We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for the family at reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's Diner

George's Diner
10 Plymouth Street, Meredith, NH 03253
603-279-8723
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Meredith
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food for the family at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've been to George's many times and highly recommend it for single folks, couples, families, large groups -- pretty much anyone who enjoys comfort food. We went there a week or two ago with our daughter, son-in-law and three young grandkids. There was something for everyone. There's a great kids' menu and the kids' meals come with a free beverage. All three of the kids enjoyed their meals very much. I had breakfast and the others had sandwiches. My daughter was delighted with her Reuben -- in fact, everyone enjoyed their sandwiches. My husband got a "small" order of onion rings to share and it was huge and overflowing its plate. So much of the food at George's is homemade and delicious. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Meredith!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    41
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Gem Indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great comfort food at a very, very reasonable price. After much trial and error I finally realized that the best place to dine is where the locals dine. In Meredith, George's Diner is that place. Go and I promise, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Gem Among Diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are in the area, do not miss this place for breakfast or lunch. If nothing else, the home made raisin bread would make it worthwhile.
Unusually open and airy for a diner and also has seating outside on the porch. Very clean.
Waitresses are friendly and efficient. Good coffee.
We had omelets, eggs up, corned beef hash (homemade) and home fries (very light and tasty), all good.
We also had fruit on the side and it was wonderful , not the usual honey dew slices, but apple and bananas and such.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossipee, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On a side street from DWH, but worth it. Love the food and service. Good, honest diner food that's very reasonably priced. Love sitting outside on the porch under the old trees. V

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cant beat this for breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great breakfast and lunch. Home made bread, awesome omelets(spinach, tomato and mushroom with swiss). Great grilled chicken sandwich and homemade fries.Fair prices. This place is the best in the area for breakfast and lunch. I have not had dinner here. The manager has been here for a while and she does a great job.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Diner also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to George's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.