We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant local escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in New Castle
New England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A most pleasant local escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our home is under active renovation, requiring us to vacate recently. So we escaped for an overnight to the nearby Wentworth-By-the-Sea Hotel, and were pleasantly surprised at just how hospitable it was.

Let's be clear from the outset: this is not your father's Wentworth Hotel. That was an era of starched tablecloths (and shirts), of "rusticators" who traveled with trunks and stayed for weeks, and of formality beyond much purpose. No, this is the new Wentworth, salvaged and expanded in 2003 or so, and under the Marriott flag. It was relaxing, friendly, and fun.

We were upgraded to a top floor one-bedroom suite which consisted of a sitting area with a gas fireplace, a king bedroom, and two mirror-image bathrooms at either end of the unit. It was clean, quiet, and enjoyed a nice view of downtown Portsmouth and the Naval Shipyard. It is easy to see why those from "not here" would find the Wentworth to be an enjoyable escape as well. It is a first class reminder of what life was like in "grande dame" hotels, but now modernized and contemporary.

I've driven past the Wentworth for many, many years now, but my view of it after our stay simply won't be the same. It's gone from being an interesting historical relic to, well, a place I'd check into again. Happily so.

Room Tip: I suspect the top floor rooms in the original wing are quieter than the lower floors. They also comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    467
    220
    78
    50
    24
See reviews for
180
414
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After staying at the Ale House Inn in Portsmouth, we planned to try the Wentworth as a part of our mini-vacation. We were completely satisfied with both choices. The Wentworth has been beautifully restored and well-maintained. The heated floor in the bathroom was wonderful. We had our evening meal in the lounge. It was good. We took a dip in the pool and the whirlpool - both were nice on a cold winter night. We decided to eat breakfast in the formal dining room the next morning. The service was wonderful. The buffet was good. Nice to have an omelette made to order. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Wentworth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I have visited the Wentworth for a getaway spa weekend and plan to return. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast buffet in the main dining room offers eggs made to order as most Marriott's in this category. Specials are available off season to make the stay more affordable.

The bar meal inside the hotel was adequate. I am hoping for more choices at our next stay.

Latitudes, the marine bar, has only been open seasonally. The view outside of this bar is lovely. Living less than an hour away, my family and I have made the marine bar one of our summer stops of choice. I look forward to eating there and walking around the grounds every summer.

Room Tip: Some rooms are much more luxurious than others. There are also luxury condos by the water not attach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The property is nice, but us, normal folks, were denied a table at their seaside restaurant last May when some "VIPs" arrived and wanted the table. We had to leave the restaurant hungry and make alternative dinner plans. We told the hotel manager about this, but she/he didn't seem to care because we never heard from her. Luckily a nice male waiter in their other restaurant was more understanding and gave us a nice bottle of wine for a price of a cheaper wine to compensate. I really liked the hotel but would never go back because such treatment left a really sour taste in our mouths. We paid a lot of money to stay in one of their suites and felt that our visit was only appreciated until the VIPs arrived and demanded our table. So unless you are a VIP, don't expect to be treated well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Wentworth is a goreous traditional hotel that has been part of history.
This resort was saved by Marriott and restored to a beautiful condition.
We have stayed here many times. The presteen and picturesque
property adds to the many fine services offered. Cleanliness is top
priority, the staff are friendly and always helpful
Look around the hotel to see the historic photos and stories of this hotel.

Close to Portsmouth, NH, there is plenty to see and down around the area.
Seafood of course is great and the scenery beautiful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the most enjoyable time at Wentworth by the Sea. The room was absolutely beautiful. The pool and hot tub was such a treat after the extreme cold weather. I felt so pampered. I can't say enough about the hotel, the grounds, the staff, and the food. We ate in the bar, and the food was excellant. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean. We only stayed for one night, but I can't wait to go back, and have a longer stay. The hotel was very quiet. The bed was so comfortable and extremely clean.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor, and it was very quiet. We also had a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson,NH
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went to stay at the Wentworth by the Sea for a weekend getaway and for the dining package. You can get either a buffett breakfast, which we highly recommend, or order off the menu. Dinner is also included. The food is gourmet mouth waterly fabulous.
The staff is so very friendly, Mary Carey Foley, the Concierge is wonderful. We also met some new employees, bellmen, Mark , Josh and Steve. Steve has been there for a while, always good to see familiar faces.
There is a new General Manager, Michael O'Shaugnessy.
There is a new manager of the dining room, Damien, who was very pleasant and friendly.
The Hotel has a spa, indoor pool and an outdoor hot tub, which is really fun during a snow storm.
We love to go to the Wentworth for a weekend to beat the winter blues.
We do recommend the Dining Package it is well worth the money as the dinner menu is pricey.
We didn't see any changes with all the new staff, but I have to say in the dining room at dinner the waitstaff is not very friendly and no smiles to the patrons. Strange!!
Although we met a fantastic waitperson, her name was Sarah, she served at breakfast time. She was so pleasant and attentive, by the time we left it was like we knew her forever.
Good luck to all the new staff.

Room Tip: The Admiral Suites are near the elevator and the ice machines on the 4th floor. I don't think I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.