We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away as fast as you can” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   75 W. Hancock St., Manchester, NH 03102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 16 hotels in Manchester
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Run away as fast as you can”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Econolodge review
Upon arriving at the Econolodge my wife and I were uneasy as we were not in the best area. We had booked the room for one night as we could not find any other available hotels due to the NASCAR race. The price of the room was pretty much doubled because of the race. We did not want to stay based on the area but decided to go in anyway. The smell upon entering was terrible and the lobby was dirty. The front desk staff was rude. We did not have the credit card we booked with or the cash to pay so we were told if we did not stay our credit card would be charged the following day. Why they could charge our credit card for a "no show " but could not charge us for the room is beyond me but we were not planning on staying anyway because it was gross. They will probably charge us for the room but we plan on disputing the charge. Upon reading reviews (which i failed to do before booking)after we made a hasty exit we were even more glad we didn't stay as they confirmed out worst fears. Needless to say we ended up spending twice as much for a much nicer hotel but it was totally worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    16
    11
    38
See reviews for
15
10
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wish there were 2 1/2 stars, that would be closer to the truth. We bikers aren't particular when it's raining hard and we need a warm dry place to sleep, and this Econolodge was like Mecca for us.
The room was a little rough but it worked fine for me. I doubt my wife would feel comfortable staying here. If you are at all particular about your lodging, then this isn't the place for you. If you want to travel economically and are ok with worn linens in a 1970's room, then dive right in.
Continental breakfast was muffins, coffee, orange drink, and some packaged pastries. Adequate for me but not for everyone. The price was...as you might expect...very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great price! Where else can you spend $65 and get wifi, laundry, cable and continental breakfast? Room was clean, bed comfortable and it was quiet. Only complaint is a TV remote that did not work, hardly a game changer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My friend booked this hotel for a 2 night stay without even checking the reviews. We went there for Another Anime Convention and Friday night we noticed that there were cigarette burns in the blankets, I'm talking about multiple cigarette burns, I counted at least 40 in my blanket.

The next thing we noticed was that the walls had a hole as well as blood stains and fecal matter on it and the blankets also had big blood stains on them. When we called to get a new blanket the manager told us to come down and then promptly hung up on my friend. I went down there and waited ten minutes at the front desk and he wasn't there. We called again and he yelled and said he was there the whole time and we could barely understand him because he could barely speak English. He was very rude.

After that we noticed there were prostitutes outside the front door (ages 14-17) and the 3 of them were with to skeezy looking guys that looked to be in their mid 20s. The vending machine also had condoms in them, a nameless brand of condoms right above the candy and below the chips.

The shower sucked and was non adjustable and I twisted my finger trying to turn it on.
We also heard a woman say "I just want to get out of this place!" right in the hallway so we're not the only ones who had a horrible time here. Spend the extra $50 on a better hotel cuz this one is gross and in a horrible neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I travel for business and pay my own expenses so I'm always looking for cheap rooms. I booked this through American Express with points so based on that and the overall rating on various other travel sites including tripadvisor, I booked the hotel for 3 nights.

Check in was fine. It wasn't until the 3rd night that I realized that EVERY night when I pulled in there were young girls (16-20 years oldish) walking to and from the hotel sometimes with men, sometimes alone.

The first night I was awoken by a constant banging of the headboard next door against the wall. The second night I was kept wake by an apparent party in the parking lot and I'm still on my final night so we'll see how this goes!

I've only spent a few hours awake here and the cast of characters that I've witnessed in the hallways can only be described as what you'd find in a holding cell.

Needless to say, I won't be back!

Room Tip: Don't do it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was booked into this hotel by a business colleague, on arrival I found the staff to be slow and unhelpful. The locations is seedy and felt unsafe. The room was dirty and smelt damp. I returned to the front desk within a few minutes of checking in and politely said I would be moving on but they refused to refund my room charge. Give this place a miss...

Room Tip: Go to La Quinta instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 75 W. Hancock St., Manchester, NH 03102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Manchester
Manchester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.