We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy ending...after a rocky start!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton

Cotton
75 Arms St, Manchester, NH 03101-1112
603-622-5488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 347 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stark Street
Manchester
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Happy ending...after a rocky start!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

First, let me start by saying that this is one of our favorite places we save for special occasions, the food is always top notch, and we find the value to be high. Some of the favs we ordered on this occasion were Bistro Steak-with mashed potatoes and baby carrots-fantastic and cooked to perfection! Others in our party had the Turkey Schnitzel and Lamb Loin Chops.The serve great bread for the table as well, always appreciated!

The rocky start was when we arrived, the hostess who greated us appeared sullen, and was not cheerful as one would expect for a greeting walking in, there was confusion about our reservation, not shared with us why or what but at least the ?manager? came over and took care of us....saying he would explain to her later what happened. Waitress arrived and took drink orders once we were seated, not the fastest service, but we were in no rush, unfortunately, she got the drink orders wrong and tried to tell me that it was my fault...what?

I was surprised that on a Thursday night the bar was EMPTY by 8:30, and the restaurannt was a quarter full....not sure why it was a slow night or if their business is off?

In summary, a great culinary expereince, but the "front end" of the business appears to be in need of improvements!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotton101, Owner at Cotton, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Tqmman2002,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your dining experience to my attention. I appreciate this much more than you know. I value each and every one of my guests. It is equally important for me to hear both the good and the bad. Without hearing the bad, I am unable to learn, grow and better serve my guests in the future. I apologize on behalf of your server and Cotton for the confusion on our part regarding the wine service. Your server has been with us for ten years and while the incident could have been handled differently, I know she meant no disrespect to you and your guests.

I have addressed this incident with my managers and service staff. I (we) will learn from yesterday’s mistakes and better serve all our guests tomorrow.

I truly appreciate each and every guest who joins us at Cotton. I have saved your previous reservation data in our online reservation system. The next time you join us at Cotton, I will have a bottle of the Greg Norman Cabernet-Merlot waiting for you on your table.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Paige – Chef/Owner
Cotton
75 Arms Street
Manchester, NH 03101
603-622-5488
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    92
    32
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great comfort food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had dinner here on a Sunday night. The restaurant was busy and we did not have a reservation but we were promptly seated. The wine list has a number of good choices. Extensive cocktail list. The menu has a lot of comfort food favorites like meat loaf and fried chicken. I had the bistro steak which was very good. Portion size was generous but not overly huge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great martini menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went here on a weeknight that we didn't feel like cooking. We shared a couple of appies, and had a couple of martini's. Love the atmosphere. They're known for their meatloaf, couldn't bring myself to order meatloaf with my martini...guess I'll have to go back and try it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Love this place - quirky fun menu and everything is good. My favorite is the Crab Cake Sandwich (although the Tuna Tataki is great too). Best martinis in town!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dined at Cotton with GF and another couple last night before heading to a comedy show. Our friends had heard good things, so we decided to try it. It's a small restaurant, and I would recommend making reservations on weekends. We had reservations for 6:30 and were seated as soon as we walked in. Drinks for all of us, and nobody was complaining...all were good. The one disappointment of the night was the calamari appetizer. After eating maybe 1/3 of it, I noticed about a 1/4 inch of oil in the dish, just soaking into the calamari....yuck. I informed the waitress, and she said: "That's how they serve it here by putting spicy oil over them"....I said: "No thanks"....was very surprised that she didn't offer to take this off our bill...but whatever. The meals we had were all excellent. I had one of their nightly specials of grilled mahi mahi with lobster mashed potatoes....it was awesome!! I tasted everyones meal, including the lobster ravioli which was good....the grilled scallops were very good....and their signature meatloaf was delish!! Besides the sna-fu with the calamari, it was a really nice meal. I would definitely recommend, and will go back for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton also viewed

 

Been to Cotton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.