We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton

Cotton
75 Arms St, Manchester, NH 03101-1112
603-622-5488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 311 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stark Street
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stopped by on a Friday night and waited a 1/2 hour for a seat at the bar. The ambiance is very relaxing and the menu is varied with a nice range of entrees from decadent to healthy and expensive to very reasonable.

I'll definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    104
    34
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining in Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner with old friends at Cotton after flying in to Manchester, NH Airport. Cotton is only a ten-minute drive from the Airport. But if it was a thirty-minute drive from the Airport, it still would be worth it.

The food is outstanding; generous portions and delicious. The bread brought to you when you are seated is fresh-baked sourdough right out of the oven. Three of us ordered seafood and one ordered lamb for dinner (none of which are in the category of easy cooking), and our experience was all the same, excellent.

The service is just as good as the food. Our friends were almost an hour late, but we felt no pressure to order. We are sensitive that restaurants need to turn their tables over, but because we started late and had not seen these friends for many years, we had the table from 5:30 until almost 9:00 p.m. There was not a ripple of discontent or impatience from the staff.

Our server, Brittany, was efficient, polite and professional. In a refreshing change of pace from the usual restaurant experience, none of us were called "Guys" or told that a request was "No problem."

Dining at Cotton is an excellent experience. The food is reasonably priced, so diners get their money's worth and more.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The restaurant is in an old cotton mill so the atmosphere is interesting. The menu is diverse and the meals we ordered, from fried chicken to salad and crab cakes were very good. Service was great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lucky Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I didn't know this place existed. What a great find. The food was delicious! Only went for lunch, but hope to return for dinner. The meal was great and everyone was happy. No one left hungry. Loved the various appetizers, salads and entrees. Reasonably large menu; Chef was very accommodating; staff very friendly. Big bar and ample seating; Very nice atmosphere. Great for business, couples, friends. Not as great for young families.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Mostly enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My dinner companion and I had a fairly good experience here. I opted for two appetizers - the Maine Peeky Toe Crab Cakes and the Pan-Seared Scallops. I was happy with the flavors and presentation, except that I was surprised at the wildly varying sizes of the scallops that were served. I expected they would be more uniform in size, but they were perfectly seared and nicely flavored. The companion ordered the Retro Meatloaf. The meatloaf was "okay", definitely not the best meatloaf he'd ever had. He did, however, love the mashed potatoes. They were super creamy. His dessert, the Dolce Freddo Pistachio Gelato, was great except for the added red raspberry coulis. He felt the coulis was totally unnecessary and detracted from the great pistachio flavor of the gelato. Service was great. They have a really nice selection of wines available by the glass. All in all, it was an enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton also viewed

 

Been to Cotton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.