We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A dream honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have stayed here twice, and absolutely loved it each time. We got married on the beach nearby and spent our honeymoon weekend there. The spa is fantastic, you can lounge around the hotel in a bathrobe and go in and out of the pool and Jacuzzi all day long. The place has been beautifully renovated yet the old elegance is still there. Very professional staff and beautifully decorated public spaces and rooms. A very comfortable bike ride though an historic district to the charming little town of Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    244
    87
    57
    28
See reviews for
206
466
20
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the marina suites for one night and loved it. The suites are beautiful. The 2nd bedroom for our kids (5 & 8) had huge beds and a cathedral ceiling. We had great views from the master suite. The breakfast at SALT was delicious! We are definitely going back!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just spent 2 nights here for our place to stay while we visited Maine. Why stay in New Hampshire & not Maine? Because everywhere we tried in Maine this time of year required 4 night minimum. But the drive wasn't bad, no more than 30 min to Kennebunckport, & we got the extra bonus of seeing New Castle & Portsmouth, NH! Beautiful towns on the sea!

The hotel was so well kept, newly renovated, & clean. Such friendly service! There's a pool with a restaurant that sat on the marina. Looking out our room window & seeing the boats in the Barbour was just beautiful.

We just had a standard room but it was roomy with a very nicely updated bathroom, quite large.
So glad we found this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua,N.H.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a first class hotel with a first class restaurant- ( the Salt). A lot of history made in this hotel since the 1800's. This is the second time we have stayed overnight here and from the luxurious bedding to the marble bathroom we have felt like it was a very special place. The only disappointment this time was being promised an ocean view and what we got was a turret view with a VERY small glimpse of the ocean. We had a wonderful dinner at the Salt restaurant and my friend said his lobster ravioli was the best he had ever eaten. We both had excellent lobster bisque. Breakfast was great with a good variety of selections. Expensive, but always a special treat to stay here in this great hotel with it's beautiful seaside setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

we have stayed at the main hotel and in the marina suites over three stays and we loved both accomodation. when traveling with children, the marina house is a great pick, you have a kitchen, washer dryer and your own pool. when traveling as a couple staying in the main hotel is great. the rooms don't have a lot of storage space but the bathroom is big. we always ask for harbor view (and pay for it) as it is a wondeful view (and makes all the difference). we would have loved to stay in a corner room (on the 4th floor) but were told that they are booked specifically and in advance. next time, i will make sure to ask for one. although i think they might save them for the gold or platinum members of the Marriott rewards program. the reservation system is not very transparent. the price of the room varies a great deal depending when you arrive and when you leave. i was told that, once you made a reservation, you should check the website regularly to see if there is a cheaper ratea available for your room and if yes, you may call the reservation and ask for a change of rate to get the cheaper one. but you have to do that before the cancellation policy kicks in. i did not do that and ended up paying about 150 usd more per night than the rate posted on the internet for the same room that day (the same rooms were available). i don't think it is fair but if that's how it works.....

Room Tip: harbor view and corner room on the 3rd or 4th floor (2nd floor, above ball room is very noisy if wed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at The Wentworth on a New England vacation. Every aspect of this classy hotel, in my opinion, is absolute perfection. From the warm, friendly greeting upon arrival to the way the entire staff treats you like you are special, the Wentworth gets it done.

Immaculate rooms and a terrific view of the harbor. Very peaceful location.

Don't look for bargain prices, free breakfasts, etc. This is a luxury hotel and worth every penny (maybe dollar is more appropriate) Breakfast on the front porch is very nice and relaxing.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It's not inexpensive, but you get a great hotel and service for your money. Food at the Salt Restaurant is excellent. Wines are reasonably priced. Service is very friendly and prompt. The rooms are great - ours had full his/hers bathrooms at either end of the suite. Bedroom separate from the living room. Hotel offers shuttle service to Portsmouth - you may have to wait if you don't schedule it or it's just busy. The cab rides to Portsmouth are a flat $20 - to go about 3 miles. Next time we're renting bikes. Latitudes restaurant by the marina is excellent too and the view is great - they have outside seating which is nice on the right day. Highly recommend the SPA. I had Lynne for my deep tissue massage - she's really good. They accommodated us on the late cancellation of my wife's spa treatment - she had a migraine - we weren't charged. Great hotel - Great service. Only gripes - shower head was hung to low for someone over 6 ft.tall and no caffeinated coffee in the self-serve tray in our room. Couple other minor housekeeping issues - maybe their mgr needs to go around behind them every so often.

Room Tip: I think you get a great view from almost every room - ours was on the backside of the hotel and we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.