We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Manchester, NH.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ash Street Inn to your Saves list
Ash Street Inn
118 Ash Street, Manchester, NH 03104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in Manchester, NH.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Ash Street Inn last weekend as we were attending a wedding in town. The Inn was very nicely decorated and the rooms/bathrooms were spacious. I liked that there was a cabinet under the bathroom sink so there was plenty of space to store toiletries/cosmetics (unlike pedestal sinks in many Inns which are pretty to look at but impractical.) The proprietor, Eric, was very nice and prepares breakfast to order for you. My husband and I ordered almost everything from his menu (at one sitting, I'm ashamed to admit) and he politely prepared everything for us and the food arrived fairly quickly and was delicious. He also has plenty of snacks available at all times, including home made scones and cookies which are quite tastey. I also want to mention that the Inn was one block away from the Currier Museum of Art which is a must see. (You can cover it in less than an hour.) All in all, we felt that the Ash Street Inn was a wonderful place to stay and would stay there again if ever in the Manchester area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
65
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the nicest bed n breakfasts we have stayed in! The rooms are large enough, the amenities in the room (wi fi, snacks, sufficient towels, good window covering) are great AND the bathrooms were updated & roomy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Ash Street Inn in just a couple of weeks ago for one night while attending a wedding in nearby Bedford. Eric, one of the proprietors, greeted us upon our arrival. He had baked some wonderful cookies and scones for the afternoon, and I must confess that I, in particular, ate more than I probably should have. The rooms were spacious, beautifully furnished, and quite comfortable. Although reasonably warm outside, the Inn's air conditioning worked well and kept us nice and cool.

For breakfast, Eric takes orders from a small menu and then cooks breakfast for you. He typically can cook for only 2 at a time; however, because the other couple who had joined us in staying at the Inn mirrored my wife's and my breakfast choices, he was able to serve all 4 of us at the same time. I had blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup which were excellent. When I asked Eric if the syrup was real maple before ordering, he immediately responded that he would not serve anything else. My wife had an omelet which she enjoyed.

Although I travel to NH usually once a year, this was my first time to stay in Manchester. The hospitality provided by Eric and the Ash Street Inn makes a very good case for staying more often in Manchester.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we sawy seemed quite lovely. We stayed on the second floor in a room in the southea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved Eric Johnston (his wife was working)....he was very knowledgeable of the Manchester, NH area. He made the best scones and pancakes. Coffee, tea, juice, water, ice, cookies, scones, & bananas were always available. The house was elegancy decorated by Dariene Johnston. We sat on the large porch with our morning coffee and nightly cocktails. The bedding and the pillows were top quality and extremely comfortable. Walking distance to the downtown area which is very lively for an old mill town. Excellent restaurants and bakeries and a fun nightlife.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own separate charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a wonderful overnight stay at the Ash St. Inn. The inn has been lovingly restored with perfect details. We stayed in Room 205, which is located on the first floor, between the parlor and kitchen -- evidently originally the dining room when the building was a single family house. The room is furnished with a comfortable queen bed, and includes an armoire that will accommodate a number of items on hangers (including some skirt/trouser hangers, which is a nice plus). There is a small desk in the room, large enough to accommodate a laptop computer, which is a nice touch if you are traveling on business (or for pleasure but cannot quite leave work behind). 4 electrical outlets are easily reachable for recharging mobile devices, etc. There is a ceiling fan immediately above the bed.

The bathroom is compact but the owners gave a lot of thought to the placement of towel bars, shelving, and hooks, so that there is ample room for personal toiletries, etc. The stall shower is not large but is sufficient in size and has excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. Lots of attention to comfort -- plush oversized bath sheets, 2 bathrobes, a nice assortment of personal care products, including a dispenser in the shower of bath gel, shampoo & conditioner, a basket with body lotion and toothpaste.

Breakfast is served on a rolling basis, with eggs, omelets, pancakes, and French toast cooked to order by the proprietor, Eric (i.e., not a communal sit-down meal at a set time, as in some B&Bs), Fresh fruit and cold cereal are also available. There are packaged snack foods (bags of pretzels, etc) and cold drinks, as well as homemade cookies available on a help-yourself 24 hour basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Ash Street Inn is a model for what B&Bs should be. The Inn occupies two floors of a beautifully restored 1885 house -- the rooms are extremely well appointed, and the decorating (a broad palate of time-appropriate wall colors) is really beautiful. The Inn is immaculately clean, bathrooms are new, and beds are comfortable -- all that you could want in terms of comfort. Coffee, tea, soft drinks, and snacks are available 24/7, and the cooked-to-order breakfast is very good. The Innkeeeper, Eric, truly aims to please. Staying here was an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I enjoyed our stay in Manchester at the Ash Street Inn. The home was lovely and the food was good. The host was amiable to a point, but I felt that he might have needed a vacation from his own property. The room 208 was well appointed and the bathroom was lovely, but must tell you that the bed was like sleeping on granite.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ash Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Street Inn

Address: 118 Ash Street, Manchester, NH 03104
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ash Street Inn is the benchmark Bed and Breakfast Inn in Manchester, New Hampshire. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Manchester and only ten minutes from the Manchester airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B and Expedia so you can book your Ash Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.