We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza & Beer Before Hockey Game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Pie Company

Portland Pie Company
786 Elm St, Manchester, NH 03101
(603) 622-7437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 353 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pizza & Beer Before Hockey Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Met my son there for diner before a Monarchs hockey game. The place was filling up fast an hour and a half before the game. We were able to score two seats at the the bar to avoid the half hour wait for a table. Beer choice was ok, not as many varities of craft beers as I thought they should have. The pie (pizza) choices were very good and unusal. Unfortunately do to the high volume at the time the crust did not get cooked all the way through no crunch. Other plus to the locaiton is free parking and easy walk to the Verizon arena.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    54
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Creative pizza makings and a warm atmosphere make this a good place to stop, also a good beer selection. Can be a bit noisy though during peak hours.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

WE have visited this restaurant both times we have been to Manchester, NH. We love this Place! It is one of the few restaurants in New England where you can get gluten and dairy-free pizza which is what I ordered. You cannot beat the deliciousness of this gf/df pizza...not even when I make it at home! My husband loves the various unusual selection you can get for pizza and he says the calzones are great. Portions are large. I am particularly fond of the red sangria.

Both times we have gone have been on a weekend night and the place has been packed. Both times we were told our wait would be 30-45 minutes and both times it was at least half that time until we were seated. Service was pretty good.

It is a must-eat place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

we loved the food and the service. new to the area and the waitress was very helpful with directions in the area. we have returned there 3 times

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, NH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, Good service, Mean Kitchen Manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate here 3X. Food was great, Red Claw Pizza was yummy. Lobster with a white sauce. We also had meatball sliders These were served open faced the first time and closed the second. Open faced was better. Inconsistent in presentation. The second time they were served to us cold. The Kitchen Manger came out and told us they were larger than spec sized so they weren't heated up long enough. Really I didn't care about weather they were spec sized or not, I just wanted them warmed up. They looked much fresher when they came out the second time.
Smore's pizza dessert was excellent. So yummy you dream out it later.
At the end of our visit we witnessed the Kitchen Manager scolding the hostess and told her she was cut because she was leaning on her hands. I agree with what he said, just not how and where it was said. Within ear shot of customers. Not acceptable. Also when he walked away from her, she started to cry at the host podium and everyone could see that.
But, the food was outstanding.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Pie Company also viewed

 

Been to Portland Pie Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Pie Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.