We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballard House Inn

Save Saved
You added Ballard House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 Parade Road, Meredith, NH 03253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$15.00 GIFT CARD!
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Lone Tree, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The owners, and the Inn itself, are charming and real gems.Your experience starts with a hardy -heart felt - welcome from Lynn, Brian and Newton their gentle loving golden retriever who waits adoringly at the top of the front patio stairs. Every detail of your stay is attended to and the rooms are are so comfortable and decorated lovely and thoughtfully. It is a very special feeling when combined with how Lynn and Brian go out of their way to creat an atmosphere filled with laughter, relaxation and fun. They are devoted to making your stay a special memory. I would recommend a room in the back of the Inn given the beautiful views. Well done Brian, Lynn and of course Newton!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We make it a point to make our guests feel like friends and family! Please come see us again for some excellent skiing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
142
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Ballard House Inn is a little gem in the Lake District of New Hampshire just south of the White Mountains on the edge of Meredith, NH, near Lake Winnipesaukee. It's an old house that has been very tastefully renovated and feels old and very cozy but at the same time immaculately clean. The rooms are very comfortable with modern amenities including flat screen TVs, heat and (I think) A/C. There are two cozy sitting rooms with fireplaces where guests gather in the late afternoon before dinner, with complimentary beer, wine, coffee and tea and fresh baked cookies, brownies, etc. We met some wonderful folks here including the parents of one of our daughter's college classmates. The owners are friendly, intelligent, interesting and hardworking people who go out of their way to make sure your experience is first rate. There is a beautiful view from the back overlooking the foothills of the White Mountains and one of the lakes. Breakfast was excellent and is served at a large table in the kitchen. The only negative thing I can say is that there was a bit of traffic noise in the early morning from the road out front, but this is a minor quibble. This is a good location for visiting the Lake District and White Mountains. Mt Washington is just over an hour away. If you don't stay here, you are missing out!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and saw two others. They are furnished similar, so I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It helps future guests picture what their experience will be like. Glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope you will think of us the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Ballard House Inn. Brian Lynne andNewton made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They create a very friendly atmosphere which all the guests enjoyed. The Inn is a lovely old house and our room was beautifully decorated. Breakfast was really good and everyone ended up chatting for ages. The free wine, cakes and all the little extras made the two days very special. We would go back if we were in the area again and would recommend a room at the back of the Inn to make the most of the view

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for spending part of your holiday with us. It is a great time when everyone starts conversing and sharing stories! We truly hope you would consider visiting again. Thank you for your review and favorable comments also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our favorite spot of our 9 day trip through New England. Brian and Lynn were so much fun and kept an absolutely beautiful property. The house was beautifully restored but with plenty of modern updates to make it extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and filling. Our favorite part of the house was the wrap around porch with stunning views of the forest, lake and mountains. Newton, the inn's gentle giant of a dog, was a delight and kept me company while I rocked in the porch. Our only regret was our length of stay. We should have stayed much longer!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are so glad you had a good time during your brief stay. You and your family are such nice folks. Newton thanks you too - - he absolutely relishes the attention the guests give him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights this past weekend at the Ballard House Inn. We were immediately greeted at the door by Lynn who showed us around the house and the common areas. Complimentary coffee/tea/wine/beer/cookies/candy - a lovely touch. We were then introduced to Brian, Lynn's husband, and their adorable, friendly and massive Golden Retriever, Newton. Such a sweetheart.

The interior of the house is stunning - a beautiful old New England home. The wrap around porch is perfect for relaxing with several rocking chairs and a porch swing looking out on a magnificent view.

Breakfast both mornings was delicious. Quiche once, pancakes once - but that was all, always a sweet bread sliced on the table, then a fruit/yogurt combo before the main course. My husband loved the baked apples served the second morning.

We stayed in Chocorua one night and Squam the second night. Lynn and Brian made our anniversary stay memorable. Nothing was too much for them - they are incredibly friendly and so full of local knowledge especially having only been in the area just over a year. They take true pride in keeping every room immaculately clean. Their dinner recommendations were spot on - always willing to make a reservation for you.

We wish them the best of luck in their B&B venture -- they definitely are suited for the job.

Oh, I almost forgot - the mattresses are HEAVENLY.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the house; the road out front seems to get a surprisingly amount of tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are so glad you spent your anniversary with us! Thanks for pointing out the things you noticed and especially enjoyed, it helps us to know what is important to our guests. Hope to see you again for another special occasion or just for a weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Meticulously maintained accommodation with comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. The innkeepers, Brian and Lynn are excellent hosts providing useful local information for your stay as well as wonderful breakfasts. Reception areas are comfortable and complimentary drinks are provided to encourage guests to get together and chat. Parking is provided and locals shops and restaurants are within a few minutes drive away. Home made cookies are provided in the afternoon which were delicious! Wifi access is provided and works well. My wife's gluten free dietary requirements were understood and well catered for.
Nearby Lake Squam was the location for filming "On Golden Pond". Climbed a short hike of just 30 mins up Rattlesnake Mt for a wonderful view of lake.
Home from home, relaxed atmosphere...arrived as guests left as friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had such great times with our friends from across the pond! We would welcome a return visit and have your contact information too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Ballard House for two nights and my wife and I couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. From rooms tastefully decorated to complimentary beer, wine and snacks our hosts Brian and Lynn did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one. The entire house is incredibly clean and located approximately a mile from the town of Meredith. My wife suffers from celiac and Lynn made sure that all of her breakfast items were gluten free and delicious. I've been to numerous B and B's and their presentation of breakfast was the best by far. From the homemade breads on the table when you arrive at breakfast to whatever they are cooking for their guests to eat, everything looked delicious and presented wonderfully. It also tasted great. The next time we are in the area we will definitely return to the Ballard House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such complimentary comments. I love to cook and it is flattering you thought so highly of the foods we served. Please do come again, we really enjoyed your visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Address: 53 Parade Road, Meredith, NH 03253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballard House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.