We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel, restored to elegance.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel, restored to elegance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at Wentworth by the Sea while visiting Portsmouth for a business meeting. I found the staff to be kind and accomodating, the food to be first class and the rooms to be large and extremely comfortable. I particularly appreciated what seemed to be warmed flooring in the bath - a wonderful feature on a cold November day. The hotel was quiet during the week, not a lot going on.

I always use the exercise room when traveling. This one was was reasonably sized, the equipment was in good order, and the facility was clean. The location does not seem to own a large expanse of property, but the neighborhood is excellent for a walk or run, and the scenery is lovely. It is an easy drive into Portsmouth for shops and great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    260
    95
    58
    29
See reviews for
227
511
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am not sure how many people really know about this spot in Portsmouth NH. I had heard about it, but had to check it out for myself. Went for a girls weekend. The setting is spectacular with gorgeous water views! And I was there in November. The service is excellent; the staff really pay attention to your needs and make sure you are comfortable and having a good time! We encounterd Ashley (Restaurant), Jen (Roosevelt's bar) and George (Conceirge) and cannot say enough about their service. So friendly and helpful.The spa is a dream. If you want relaxation, this is the place to go! When you visit, you must try the outdoor hot tub!! It was wonderful and we didn't even notice it was November!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Truly one of our favorite places. This is our 'quick' escape. Easily under an hour from Boston's North Shore...an amazing alternative to the Cape, Maine or Vermont. Really great views. Exceptional service. Sunday Brunch is unbelievable, don't plan any other meals for the day. Ice sculptures, seafood, carving stations...and the food is fantastic. From a born and bred New Englander your can trust me here... the Lobster Bisque (if you eat in the restaurant) is THE best anywhere and made with Brandy or Cognac!!!! The lounge is 'old' New England with dark wood and a fireplace. Lounge entertainment is the best, catch Scarlet Keys who is local but cut her teeth in Nashville and even has her own CD (which is fantastic easy listening). Pool area has oversized colums and has been redone recently... my wife loves the spa! Rooms are good but the hotel is excellent and unmatched for scenery, price, quality and proximity to Boston for a quick vacation retreat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front will offer the best water views but even the back of the property has views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The view from the room overlooked the marina and the bay. The concierge desk was very helpful in giving us pointers of places to eat in Portsmouth and to rent kayaks. They were also able to make dinner reservations at the Marina, even though it is first-come seating for the terrace.The pool with waiter service was awesome. We had the breakfast package and the buffet was pretty good. They kept running out of food and they were undermanned, but good enough. We had a mid-week stay, the week before Labor Day. No issues with crowds anywhere we went. We'd go back again.

Room Tip: Paying extra for water view really not worth it. Go for what's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

An exquisite hotel near Portsmouth. We stayed here for our friends' wedding and had an incredible time. The hotel is waterside and conveniently located near Portsmouth. The entire establishment is first class - from the rooms, to the complementary coffee in the lobby to the service. Stay here - you will enjoy every moment!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wow. That is my biggest feeling about this hotel. It is so impressive, well maintained and just gorgeous, I don't even know where to start! I came here with my Mother this past weekend for a spa day for her birthday, we did not stay over but we spent a few hours there, including a lunch at the lobby restaurant/lounge. The outside was decorated in amazing fall decorations, the grounds were meticulous and the porches were so clean and comfortable with tons of chairs, couches and other places to sit with a great view all around. The lobby was also inviting, every aspect well taken care of and clean with a great lobby lounge with couches, comfy chairs and high tables. We ate there and had a great meal with a friendly server. The spa experience, I have to say, was a 10. I have been to so many spas and this one stood out! The amenties were great, a quiet lounge room with tea, water and crackers, full usage of the pool/hot tub and an OUTDOOR hot tub on a balcony, an extremely modern locker room with anything you could need...I was blown away. The staff didn't miss a beat, the woman who checked us in was so pleasant and Pamela, who gave me my pedicure went above and beyond. I have already started to recommend this hotel to everyone I've talked to about it, I wish I could go back already! 10 out of 10!!

Room Tip: Did not stay over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time this Fall. The hotel was decorated for the season beautifully. We were greeted by friendly staff members at the door as well as at the front desk. Our room wasn't very large but certainly adequate. The bathroom on the other hand was quite large. After returning from a pleasant day of shopping/leaf peeping we were a little unnerved to find the door to our room ajar. A quick call was made to the front desk where the clerk apologized. She transferred me to the manager on duty who again apologized and offered dinner on the hotel that evening. Luckily nothing was missing and the scrumptious dinner helped us to forget the incident before it ruined our day. On that note...the waitress was pleasant, efficient and attentive but not intrusive. The bread that was served before dinner was to die for. The Wentworth by the Sea is on our "must return to list".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
11.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#7 of 44 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#2 of 44 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.