We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ballard House Inn to your Saves list
Ballard House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 Parade Road, Meredith, NH 03253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOCAL MERCHANT FREE GIFT
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before but we had a wedding nearby and waited too long to make reservations at the venue hotel, so we checked out other places online and came across this and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad we did. Brian and his wife Lynn will make you feel like part of the family. Our room had its own private bath (which I believe all the rooms do) and both the bedroom and bathroom were immaculate beyond belief. The bathroom was shiny clean! It had been all completely renovated and looked brand new. The bed was so comfortable, very soft sheets, I had a great night's sleep. We had a clear, flatscreen TV in our room with cable and wifi. The breakfast in the morning, all hand prepared, was the best!! There was a wedding breakfast at the venue hotel, but my ride was late picking me up, so Brian made me this baked apple dessert with a sweet sauce that was to die for, and then he brought me out an egg/cheese dish he made with maple bacon which was the best tasting breakfast I ever had. Not to mention the home made banana bread and muffins that were there, too. When my ride back to the hotel arrived, Brian was kind enough to offer him coffee! When I got to the wedding breakfast, it paled in compared to Brian's breakfast back at the Ballard House Inn! Newton, the golden retriever is another treasure. He is mostly kept in the caretaker's quarters, probably just in case people have allergies to dogs, but I asked Brian to bring him out so I could see him and this dog is a love! I wanted to take him home. The entire house is immaculate and you couldn't ask for better, more hospitable innkeepers than Brian and Lynn.

Room Tip: I had the Winnisquam Room and I loved it. It's one of the lower priced rooms and I can only imag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are so glad your first stay at a bed and breakfast was a favorable one. Thank you so much for the complimentary review! We just really want to make sure everyone has a great time and enjoys themselves during their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
175
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I retired recently and the first place my wife and I wanted to return to was the Ballard House. Lynn and Brian are very warm and friendly hosts and from the moment we arrived they made us feel as though we never left home. The inn is beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. The New Hampshire views are great from the breakfast room and the wrap around porch. The homemade breakfasts are absolutely delicious, not to mention Lynn's freshly baked brownies and cookies she leaves as snacks. There is also coffee, tea, water, soda and wine for the guests to enjoy. Brian and Lynn are very helpful with their suggestions for walks, restaurants and other activities. Their wonderful golden retriever Newton is without a doubt the most even tempered and lovable dog you will ever meet. We have already booked another summer stay with Lynn, Brian and Newt. This is without a doubt the best B & B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks so much staying with us again! Repeat guests are such a compliment. You are a very kind and thoughtful couple and we all look forward (especially Newton) to your Summer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at the Ballard House Inn with Lynn and Brian as the perfect hosts. The Inn is beautiful, our room was great with an extremely comfortable bed and the softest sheets ever. The inn is immaculate and breakfasts were wonderful and filling. Lynn and Brian were meant to be Inn owners - they make you feel welcome from the moment you enter until the moment you leave. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are glad to have hosted you! It was a wonderful weekend, everyone staying seemed to hit it off. Thanks for the compliments, it means so much to us when you take the time to write a review. Please do visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place was fantastic! We, too, based our choice on all of the great reviews, and we are so glad we did! Lynn and Brian were wonderful hosts, the Inn was beautiful, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the bed, bedding, and even the towels were amazingly soft and comfortable. We were greeted with a glass of wine upon our arrival by both Brian and Newton, (it was a late arrival, and while Lynn tried to stay up for us, she needed to get her rest to be ready to prepare the most awesome breakfast the next morning) Breakfast was wonderful, with homemade banana bread, whipped honey cream cheese and butter, coffee, at least seven different choices of juice, baked apples with yogurt, and a delicious fritatta with garlic homefries! Amazing! The views of the mountains and Waukewan Lake from the room (we stayed in the Squam suite) and the back porch are wonderful! Even with everything covered in snow, and during a winter rain storm (because what is more New England than unpredictable ever-changing weather) everything was beautiful! Lynn and Brian were able to recommend some great choices for dinner and entertainment. We had the most wonderful and relaxing experience, and we cannot wait to return! Thank you to Lynn, Brian, and of course, Newton!

Room Tip: The Squam Suite had nice views of the front and side of the property, and had the most amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. I have said it in prior responses, but it is always appreciated to hear what our guests particularly remember during their visits. It helps us know what is important to you! Also, we know we play second fiddle to Newton - - we do the work and he gets the accolades :) Please do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

When we arrived at the Ballard House we were greeted at the door by Lynn, the hostess. She was very cordial and helpful, making us feel welcome immediately. She was joined by her husband, Brian (a fun guy) who carried our bags to our room. The Inn was as equally impressive as was our greeting. The cleanliness was beyond belief and the physical condition of the Inn was astonishing. The owners were so gracious that we felt like guests in a private home, not visitors paying for a room and breakfast. They anticipated our every need, recommending great restaurants as well as short day trips. The second part of B&B was of course breakfast and the hosts laid out an awesome spread that was beyond the norm, including eggs benedict, home made muffins, juices, coffee, tea, banana pancakes, and on and on. The food was prepared so beautifully that we took photos of the plates before eating every last bit of it. In the afternoon we devoured homemade cookies with our beverages while sitting in one of two common rooms on very comfortable divans. And did I mention the view? The Inn looks out at the White mountains and various lakes and ponds. As we ate breakfast this morning the New England weather treated us to a smorgasbord of weather, being sunny one moment, then snowing the next, then back to sunshine. It was absolutely awesome.
I really cannot praise this inn and it's hosts enough. We enjoyed one of the best weekends of our lives at this inn. Totally awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It was great to meet you and we are glad to have helped you have a memorable weekend. It is always fun to offer suggestions and cook indulgent food! Thanks for taking time to write such a gracious review, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

There is little I can add to the other outstanding reviews of the Ballard House Inn. What cannot be seen from the pictures is the magnificent view from the back of the Inn which overlooks the lake and mountains. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate the feedback and what different perspectives our guests provide. We tend to take for granted the outstanding views of the mountains and lake from the back of the house, however, having just returned from traveling ourselves, really stopped and took in how fortunate we are! Please do come back to see the awesome scenery again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We selected Ballard House based on all of the terrific TripAdvisor reviews -- and they were spot on. Our stay was the weekend before Valentine's during the Meredith Ice Fishing Derby. Lynn and Brian were fantastic, personable hosts and just plain good people. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated, the breakfast was delicious (the birthday pancakes were a nice surprise), and Newton the dog stole the show. There were various complimentary items including wine, beer and snacks which was a nice touch. The town was accessible by car, not really walkable due to the busy road into town. This was no big deal for us. Lynn and Brian had lots of great suggestions for activities, and were quick to make phone calls to arrange things on our behalf. We definitely recommend Ballard House to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks, first, for taking the time to submit such a favorable review. We are so glad we helped you have a relaxing weekend, complete with birthday pancakes! We enjoyed meeting you both and hope you can come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Address: 53 Parade Road, Meredith, NH 03253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballard House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.