We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even snow in April couldn't ruin this experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Wilmot, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Even snow in April couldn't ruin this experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed in a 2-bedroom marina suite -- which couldn't have been more perfect for our little get-away to celebrate a birthday. After eating lunch in Portsmouth, we drove to the Wentworth and checked in, braving the wild winds and sideways rain, and discovered that our suite was absolutely going to fit the bill with the two big bedrooms (one upstairs) and a full kitchen and living room downstairs with a view of the water. Originally we had thought we would spend the later afternoon in town, but the weather was such a detriment, we found ourselves so happy that our accommodations allowed us enough room to actually "hang" out. We ate at the restaurant, Salt, and it was delicious. We had trouble with the iPad docks (we wanted to listen to music) and we called the front desk and someone came down and assured us we weren't all technically-deficient, both of the alarm clock/iPad docks from both bedrooms weren't working, but she had brought another one, so we were all set. Great service! The next morning we awakened to snow and ice, but it was so beautiful to gaze out at the water, we truly didn't want to leave. Ever!

Room Tip: The marina suites are roomy and on two floors, providing more than ample privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    239
    86
    54
    26
See reviews for
202
450
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Let me start by complimenting the staff, who were all accommodating and professional, as one would expect from a place of this reputation. I was, however, quite disappointed in the room. It was located at the extreme end of a very long corridor (with little waves in it) and the view was far from what I was expecting (mostly a roof below us and a wall taking up most of the left side). About a third of the view looked out on a piece of an inlet (no ocean at all).
The carpet had a big stain on it, the bathroom was rather cramped, especially in the way the door opened almost up against the toilet. The television had no real features, such as pause, fast-forward or reverse, and a very mediocre channal selection. The temperature control was pretty noisy for this level of accommodation.
The king-size bed was quite comfortable and, of course, spacious, and the room was a decent size.
Out first night there (out of three) we ate dinner at the hotel and were very disappointed. I ordered the tenderloin, cooked medium, It was edible but neither tender nor medium (way overdone). When I was asked how everything was I told the man how I ranked the meal and was offered a free desert as compensation which I declined). My wife's pork chop was apparently OK because she had no complaints about her meal, and she is usually fussier than I. Needless to say, we did not eat there again.
My wife's spa treatment was outstanding, according to her, so the stay was not all below expectations, but for the price of the room, dinner, etc. I was far from impressed and would not go back at those prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your previous stay with us at Wentworth by the Sea. We understand that you were disappointed in the view and that the restaurant experience was not up to par. We will be reviewing your feedback with our team as it is valuable in providing better experiences to our guests. We do hope that we have an opportunity to make this up to you in the future.

Best regards,
Michael O'Shaughnessy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Pond, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

outstanding hotel and restaurant , have stayed here a couple of time just fantastic. great location on the ocean to walk and sightsee. spa treatments are top notch highly recommend, If your looking for a relaxing weekend not to far from home good place to start

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is well appointed without being stuffy. I've stayed with my family a couple of times here. THe staff is lovely, especially in the restaurant. The building is warm and comforting and the pool and exercise room more than adequate. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing get away or small family gathering.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an ocean view, the view to Goat Island is perhaps nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for the last weekend in March. We had a king suite 423 really quiet and 2 full baths. The bedroom is between the 2 baths insulating the hall noise. Ate in the renovated restaurant Salt. The food was good but the dining room can get very loud. Don't sit under the domed ceiling it's even louder. I personally liked the old restaurant before the renovation. The bar is nice but not to much in the way of good old bar menu.
Have stayed many times in the past and will in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I checked into Wentworth Ny The Sea for a quick getaway weekend. It is hard to imagine a better place to unwind. The room was well appointed and extremely comfortable. It was bitterly cold so we opted to stay in and eat in at Salt. The meals were uniformly pleasant; the charcuterie was fantastic. There have been a number of somewhat mixed reviews of the restaurant bringing up issues such as ambiance, service and acoustics. I'm inclined to think that since the restaurant was recently remodeled the mixed reviews are from people that had an expectation of what the place had formerly been like. I found the space relaxing, enjoyable and the service excellent. Taking a seat at the end of the bar, which is effectively a chef's table, made for a wonderful Saturday evening meal.

We will be back whenever work and family life becomes too grinding and a mini-vacation is in order.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was looking for a quiet night in a luxury hotel. A busy business week had passed. When requesting a quiet room, the Front Desk staff went right to work. I was give an end-facing room on the top floor. I could see the might Atlantic Ocean from my window. The bath? An elegant bear-claw tub and a walk-in shower. Most of the quests seemed to also be there for peace and quiet. The pool was nice, yet needs better ventilation. I tried to read the Wall Street Journal pool side, yet the stuffy air in the enclosed pool area made me go back to my room.

Mary, Guest Services Navigator, was very helpful. She is well-versed about the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels changed when requested. So too are the bed linens. Heavy glass cups in the room. Not plastic throw-aways.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.