We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Lunk Factor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nashua YMCA

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nashua YMCA
24 Stadium Dr, Nashua, NH
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beware the Lunk Factor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've been a member of the YMCA for over two years. The staff is friendly, they have many and varied group exercises, and a lot of activities for kids. It's great that the place is cheerful, clean and has a lot of natural lighting.

It can be crowded so that it's tough to get on a weight station or an aerobic machine. This difficulty is compounded in the weight room where people will set up camp at a station, such as the bench and the pull-up/dip bar. They will leave the station with a personal object draped over it with the expectation no one else will use it until they are done with their routines. Several times I've started a set on unoccupied machines to have someone much larger than I shout from another part of the room, "Hey, I'm using that!"

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Gym, with lots of kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As a child-less adult, the Y has a lot of kids. On the other hand, if you have kids that would be excellent for you! The facilities are very new. The pool has lots of kids in it even to just be doing laps. You get a membership to the Merrimack Y as well and I prefer the pool there. The Nashua Y has a kids area in the pool and it makes the area louder.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I've been a member of the Y since we moved to a new place close by. It was winter and I decided to look for a Gym or any place I could go out for some activities.

When I first went to the Y I loved the environment. The place is wide, well maintained and pretty warm for the winter. There is a training pool, where you can go for laps, classes or even just have fun, including a separated area for the kids with a slide. Two saunas (dry and wet), which I love. Bathrooms are decent clean and very well equipped (swimsuit spin machines, blow driers, shower gel in every shower and enough lockers).

Training equipment is decent. There's a walk/run track upstairs, which helps a lot if you don't want/can't use the treadmills like mothers with baby strollers. There are lots of classes available everyday in two studios, two wally ball rooms and two basketball courts. Babysitting is available, and they provide lots to do for the kids (I've seen them from outside, looks nice). The Minefalls trails are right outside if you want to walk surrounded by nature before/after training.

Maybe some negatives would be: Not enough lifting and cardio equipment on rush hours, lockers cannot be rented, reception staff is always very busy but they are nice, facility close at 6 pm on Sundays.

This is a very busy place but not so crowned and you will see people of all ages. That's some of the things I can remember but overall the facility is great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Working out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Joining the Nashua YMCA becomes a dual membership with the Merrimack Y. The Nashua facility is only 2 1/2 years old and very well laid out. They have something for everyone. It's a great place to visit. I keep meeting new friends and seeing the old ones.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, nh
1 review
“Excellent facilities and Best customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nashua YMCA has brand new facilities and they have best customer service. Last year I had to travel international due to family reasons and after I come back they accommodated my rejoining with best experience by even waiving the joining fee. Thank you Y.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nashua YMCA also viewed

 

Been to Nashua YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nashua YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.