We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to relax with spa.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Kennebunk, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to relax with spa.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I have visited the Wentworth for a getaway spa weekend and plan to return. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast buffet in the main dining room offers eggs made to order as most Marriott's in this category. Specials are available off season to make the stay more affordable.

The bar meal inside the hotel was adequate. I am hoping for more choices at our next stay.

Latitudes, the marine bar, has only been open seasonally. The view outside of this bar is lovely. Living less than an hour away, my family and I have made the marine bar one of our summer stops of choice. I look forward to eating there and walking around the grounds every summer.

Room Tip: Some rooms are much more luxurious than others. There are also luxury condos by the water not attach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    239
    86
    55
    26
See reviews for
202
453
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The property is nice, but us, normal folks, were denied a table at their seaside restaurant last May when some "VIPs" arrived and wanted the table. We had to leave the restaurant hungry and make alternative dinner plans. We told the hotel manager about this, but she/he didn't seem to care because we never heard from her. Luckily a nice male waiter in their other restaurant was more understanding and gave us a nice bottle of wine for a price of a cheaper wine to compensate. I really liked the hotel but would never go back because such treatment left a really sour taste in our mouths. We paid a lot of money to stay in one of their suites and felt that our visit was only appreciated until the VIPs arrived and demanded our table. So unless you are a VIP, don't expect to be treated well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Wentworth is a goreous traditional hotel that has been part of history.
This resort was saved by Marriott and restored to a beautiful condition.
We have stayed here many times. The presteen and picturesque
property adds to the many fine services offered. Cleanliness is top
priority, the staff are friendly and always helpful
Look around the hotel to see the historic photos and stories of this hotel.

Close to Portsmouth, NH, there is plenty to see and down around the area.
Seafood of course is great and the scenery beautiful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the most enjoyable time at Wentworth by the Sea. The room was absolutely beautiful. The pool and hot tub was such a treat after the extreme cold weather. I felt so pampered. I can't say enough about the hotel, the grounds, the staff, and the food. We ate in the bar, and the food was excellant. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean. We only stayed for one night, but I can't wait to go back, and have a longer stay. The hotel was very quiet. The bed was so comfortable and extremely clean.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor, and it was very quiet. We also had a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson,NH
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went to stay at the Wentworth by the Sea for a weekend getaway and for the dining package. You can get either a buffett breakfast, which we highly recommend, or order off the menu. Dinner is also included. The food is gourmet mouth waterly fabulous.
The staff is so very friendly, Mary Carey Foley, the Concierge is wonderful. We also met some new employees, bellmen, Mark , Josh and Steve. Steve has been there for a while, always good to see familiar faces.
There is a new General Manager, Michael O'Shaugnessy.
There is a new manager of the dining room, Damien, who was very pleasant and friendly.
The Hotel has a spa, indoor pool and an outdoor hot tub, which is really fun during a snow storm.
We love to go to the Wentworth for a weekend to beat the winter blues.
We do recommend the Dining Package it is well worth the money as the dinner menu is pricey.
We didn't see any changes with all the new staff, but I have to say in the dining room at dinner the waitstaff is not very friendly and no smiles to the patrons. Strange!!
Although we met a fantastic waitperson, her name was Sarah, she served at breakfast time. She was so pleasant and attentive, by the time we left it was like we knew her forever.
Good luck to all the new staff.

Room Tip: The Admiral Suites are near the elevator and the ice machines on the 4th floor. I don't think I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Wentworth by the Sea last December for my husbands work Holiday Party. The party was fantastic the staff did a wonderful job. Our room was comfortable, nicely decorated and extremely clean. We did not hear any noise while in the room from the hallway or other. The staff was friendly and upon checkout the Manager even greeted us and asked us if we enjoyed our stay. It was wonderful and refreshing. I definitely recommend staying at the Wentworth by the Sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We've been here a few times before and always can count on a nice stay! This time we had a corner room with floor to ceiling windows & we faced the water. It snowed one of the days we were there which made the view even more beautiful. We could have just sat in the room all day & relaxed and read. But we didn't, we enjoyed te spa, a great breakfast, wine by the fire place, the hot tub and the pool, it was a nice little get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.