We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than going to a chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
304 Daniel Webster Hwy, Merrimack, NH 03054
(603) 429-3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Merrimack
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than going to a chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is always good! I love their specials more than anything else. It's nice to get a meal that's not reflective of a chain menu. Service is usually good... Busy nights take a while but where don't they!

Parking is a nightmare

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    25
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I like all of the common man restaunts. Most are in old homes. My favorite appetizer is the "almost escargot" which are mushrooms instead of snails.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Oh, the cheese (and lobstah!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I live in Colorado, so when I hit the east coast, I want my lobstah. this place came recommended by a colleague and was quite enjoyable. We each had the same thing, the lobstah chowdah and a lobstah flat bread. Both were tasty and I 'd probably stop in again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT ATMOSPHERE, FOOD and SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This place is truly unique! One of my favorite places to eat! The food is great and so is the service. It gets pretty busy but goes by quick... they have many places to wait. If you have a chance.. .GO

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place for Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Common Man is a wonderful restaurant and we have eaten there on many occasions. The food is consistently good as is the service. You have two eating options: downstairs full restaurant or upstairs bar. Each has its own menu but you can ask to have meals from either menu served at either place. Drinks are also very reasonable. Try their homemade meatloaf!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Common Man also viewed

 

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Common Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.