We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same great quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Blossom

Lilac Blossom
630 Amherst Street, Nashua, NH 03063
603-886-8420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 203 Restaurants in Nashua
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
new hampshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Same great quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Haven't been in years but stopped in late Sunday afternoon. Food was fantastic, Scorpion bowl for 2 was cold and fruity, service was good and attentive. The place to go for Chinese in Nashua.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    44
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I've gone here intermittently through the years and my most recent visit was as good as my first. Persistent quality in the food and in the service.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I have been going here for years. Only once have I had a bad meal, and that was on New Year's Eve. Every other time it's been fantastic. The menu is extensive, and every meal we have tried from them has been great. My favorite is the Hunan Chicken. Their soups are also outstanding. The portion sizes are massive (a single order of port fried rice is loaded with meat, and can serve four people easy). I am not sure how anyone can give this place a bad review.

I WILL say, however, that the Greystone Plaza location does have better food, and almost never has a wait time, unlike The Exit 1 location. I am not sure as to the reason for this. Overall, I would recommend this place in a heartbeat, and frequently bring family/friends from out of town here.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The BEST Chinese Restaurant - Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Lilac Blossom on Amherst Street is the best Chinese restaurant I have ever visited - anywhere - from Maine to Miami, to LA, Hawaii, or Australia.
#1. Decor - Well lit contemporary Asian style with American comfort.
#2. Very pretty/handsome staff providing gracious service. Sometimes can feel like professionalism without warmth, but no one is perfect. The fresh white tuxedo shirts and tasteful dress of the greeter add a lot to the feeling that this is a special place.
#3. Presentation - Very good, as good or better than your average PF Chang's.
Order the Chicken or lobster soong and watch the waiter wrap your individual portions.
Every house special includes a carved radish figure. The plating is better than most other restaurants of this type.
#4 The Food - a lot less greasy than other places. Everything is fresh and full of flavor. Need to ask for soy sauce, or oil with cayenne if you wnat to add some heat.
# 5 The bill - A buck or two higher than the average sit-down Chinese place - but well worth the extra cost. We fed five at the-day-after-Christmas/Sunday lunch for only $50, and went home with leftovers.

We love Chinese food and Chinese restaurants. I find PF Changs disappointing once I have finished the chicken soong and move on to other courses. The Lilac is far better.

I have found only a few other family owned Chinese places that have come close to the Lilac (one in CT, one in LA, one in Miami South Beach), but none have surpassed it.

I have read all the other reviews up to this date. I can understand how one haughty waiter, ignorance about allergies, and food that just doesn't fit one's taste can make a place intolerable for anyone. I respect these reviews for what they represent. I wish every waiter would behave as well as most of them do. I wish every dish was as good as the chicken soong, but only 90% of them are. I really wish that every restaurant had a more serious and well-educated approach to allergies, especially nut allergies! That one is really inexcusable.

Be that as it may...Please let me know if you find a better place for the combination of atmosphere, service, food quality and price.

If I am in New Hampshire I will visit the Lilac Blossom.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Worst experience ever! The waiter rudely threw the food on the table, forgot the order several times, never showed up to fill in water and expected 20%+ in tips. The staff behaves very rudely and not very helpful at all. Food tastes great though, it's a shame the service doesn't match the food. I won't be surprised if this place closes up soon if the staff are not disciplined to behave around customers.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilac Blossom also viewed

 

Been to Lilac Blossom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilac Blossom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.