We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortilla Flat

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tortilla Flat
595 Daniel Webster Hwy, Merrimack, NH 03054
(603) 424-4479
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 56 Restaurants in Merrimack
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
new hampshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stopped in on a Saturday afternoon around 2 or 3. A small crowd of usuals / locals was enjoying the bar scene. We usually sit and eat in the bar area so that's where we headed. Greeted quickly by a server who took our drink orders. The top shelf Margaritas were good and strong. The appetizer sampler and the loaded nachos were more than enough for the two of us. Serve yourself warm tortilla chips with your choice of green or red salsa. Have eaten here many times so we have tried many items from the menu and have never been disappointed. Love the screened in porch in the summer time. Can't go wrong with some good basic Mexican food and some Margaritas. Will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ok, but not the best in the area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went last night for dinner. I ordered an enchilada plate. They were made with chicken and there were ok, and I do mean just ok. The rice has clearly been sitting around for a while, it was a bit crunchy and the serving was maybe 3 tablespoons. My husband has a grilled burrito made with steak. He enjoyed his and had no complaints. My daughter had chicken tenders and fries. The fries were soggy and greasy.

The best part of the experience was the chips and salsa. Oh, and the house margarita was really good. I may go back ,but if we do it will be for apps and drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“$2 Tacos on Tuesdays.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you have the time to eat inside, then go hungry and eat all three beef, chicken and pork. I wish my schedule allowed me to eat there more often but, take out is my norm. Their specials are not for take out customers.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The outside of this building is rather like a child's drawing. The building looks crooked, is an unusual color, and has strange attempts at landscaping.
But inside! The floors have pegged wood and the walls are branches of a variety of trees. You feel like you have moved back in time.
The friendly waiter patiently explained the foods to some people at the next table who did not know the difference between a taco and a tortilla.
The food was family friendly priced and excellent in flavor. It was not spicy, but spices were available for those who like things HOT. I ordered rice and beans with my meal and the Spanish rice has the right amount of tomato and the black beans were larger than usual and very slightly mashed.
It was delicious and a slight variation on the usual Mexican fare.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I am from Burlington vt and our tortilla flats was shut down for good about 4 years ago I travel 2 1/2 hours to eat here and it is worth every single minute of driving to get the delicious nachos!!!!! Come back to vt please!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortilla Flat also viewed

 

Been to Tortilla Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortilla Flat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.