We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

An exquisite hotel near Portsmouth. We stayed here for our friends' wedding and had an incredible time. The hotel is waterside and conveniently located near Portsmouth. The entire establishment is first class - from the rooms, to the complementary coffee in the lobby to the service. Stay here - you will enjoy every moment!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    264
    97
    59
    29
See reviews for
231
519
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wow. That is my biggest feeling about this hotel. It is so impressive, well maintained and just gorgeous, I don't even know where to start! I came here with my Mother this past weekend for a spa day for her birthday, we did not stay over but we spent a few hours there, including a lunch at the lobby restaurant/lounge. The outside was decorated in amazing fall decorations, the grounds were meticulous and the porches were so clean and comfortable with tons of chairs, couches and other places to sit with a great view all around. The lobby was also inviting, every aspect well taken care of and clean with a great lobby lounge with couches, comfy chairs and high tables. We ate there and had a great meal with a friendly server. The spa experience, I have to say, was a 10. I have been to so many spas and this one stood out! The amenties were great, a quiet lounge room with tea, water and crackers, full usage of the pool/hot tub and an OUTDOOR hot tub on a balcony, an extremely modern locker room with anything you could need...I was blown away. The staff didn't miss a beat, the woman who checked us in was so pleasant and Pamela, who gave me my pedicure went above and beyond. I have already started to recommend this hotel to everyone I've talked to about it, I wish I could go back already! 10 out of 10!!

Room Tip: Did not stay over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time this Fall. The hotel was decorated for the season beautifully. We were greeted by friendly staff members at the door as well as at the front desk. Our room wasn't very large but certainly adequate. The bathroom on the other hand was quite large. After returning from a pleasant day of shopping/leaf peeping we were a little unnerved to find the door to our room ajar. A quick call was made to the front desk where the clerk apologized. She transferred me to the manager on duty who again apologized and offered dinner on the hotel that evening. Luckily nothing was missing and the scrumptious dinner helped us to forget the incident before it ruined our day. On that note...the waitress was pleasant, efficient and attentive but not intrusive. The bread that was served before dinner was to die for. The Wentworth by the Sea is on our "must return to list".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at Wentworth by the Sea (in a regular room) for the first time this past summer....a positive enough experience that we found ourselves heading back. This time had a totally different experience as we were upgraded to a marina suite. What a treat! Two floors, complete kitchen, gorgeous views of the marina. Everything exactly right. If you can afford a suite (and we normally can't) it's a really great spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a beautiful resort in a dynamic town. We used the spa and had a couples massage. There is a vibrant youthful restaurant movement, and our dinner at Moxy, a new restaurant, was superb. There is also great shopping. On Sunday morning, we had the option of the buffet breakfast or the regular menu. I opted for the lobster bisque and lobster roll. We'd stay there again in a second!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The Wentworth is a grand old hotel with all the updates. The drawback is the front desk staff. Too young to understand their responsibility as a representatives of historic classy property. Everyone else, including the cleaning staff has more class than the front desk...

So, hold your nose when you check in and get away as fast as possible because the rest is all good. Fantastic food and beautiful views.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

First time stay at what is a venerable and historic hotel in the tradition of a Greenbrier or Homestead. The staff was friendly and helpful - notably the car park/bellboys. Room was exceptional, large and offered a water view looking across to the nearby Portsmouth Naval Shipyard where the Russo-Japanese Peace Treaty was negotiated in 1905, the hotel hosting the 25 Russian and Japanese peace conference delegates. The Roosevelt Lounge commemorates President Theodore Roosevelt earning the Nobel Peace Prize for his part and there are other historical items on display around the premises. The first night we had a wonderful dinner at the marina restaurant, Latitudes, which was closing for the season. The next night we ate in the main dining room and enjoyed the menu sampler and wine tasting - an incredible and memorable feast. Even the room service meals are special (e.g. lobster benedict) and delectable. The pumpkin decorations outside were well done, and indicative of the attention that management gives to detail..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
11.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#7 of 44 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#3 of 44 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.