I do not recommend buying any cone larger than a small however. I saw someone order a large, and I swear they brought them a quart of ice cream and a spoon.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great for Ice Cream and Seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

First let me point out that this restaurant is located in the town of "New Durham", not Durham. New Durham is a small town in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire, Durham is the home of the University of NH and located nearer the seacoast.

Whenever I have one of my infrequent hankerings for fried seafood, I always find my car pointed to Johnson's. If you want large, tender and sweet sea scallops you won't find them any better than right here. My wife is a big fan of their fried clams. They serve good-sized portions but I do think their prices are just a little high. On the other hand, if you want their ice cream, those portions are huge and those prices are very reasonable so I guess it all balances out

One last note, their pies are all baked on-premise and are always served with a scoop of ice cream, Yum. They have a cabinet of their delicious baked goods for sale as you walk out, so it you just wanted to try one of their baked desserts but didn't have the room...you can take one home for later.

This place is usually very busy at dinner hour and most of the time there is a line waiting to get in. Both locals and tourists eat here. To avoid the crowds, I usually try to go outside the usual dinner hours. The staff is less stressed and there is no waiting. I usually visit this place 3 or 4 times a year and I have always enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstead, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not worth the time or money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The service has always been fantastic however the food is bland and tasteless. We are a family of four and not one of us enjoyed our food. We will avoid that place!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson's Seafood & Steak also viewed

Been to Johnson's Seafood & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson's Seafood & Steak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.