We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Commercial Street, Manchester, NH 03101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
CT
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Traveling through the area I wanted a Hilton to stay the night. I booked this hotel the night before not knowing what to expect. Discovered there was not much going on the night in Manchester the night I was staying there. I was surprised to see a ball game going on that night. As it turned out the hotel is built right behind center field. ended up getting a room overlooking the playing field. You can go down and have some food and a drink while watching the game. Thus, I was pleasantly surprised. Very quiet hotel on a Friday night, the rooms are very quiet even with the game going on. Checking in the young man was very professional and helpful. Cookies at night time. There is a indoor pool and outdoor hot tub. Rooms were great, using points so cost was not considered. Breakfast was very good as usual for a Hilton garden Inn. Everyone was very friendly and professional. There is a shuttle out front for trips. I would definitely come back to another home game.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgimanch, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am glad you found a nice surprise in us and we certainly look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    125
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
96
112
39
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
359 helpful votes 359 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is situated in the heart of Manchester. Most people love to stay there for business travel, or to make a long weekend out of baseball games.

The hotel is located behind left and center fields at the baseball park where the New Hampshire Fisher Cats play. Tickets to the game are very inexpensive, but you can also watch the game for free from the outdoor pub at the hotel. They have a full menu with great food, and a well-stocked bar. The atmosphere if very family-friendly, and kids will love to talk with the players in the outfield during batting practice.

The Inn is a great place all around. Very clean, and a great staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgimanch, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn, Manchester, NH. We know you have many choices when choosing a hotel in the area. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Patio, we hope to see you again this baseball season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel experience sleeping above left field at a minor league stadium. Great dining, clean rooms, beautiful common areas. The restaurant staff were kind and gracious, the line chef in the morning had an awesome disposition and gave us the courage to try the breakfast lasagna, which was fabulous. This is a safe, positive experience worth the 350 mile drive we made from Philly (all just to watch baseball). We'll be back.

Room Tip: Pay the money and get a field side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgimanch, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It takes a true baseball fan to drive 350 miles for a game! We are certainly glad that you did and that you enjoyed your trip. We hope to see you again this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stay here a lot... if there were any problems I would certainly have discovered them! This hotel is unfailingly welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. Amazing rooms, clean spreads for each guest, great restaurant coupled with van service anywhere in the area makes this a terrific value. If it is going on in Southern New Hampshire, they know about it and can help you get to and enjoy whatever it is you want to try.

Room Tip: back rooms facing the ball field are fun and can save the price of a game when base ball season com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgimanch, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for always choosing HGI, Manchester! We truly appreciate your loyalty and are delighted to hear that you receive consistent guest service when you travel to NH. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown is an absolutely beautiful hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and equipped with friendly & professional staff. I was pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a room with a view of the baseball field and we arrived just when the game started. The view was spectacular; what a treat! We ordered room service in the evening for dessert - general portions and beautiful presentation. The breakfast in the morning was top notch. All of the food was delicious and fresh. I work in the hotel industry and can say, without a shadow of a doubt, that this hotel is superbly run and an asset to tourism in Manchester. I am already planning another trip sometime very soon!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view of the baseball field. Even if there isn't a game - it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgimanch, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and praises. I am so glad that we have exceeded your expectations, we truly have a great team of folks who love what they do and it is such a pleasure to hear such positive feedback about our staff. We look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice hotel, good location downtown and fairly close to airport. We did not use the shuttle but it was ready to go at 5am. Nice rooms with views of the baseball field. Did not stay on a game day, but outside patio looks like a great place to dine, have a drink and enjoy a game on a nice day. Outdoor patio set up is very nice! Hope to return during the season.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet.
Enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. Pricey, but the food was great, good portions and the presentation was outstanding. Limited wine list. Service was great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ball field are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgimanch, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly appreciate all feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed dinner as well as your room accommodations. Please keep us in mind the next time your travel plans bring you back to Manchester, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I always have a good experience when I stay here. And during baseball season I get to watch the games at the adjoining ballfield while eating dinner on the patio. A pleasant addition to the stay. It is also very centrally located to get anywhere easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgimanch, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn, Manchester for your accommodations. I am happy to hear that you consistently have an enjoyable experience during your visits. We look forward to another great season of baseball and hope you will be joining us on the Patio for a game or two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown

Address: 101 South Commercial Street, Manchester, NH 03101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown Hotel Manchester
Hilton Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.