We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Pie Company

Portland Pie Company
786 Elm St, Manchester, NH 03101
(603) 622-7437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 348 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

Just thinking about Portland pie co makes me hungry! My husband and I went there for his birthday last week and were pleasantly surprised when we got the bill. We have the members card, which is free, and because it was his actual birthday we got the most expensive item free! We were happy to get a free pizza! Prices are very reasonable as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    50
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“One of My New Favorite Places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I am so glad we decided to try Portland Pie Company. The downtown Manchester location has a really nice bar. Love the decor. Friendly service (although on one visit our pizzas took quite a while to arrive at the table). The pizzas on the menu are creative and can be made in a variety of sizes and on different flavored crusts - beer, wheat, garlic, etc. Prices are reasonable. We ordered a brownie sundae for dessert and it was one of the best I have every had. The brownie was so moist and gooey. So far I have only tried the pizzas but have heard that the pastas are also really good. Can't wait to go back and try another pizza.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Love Portland Pie!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

The pizza here is great. You can choose your dough. Beer flavored is the best! They have gluten free options as well. Great draft beer. Good amount of tvs and perfect elm st location. Everyone should go here once, and I promise you'll go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just stopped by for the first time. We ordered just a beer, a water and kid's drink, then basic thin crust pizza with extra cheese. We loved it and we finished it quickly. Our server, Samantha R., was FABULOUS. What a sweetheart! She didn't seem put out by the low bill for a party of three and made us feel welcome and explained the menu very well. We'll be back when we're feeling a bit more adventurous!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbarton, NH
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“This place keeps growing on me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

It has a casual atmosphere, great place for a quick bite before a show or a game. The pies are creative and tasty, as are the appetizers. Not crazy about the salads - but have had a sandwich or two which is also great. (Tip: Stay away from the calzones - tried one and it was awful - overcooked outside, soggy inside...) You can grab a table in one of the two rooms in the back, or a high top in the large bar area - lots of beers on tap.....

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Pie Company also viewed

 

Been to Portland Pie Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Pie Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.