We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great calamari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton

Cotton
75 Arms St, Manchester, NH 03101-1112
603-622-5488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 347 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stark Street
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

they have the best calamari I have EVER had!!! They also have some very unique menu dishes that are worth a try!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    91
    32
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LHemy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good indeed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Once you FIND the place, which I had to use my GPS to do, you immediately sense that is would be a great meal the moment you walk in and see the atmosphere. It's very fun and nice. I would enjoy sitting outside in the summer as well, very nice looking spot as well.
Our server was good and that can make or break your evening, believe me.
A few minor observations:
1. Lots of spicy food on the menu and I would have wanted to try a few things, but was somewhat put off by that word. I like a tiny big of spice but only tiny. We split the fried calamari and it was great, but just a bit spicy. Our companion had the Jambalaya and even though he loves spicy food, it was a bit too much for him as well. So, be careful.
2. I had the Bistro Steak and it was so good, topped with blue cheese butter and bacon. Wow. Very nice.
3. The bread was excellent and when our server noticed we devoured it, she actually brought us MORE... yummy!
I would go back.
I highly recommend a reservation, even on a week night. It was a birthday celebration and I had never been there before and I called ahead, and I am glad I did. The place filled up really fast, even on a Thursday night.
I look forward to trying it another time. I'm not sure I'd go there with young children, maybe 8 and up?
I really enjoyed the view from the parking lot of the old Amoskeag Mills in Manchester with the sunset behind them. Very nice. Right next to UNH's Manchester campus as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
1 review
“Comfort Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food was good. Not as great as our expectations from what I have heard but was worth the trip. The environment is quaint and inviting, the service was friendly and pleasant and the overall experience can best be encapsulated as "Feel good"
A great recommendation for a Friday after work.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, charming setting, but unremarkable food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This popular restaurant offers a charming setting and excellent service, but the food is more Cheesecake Factory than fine dining. The portions are more than generous, but almost every dish was over-sauced, over-cheesy, over-done. Cutest and tastiest dish was popcorn shrimp served in a a movie theatre popcorn box (to match the photos and posters of classic film on the walls). Jambalaya was overwhelmed by massive quantities of andouille sausage. The dressing on the spinach salad lacked zing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This little restaurant was a little difficult to find, but was certainly worthwild. Great atmosphere, great waitress and very nice atmosphere.Grilled salmen with salsa and the scallop appetizer were the best. Will definitely go there again if ever in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton also viewed

 

Been to Cotton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.