We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch Around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly American Bistro

Firefly American Bistro
22 Concord Street, Manchester, NH
603.935.9740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Firefly American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 347 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: near Elm & Lowell Streets
Candia, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Brunch Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have been there twice for their Brunch. It's wonderful and reasonably priced - just what I was looking for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    20
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with great food! (review includes directions to free parking lot)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was in Manchester on business, and a colleague at my company's office recommended this restaurant to me. I'm glad I took her advice.

Free parking is available in a lot accessible from Lowell Street. From Elm, turn onto Lowell (it's one way), then make a right into the parking lot just before the diner. Drive to the back and the right of the lot to get to the parking lot for the Firefly (you'll be able to see the awning for the Firefly).

The ambience is modern and clean.

I started with a bowl of the smoked seafood chowder, which was delicious. Plenty of different kinds of seafood--scallops, shrimp, fish, etc., all perfectly smoked and served in a nice broth with just a touch of cream (this isn't a typical "cream based" chowder).

For my main course, I had the braised lamb shank. They were kind enough to substitute the starch with asparagus for me. The lamb shank was out of this world. Slow-cooked until it was falling off the bone and served with just the right amount of the tomato based sauce in which it was braised, including some of the vegetables from the braising liquid. The asparagus was steamed to perfection--still crispy but not undercooked.

I finished with an espresso, which had a perfect crema.

The overall cost of the dinner with tax was $35.

The service was attentive and polite.

I'm glad I ate at the Firefly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Glad we trusted Trip Advisor reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Looking for a place to have an enjoyable dinner in Manchester and based on the reviews in Trip Advisors we selected Firefly and it was great. The four of us each ordered different items on the menu and could not have been more pleased. The wine choices were good quality and fairly priced. The service was great... we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic American Food Made Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

While traveling to Manchester, NH in November we tried eating at the Firefly, but without a reservation on the weeked for dinner - forget it. The place was packed. This just convinced us it was worth trying again the next time we were in town. This time we went or lunch, so I can't comment on dinner. Our lunch for three consisted of 2 soups - Tomato Parmesan and French Onion. Those who had the french onion loved it, though the cheese topping was a bit charred (must have left under the broiler too long). I loved my Tomato Parmesan - very unique and tasty for a tomato soup. My daughter and I both ordered off the $5 lunch menu - yes I said "$5 lunch menu". She ordered the mac n' cheese, which had shell pasta rather than elbows, and was very good and cheesy. Portion was good size without being too much. I had the a grilled cheese with avocado on rye ($1 more for the avocado). It came with large pile of homemade potatoe chips, both the sandwich and the chips were very good. My husband ordered a cheeseburger with onion ring - also very good. 2 soups, 3 lunches nd water came to $32.00. Very pleased. Our waitress was very friendly and the food came out quickly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

great atmosphere, great service, food is always excellent and the specialty martinis are yummy. Make sure you have reservations if its a friday or saturday night!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Firefly American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.