We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has the wow factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This hotel has the wow factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I like this hotel because it has a certain charm and a lot of history. The rooms are tastefuly decorated, grounds are well groomed, beautiful gadrens and friendly staff. The breakfsast buffet was very good, I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: room with a baclony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    239
    86
    54
    26
See reviews for
202
452
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with two young boys and my wife in Dec - weather was horrible, so we spent a lot of time at the resort. The room was nice and I think the resort would be wonderful in the summertime - not great in the winter though. They kept the indoor pool fairly cold (you'd think it'd be warm considering it's like 20 degrees outside) and the food onsite is fairly expensive. My wife got a pedicure which was nice, but again, fairly $$$. Probably won't be making a return visit, but if we did, it would definitely be in the summer when we can enjoy the outdoor surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just spent a 3 day spa get-away at this lovely place. The spa services were excellent and rooms are lovely. We had a large 4th fl. room with dormer windows looking out at the water. Excellent food and easy access to southern Maine made it a great place to stay. Service was very good and staff were friendly and helpful. Check out the website; the photos are a true representation how this old grand dame has come back to life. Romantic and warm we had a magical time there. Champagne and Chocolate Strawberries made our time there special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ipswich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here & enjoyed it very much! The room was very clean. The bathroom floors are heated! Has a nice shower and a separate bathtub! The outdoor hot tub was very enjoyable, even on a 20 degree night! Clean inside pool & hot tub area. Plenty of lounge chairs and towels.The staff is very friendly! We had the breakfast buffet and it was delicious! We were able to get a percentage off because we are New Hampshire residence. Would stay here again in the winter, since the prices are more affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We live about 10 minutes away from the Wentworth but stay about 4 or 5 times a year (usually for 2 to 3 nights each). We are never disappointed. The ambiance of a grand hotel is always there yet it is updated with modern amenities.

The rooms are always very comfortable. We have had all kinds of rooms, from two double beds to king/fireplace suites. The beds are very comfortable and have plenty of pillows (you can ask for certain types, and extras, of pillows while making the reservation).

Depending on what type of room you get, the bathrooms range from normal size (large corner counter with sink) to large (long and wide with plenty of room). The shower is always plenty hot and has a lot of pressure. Need to be careful with the sinks as they have individual handles for hot and cold and turning on the hot can get you some very hot water.

Views from either side of the hotel are great. There is water on both sides (the front side has the docks/ocean and the back side has the Portsmouth harbor).

We usually ask for a room near the elevator because the halls can get quite long (it is a long and narrow hotel) and never had any complaints about too much noise from the elevator or ice machines (usually located near the elevator)..

The food is awesome. When we stay we never go anywhere else to eat, even though Portsmouth is just a five minute ride and it has a LOT of great restaurants. Usually we will split our meals up with half at the restaurants/bar and half as room service.

The staff are always very professional and helpful. Never had an unkind thing to say about any one of them.

The pool is great (could be just a bit warmer) and there are two hot tubs (one inside and one outside, which is adult only). The outside one is really nice when it is cold outside and snowing - very picturesque. Towels are plentiful as are chairs. There is quite a bit of echoing in the pool area so if you don't enjoy the sounds of kids have LOTS of fun, come earlier in the day or later at night.

The spa is a dream. We use it quite often, and enjoy the couples massage (both in the same room at the same time). They have separate locker rooms for the spa which also have private entrances to the outdoor hot tub.

They have lots of holiday events, including brunches/dinners for the major holidays, Christmas lighting ceremonies, wine festivals, etc. We try to make it to as many of those as we can.

You can self park (free) or use valet service for $5/night - where else can you get valet service for $5?

Room Tip: Any room has a good water view. Stay closer to the elevators as it can be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

went for a one night stay with friends on a winter night in january. The entrance to the property is actually hard to figure out- we drove by twice before turning in the right entrance. The hotel seemed busy but not full. It was an easy check in (and they let us check in at 2), and very nice room on the 3rd floor with a balcony looking out towards Kittery. The beds were comfortable, bathroom fairly large. The staff was helpful and very knowledgable- Danielle in the gift shop and George at the concierge desk gave great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. it's about a 5 to 10 min drive to Portsmouth and we took taxis or drove ourselves (they said a shuttle is available in the summer). The spa was comfortable and more luxurious than I expected for a marriott hotel spa. There was a relaxation room with tea, water, cookies and crackers to sit in between services, and the women's locker room had everything you'd need. We only ate in the pub lounge (great drinks, and again, really attentive service), but the dining room looked lovely. the pool was large and full of natural light, and the outdoor hot tub was fun in the snow (and they seem to have done their best to make it comfortable and luxurious, but it does look over a parking lot, detracting slightly from the experience). I will definitely be back, book the spa again, and maybe even bring the kids next time-- they would love it too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

All the staff at this hotel were consistently attentive and accommodating. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean. The room was small, and the bathroom was large.
The room we had was on the third floor on the side opposite the main entrance and one floor up from a flat roof with steam stacks/vents. All three floors of rooms facing that roof area would have had that view and would have heard the constant thrum of their mechanical drive. Other than that, the view was an interesting view of the river, islands and old prison and we could keep track of the tides and people coming and going along the road below. Unfortunately the window shades were such that if you wanted to see the view at all, they had to be all the way up and then you were viewed and could view into other guest's rooms. Neither was it possible to, other than through the bathroom window, view the water area after dark without being exposed to various guest rooms.
At night the bedside lamps were very harsh and bright, twith strange halo light bulbs onto which the shades were precariously balanced. Several times they tipped and hung by their wires.There were no dimmers on the lights; reading late or early wasn't possible, you felt you were in an interrogation room.
The bathroom was large, the floors were heated, the shower was terrific.The drawback... conversations could be heard perfectly from other rooms or bathrooms. It was hard to tell if they were from next door, above or below, but probably all three since we could clearly hear various conversations.
The dining room was full the first night that we arrived so we ate dinner in the pub room where guests can order pub food or off the full dining room menu. The pub was also full because of wedding guests waiting to enter a reception area for one of the weddings held on the premises that weekend. We had to wait for quite awhile before being seated. The meal was decent, but not memorable and we were not rushed.The breakfast buffet was very generous and on both mornings the staff was very attentive and congenial.
The pool area was pleasant, warm, sunny. Plenty of towels not enough chaise lounges or side tables. Two hot tubs were available. One by the pool, the other outside and for adults only. Other than coping with unsupervised children on the first afternoon and the second morning, the pool provided a nice respite.
It was an attractive, interesting historical venue, but not one that provided exceptional amenities or was memorable enough to want to feel a need to return. It just didn't have a 'WOW!' factor.

Room Tip: Possibly the best rooms would be on the top floor facing the bridge. You would have a view of both w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.