We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the absolute worst experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunapee Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Sunapee Lake Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the absolute worst experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you like damp, dank, & smelly, then check right in. However, if you don't, run away. We stayed in a lower level room and although it was spacious, it was in no way luxurious. Sheets felt thin and worn. Ceramic tile on floor was dirty. Breakfast was atrocious. Woman making the egg sandwiches did not use gloves and put the cooked eggs on washcloths. Gross! Needless to say, I will never be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorraine d, Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello,
I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your likes and dislikes of the Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge. We failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests. We pride ourselves with going above and beyond for our guests. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps have been taken to ensure these types of issues are avoided. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. Come enjoy the changes that we have made to serve our guests with above and beyond guest service.

Thank you,
Lorraine Day
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    17
    13
    20
See reviews for
31
25
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here to be close to the annual crafts fair held at Mt Sunapee - over 200 crafts people from surounding area - all had to pass a review before entering -
the fair was great!!!!

We got a room - the standard rooms all booked! $169 per night a bit steep -
I asked for a AAA discount - down to 159 - still steep ! asked for a manager's special - Bingo
got a ground floor Pet Friendly room $139 - tile floor - great bathroom - ref. and microwave -


Went next door to the DBL diamond Resturant - Great - I told them i had food allergies!
No problem the Kitchen Manager came out and asked me what i may want and that he would make sure it was ok for me to eat! The food menue had a great selection - the cook even came out to talke to me - the waitress was very good also. this was a great experience for us.

I do think the $$$$ was a bit high - just down the road was a hotel for $119 2 dbl bed rooms - but we had already unpacked.

Breackfast was fine -all we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was dog friendly and convenient to our Lake Sunapee destination..We had made our reservation directly with the hotel and requested an early check-in and we were warmly greeted at shortly after noon. Our room with a king sized bed was on the lowest level. It was immaculate ! It was large with a tile floor that our dog loved. The bathroom had been recently redone and had fluffy towels and lovely frangranced soaps.
We would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The towels smelled bad, the sheets were worn and the whole hotel needs an update. Od and if you have not updated your gps in few years, it will take you 7miles south of this location (that's what I was told at the reception, although the hotel has definitely been there more than few years.

Oh and the beds were too soft

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Sunapee hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I made a reservation on the BW website for two guests in a two queen-bedded room for one night and advised them that we had two small dogs with a quote of $89. When we arrived, I was told that the room was not available and was given a room with 2 kings. The next morning at checkout, I was presented with an invoice for $150. I told them that this was incorrect and showed them the printout of the confirm, but they would not budge, saying that this was the BW website, not theirs, and that not all rooms take dogs, although they are listed as a pet-friendly hotel.

The indoor pool was in terrible shape, cloudy water (could not see the bottom) and the filter did not run the whole time we were there.

The doors from the pool room to the outdoor terrace were locked both in and out - a terrible fire hazard not to be able to exit from the ground floor.

This is not the service we expect from Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We called the Best Western late one night after discovering a problem where we were staying nearby. One staff person in particular, Carolyn, put our minds at rest and assured us there would be a room for us if we needed to leave the original location. AT 11 pm we pulled in to Best Western, and Carolyn and Diane, another staff member, were as nice and as helpful as could be. We ended up staying 3 nights and enjoyed our time there. We would definitely recommend the hotel, it was clean and comfortable, and up to date. It was also very close to a wonderful state park.

Room Tip: I'm confident all rooms would be as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We arrived late, midnight, so very tired just wanted to go to bed. First room was dirty. Carpet, bed, bedspreads and tub. Went to front desk, gal was very nice and said she would get us another room. Next room dirty and I think she spray air freshen in the room. Dirt and paper on the floor. Smelled so strong of air freshner couldnt stay. So at 12:30 We headed out to find a new hotel. Drove 30 more mins. To another hotel. Bad..bad hotel. Would not recommand.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLL-GM, General Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
The staff and management at Sunapee Lake Lodge are profoundly apologetic for this guest's experience. Our housekeeping staff members are thoroughly trained professionals and take great pride in presenting clean, fresh smelling, sanitized rooms for all of our guests. As a distinguished member of the Best Western family, this experience is certainly not a typical one as evidenced by our previous reviews, however we take any problems exsperienced with a guest's stay very seriously. We have reviewed the details of this workday in particular, and have made specific adjustments to prevent this breakdown from occuring again. I would like to invite the reviewer to please contact our office so that we may further discuss their stay, and together come up with a reasonable remedy to ensure that the guest is satisfied with the overall outcome, and considers returning to our hotel.

Justin Barnes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunapee Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.