We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Providence, RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Wentworth for a business conference in early November. First, I'll say that, from the viewpoint of an attendee, it's a great venue for a small conference (about 150 people), and the catering was excellent.

As for the hotel as a hotel, the room I had was very comfortable, with a king bed (and tons of pillows - I think six!), a good-sized desk and sitting area, and a good-sized TV. The bathroom was really nice, with a lot of room to maneuver, and the shower was fantastic! The staff at the front desk were very friendly, and they gave me a little extra time for check-out, which was nice because the timing of the end of the conference was not ideal!

The lounge area/restaurant is really nice and cozy (with a fireplace!), and you can order from either the bar menu or the full restaurant menu. And the bar/restaurant staff are also super nice, as are the catering staff. In fact, for one night of the conference, we had a catered buffet-style dinner, and there were very few vegetarian options. I asked one of the catering staff if a specific dish was vegetarian, and not only did she go in the back to find out right away, but the chef made me an entire vegetarian plate without my even asking! Very nice service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    251
    90
    57
    28
See reviews for
216
484
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a very nice time over the Thanksgiving holiday. It was extremely busy in the main hotel. We stayed in the Marina Suites, which are located right near the main hotel. Overall, I would say the hotel was very nice. My wife and daughter used the spa facilities and really enjoyed the manicure and pedicures. Both raved about how nice it was. The suite was very spacious and clean. We had everything we were looking for in a getaway. Room service for dinner was great. The food was fantastic. The only down sides would be that the hotel seemed/felt very busy. When we initially went to the dining rooms, they were overwhelmed with guests, and we had no hope of eating there (hence the room service, which turned out to be a great alternative. Thanksgiving dinner was equally busy, but nice. It's a bit pricy for what you get.

Room Tip: The marina suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Wentworth over the Thanksgiving holiday and booked the Thanksgiving package. When we arrived the lobby and restaurant area was very busy. When checking in at 3:30 I asked what time dinner was and they asked me if I had a reservation. I ended up not getting a reservation until 8PM- This wouldve been nice to know weeks previously when I booked it. The hotel was very clean, loved the pool and spa area. The room was small but up to date and comfortable. Had a waiter and 2 waitresses- all somehow got our orders wrong and seemed very uptight. The food was great even though it wasnt what we ordered. Upon my return I realized I left a bag hanging on the door in the bathroom and 4 days later in has not appeared:( The hotel and surroundings are beautiful however they need better service and staff that doesnt steal from guests to keep people coming back.

Room Tip: bring your room key when going to the outdoor hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback regarding your stay at the Wentworth. We do understand it was a very busy Thanksgiving day and apologize for the inconvenience that placed on you and your family. I assure you that all matters will be addressed here at the hotel. We would appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay, so look forward to speaking with you.
Sincerely,
Michael O'Shaughnessy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at this beautiful property on a few separate occasions. While I visited during Easter and Father’s Day with my family, the most memorable trip was celebrating my fortieth birthday with three of my college girl friends. I am a Marriott Rewards member and enjoyed the ambiance of this historic and unique property while still getting the service and reward perks of a hotel managed by Marriott.
On my girls’ getaway, we devoted the entire weekend to pampering ourselves at the two pools and the three hot tubs. Our plan was to take advantage of all the amenities the spa had to offer and we booked treatment throughout the weekend to have daily access to the spa. We arrived early to make the most of our weekend and lounged by the outdoor pool. In addition to the rum distributer tempting us with tasty concoctions, we had pool side wait service to start our trip with a delectable lunch.
When the front desk notified us our room was ready, we were treated to a beautiful corner suite with heated marble floors in the bathroom as well as delicious treats and spirits. This became our home base for the weekend and we set out to create a weekend of new memories. The staff were very hospitable and accommodating throughout our stay.
I was able to enjoy this property from two very unique vantage points. Traveling with my husband and children with a small dog (on loan) was a pleasant surprise at such a refined hotel. My daughters’ gave the dog a bath in our large Jacuzzi tub and we still laugh about the one and only time we tried dog sitting at a 5 star hotel. The property truly is able to cater to a variety of guests and I am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Some room are very small due to the historic makeup of the property. Request corner rooms if poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is in a quiet, picturesque, seaside area of Portsmouth, NH. It is a bit off the beaten path but and easy 5 min drive to downtown Portsmouth. You must make it a point to visit the downtown area and walk around the local shops. There are plenty of pubs, shops, quaint artsy galleries, and coffee places.

Our room was a standard queen sized room on the 3rd floor. It was very nice, and I especially loved the bathroom with the heated tile floors. The only thing that I found lacking in our room is that I wish it had a small mini fridge. We forgot to make reservations for Thanksgiving dinner in the main dining room, but we were able to get the same menu in the lounge which was even better, in my opinion.

Overall, we had a great stay. The property was beautiful. The downside was that some of the staff at the front desk and at the breakfast buffet were not the most friendly.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the third floor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a very special hotel, with a discreet old times charm to it, a grand mansion feeling to it which we really appreciated.

Very good and clean room on high floor with a beautiful view of the ocean, beautiful kept grounds, huge and well mantained common area. Good and grand restaurant in a perfect location.

Not a fault, exactly as we were expecting it, a special place for a special occasion. Wish we can go back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have visited several historic hotels including a few like Wentworth by the Sea (WBTS) which are on the National Hotel Register. WBTS now being owned by Marriott has not taken away from the special ambience. This hotel is situated on an inlet of New Hampshire’s limited ocean coastline. Staying at the hotel gives you guest privileges at the nearby WBTS Yacht Club (restaurant) and WBTS Country Club. We found the staff very courteous and efficient. A number of the people who stay at WBTS are probably wealthy. We are not. Our room was nice but certainly not one of the luxury accommodations. However, we never felt that we were treated any differently. We walked the lovely grounds and took advantage of nearby attractions including enjoying good seafood and walking Marginal Way in Ogunquit, ME and shopping at Kittery, ME. We ate one evening at the hotel’s more formal restaurant and enjoyed both the dining experience and the chance to dress up a bit. There is also a very casual take out or eat in restaurant right down the street that offers a varied menu of pretty good food. We’ve visited this area previously and downtown Portsmouth, NH is also charming, especially along the riverside.

Room Tip: You might want to call after you've made your online reservation if you would like to request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.