We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD attitudes and ok food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hart's Turkey Farm

Hart's Turkey Farm
Rte 3, Meredith, NH 03253
603-279-6212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Meredith
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
croydon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BAD attitudes and ok food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food is hit and miss here. We've been coming to Harts for the last twenty years...it used to be excellent...but for the last 5 or 6 years the Turkey dinners are getting smaller and smaller and the price keeps going up. Anything else but turkey and you will be very dissappointed. This area is a tourist area and Harts has recently taken advantage of that. My last trip however, two weeks ago, was a terribly aggravating experience for my whole family. A simple request for a turkey wing at the buffet was met with hostility and the chef who was serving refused. He at first lied and said there are no wings. When i told him ive been getting wings here for twenty years...the wings suddenly were in the stock pot now.Seconds later my daughter was denied a first a piece of prime rib then lectured about their buffet rule of a limit of two pieces of prime rib. When my daughter told him she only had turkey he replied:" Well you look like the type to sneak back for thirds." The owner was just as rude telling me he saw me asking the chef for a wing "so whatever he said"
Harts never use to be like this but i think age or stress is ruining their customer service to the point where people will be taking a chance going there expecting to be treated respectfully. We will never return to Harts. There are plenty of better restuarants in the meredith area to eat and ENJOY!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    96
    65
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Turkey Anytime of Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been curious about this restaurant for awhile so made the hour and half ride from our house to there to try it out. It has been in business for 59 years and they know how to make turkey! Everything we had was made fresh in their kitchen. My daughter and I had a traditional turkey meal. We chose the small plate but it was far from small. It came with 3.5 oz of turkey, gravy, stuffing, cranberry sauce, choice of potato or rice and one more side. We chose butternut squash. We also were given a quick appetizer of their house made carrot relish with saltine crackers to try it on Then came the warm dinner rolls and house made cornbread. All was delicious! Our grandkids ordered nuggets and they loved them too. They have either chicken or turkey nuggets of course! We were too full for dessert but our grandkids brought some home. They ordered cheese cake, pecan pie and bread pudding and later told us they loved those too! Our waitress was very nice and quite knowledgeable of everything we asked, We could tell she was impressed with the food where she worked. The inside of the restaurant is retro with lots of wood walls. Looks kind of like a 70/80's look but everything was very clean and neat. Nice view of the mountains from our window seat, There is also a cute little gift shop that has lots of tourist stuff but also they sell a lot of their turkey products in their coolers along with all the turkey dinner side dishes, Over all it was worth the trip and we would definitely go there again when we are in the area. Check out their website and look at their menu. You will be impressed to see all the different entrees they have. (there is more than just turkey!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go for turkey and nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've eaten here a few times and family members have eaten here as well with very mixed reviews. If you want turkey (hot or cold) then this place is fine. I'm told the fish fry night is fine as well but I can't speak from personal experience on that one. Stay away from anything more exotic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachuetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, affordable family dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Food was great with nice size portions and the price was right. We visited mid-week during February vacation so the dining room was not packed. I could see it being crowded during the summer season. The waiter was fast and courteous. I watched as he served the "difficult" customers in the booth next to ours. He handled himself very professionally. Job well done!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldred, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Old days revisited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I couldn't wait to revisit this place. Listen nothing fancy, but a great turkey dinner. Nice portions, reasonable. The service was so friendly. Came here with my grandma in the 80's and really felt nothing has changed. Great job. Brought back a lot of great memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hart's Turkey Farm also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Hart's Turkey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hart's Turkey Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.