We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballard House Inn to your Saves list
Ballard House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 Parade Road, Meredith, NH 03253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I reviewed this B&B 2 years ago when it was under different owners and we were so happy to find the new hosts, Brian and Lynn, are as sweet and welcoming as the previous owners. Their kindness, hospitality, and super clean rooms made their inn the best inn of the 5 inns we stayed in throughout NH, CT, and NY during our 2 week vacation, Their dog Newton is so sweet and well behaved. We look forward to coming back in Oct. to continue our hunt for a retirement home in the area. If all NH people are like Brian and Lynn I know we will love living in the Meredith area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide your feedback. We are glad you feel we are maintaining the same experience you had with the previous owners. Look forward to seeing you again in Oct. Please call if we can be of further help in advance of your visit,
Lynn and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Traveled to NH for a wedding and made reservations at the Ballard House Inn. Best decision that we made. Brian and Lynn are the best host's you will find anywhere. This establishment is clean, quiet, and picture perfect. Even the other guest at breakfast were friendly. Simply put, if we ever have the opportunity to travel to Meredith NH again, there will be no need to look for a place to stay, for as long as Brian and Lynn are the operators, we would choose to stay with them again. We would not even consider looking for another place to stay when we can stay with Brian and Lynn, it was just a very enjoyable and pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
You and your family were such wonderful people to host! Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. The words you wrote encourage us to keep our standards high and have all our guests have a memorable experience. Thanks again,
Lynn and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee Center, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed @ the Ballard House for Bike week this June, & had a fantastic time. Brian, Lynn, & Newton made us feel like we were @ home. Loved everything about this place - the rooms are beautiful, the food is outstanding, & the owners & other guests are the best. Looking forward to staying here again for bike week again next year.

Ron & Cindy Crill

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Ron, Cindy,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a complimentary review! Had a great time with you and the whole crew during bike week. You are in for five nights next year!
Brian and Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We found ourselves trying to drive home to Vermont after a long day with our family at the ocean and decided we were just too tired to finish the drive. We called the Ballard House Inn and by luck they had a room available for the night. By luck is an accurate statement, because this was “visiting week” for parents of kids at summer camps in the area and all accommodations were taken!!! Before we arrived we were skeptical of an “available room” during this particular week and proceeded with caution. When we pulled in we were greeted by the inn keeper in the driveway, he was waiting for another guest to arrive even at this late hour. He was extremely pleasant, gave a wonderful welcome and took us into the inn. Our first impression was “this place is beautiful” and actually left us speechless. He then showed us our room which was equally beautiful…. After a wonderful night’s sleep, we were greeted by the Inn keeper and his wife and enjoyed coffee and an awesome breakfast. We travel several times a year and this was one of the best finds we have ever came across, even as recent as yesterday our visit to this quaint Inn was the subject of our conversation…. We hope Brian and Lynn the best and are truly grateful to them for making our stay memorable. We can’t wait to return…
Cara and Terry

Room Tip: It’s a great Inn; although we only stayed in one room we are confident all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Cara and Terry,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. You were such nice folks, we do hope you will return, since your stay was so short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, AL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are looking for a great B&B experience you won't go wrong here. It's priced very reasonably and Brian and Lynn are great hosts, great food, interesting people at the breakfast table, and super clean acoomodations. We were there recently for a wedding and stayed several days. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time and writing such a positive review. You were friendly, easy going guests to host. We enjoyed meeting you and would welcome you back if you are ever in the New England area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Ballard house this past week end as our nephew had a destination wedding in NH at the Castle in the Clouds which is a 15 minute ride from Ballard house.Several families stayed at the Inn, suffice to say that Lynn and Brian and their 140lb. pouch were the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel at home the entire week end and were able to handle the 13 of us without missing a beat.Great Breakfast, Pancakes, Bacon,Fresh Blueberries etc.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
You were a fun bunch to host! We are glad you had a great time at the wedding and while staying with us. We hope you will consider a family getaway here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Super comfortable property. We stayed in the Squam Suite - which is at the top of the hotel. I am a light sleeper, but didn't need my sound machine or ear plugs. The room was very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have stayed on outside of my house!

the owners, Lynn and Brian, are very friendly and accomodating. They even remembered my husband's nut/seed allergy at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast - WOW! Dont miss their great, inspired, local treats.

We didn't make it to the evening social hour - but the fridge downstairs was always stocked.

We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Squam suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send your feedback. Brian and I are glad you had such a good experience staying with us. We hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Address: 53 Parade Road, Meredith, NH 03253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballard House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.