We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On This Evidence - Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lago

Lago
Rte 25, Meredith, NH 03253
603-279-2253
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Meredith
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“On This Evidence - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Called at this restaurant twice during a three day stay in Meredith and was delighted on both occasions. Yes, it is frustrating not being able to reserve a table but I guess we were lucky and got the same table of our choice on both visits. By day the place looked nothing special, large room and all wood, but at night time it was transformed into a restaurant with great atmosphere and a very lively bar scene. We were fortunate to be there on one of their `wine down Wednesdays` as a couple of bottles of half-price wine always helps - but on both occasions, the food and the service (especially from the guy with the pigtail) were excellent. I chose the `special` on both nights - one a lovely seafood pasta dish and the other a fine portion of local fish.
On this evidence, Lago seems difficult to beat from the choices around the lake, highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    42
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nashville tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, wine and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The negative is that they do not take reservations and the seating can get very frustrating when busy. However, the bar can serve you drinks and wait outside at a table. The rest of the experience is excellent.
NOTE: There also is limited seating outside with a wonderful view of the lake.
Appetizers are routinely good. Last time we had the mussels, very good, and the fried oysters (amazingly like and flavorful).
I especially enjoy their veal parmigiana. Waiter had a good sense of food, and was helpful on some special requests.
The wine list had good selection in the various price ranges, and the waiter was knowledgeable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gret Lakeside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate here twice whilst on a touring holiday of New England. The Lakes district of New Hampshire is a truly beautiful place in the fall and this restaurant offers lakeside dining with spectacular views across Meridith bay on lake Winnipesaukee. The restaurant is within a "Historic hotel of America" group operated by Common man. We have used their restaurants before and never been disappointed.

They pride themselves on friendly well informed service and the food here is predominantly Italian. There is a good choice on the menu and the fish dishes are excellent - all fresh and locally supplied. The fish special was Skate on our second visit and this was really tasty and perfectly cooked.

Definitely pay this place a visit if you are in the area - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My favorite lake front restaurant Italian in the Lakes Region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

GREAT AMBIENCE. It's romantic if you want that. It's a very nice bar if you want that. The outside dining area has NO EQUAL on Winnipesaukee - period! The menu is very extensive with nice specials every time we go. The wine selection is very good too. PLUS the food ranges from consistently very good to excellent. I love this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We've eaten there a few times and have never been disappointed. The veal and seafood dishes are our favorites. The wait staff and service has been very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.