We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here now, and loving it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purity Spring Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Purity Spring Resort to your Saves list
Purity Spring Resort
1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Here now, and loving it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are also here at PSR this week, Aug 3 - 10, 2014. We love it. Yes there have been changes to the dining room menu, fewer entrees, the appetizers are gone, and there is a nightly buffet, but the food has been very tasty and perhaps better quality than last year. Service in the dining room has been excellent, and with fewer people ordering from a large selection of entrees, everyone gets served faster and can dine more quickly, if desired.

Now some rooms are dated, but we have stayed in 3 different rooms over our four years here, and the reinvestment has been significant. We are in the newly renovated Hillside room and it is brand new, very spacious, and is outfitted nicely.

Yes, rooms are hard to get, because people like us want to come back every year and reserve them before we leave. And this week there are some large family reunions who like to eat and play at the same time, so the rest of us need to be a little flexible, but hey, we are on vacation, so why not.

The grounds are beautified with flowers and plants, as an opening statement of welcome.

The staff and other guests are as friendly as ever, the lake is just as beautiful and there is plenty to do or not. If this is not the place for you, and you prefer more modern accommodations or fancier meals, than this just might not be the right match for you. But that's no reason to badmouth this wonderful resort run by people who have treating their guest like family for over 60 years.

Try it out for yourselves!!!

Room Tip: Newest rooms - Hillside and Fireside. Rooms in the Mill or Lakeside are nicely updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    36
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
57
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We are at purity spring resort right now. When we arrived we were told of the changes to the dining room meals. The food at PS has always been ok, never great, certainly not any shade of gourmet.
It now has a VERY limited menu for dinner, no specials for any meal and a small Buffet for dinner. Choices are very limited and nothing can be ordered to deal with allergies, etc. Everything seems to be pre frozen with very limited fresh foods. This is the height of berry season around here and they never have berries unless you bring your own.
We were told that due to very low wages the bulk of their staff quit in early July. Most staff has not been replaced so breakfast took one hour and yesterday for lunch their were 2 waiters taking care of the whole dining room. This is a huge disappointment and a sure way to ruin a resort.
People are talking and not happy.

Room Tip: You cannot chose a room. You take what is available. Prices here are relatively low and that keeps p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
I am glad to hear you were able to speak directly with one of our staff before leaving today, I wish I had been available, but unfortunately I was scheduled to drive the waterski boat and unable to meet with you. After talking with our staff, it seems you were more upset about not being notified of the changes in format for meals, than the quality of the food. I have looked into it and an email was sent to you letting you know of the changes. Here is the email that was sent.
“We’re emailing today because as our valued guests, we want you to be aware of some temporary changes you may experience with us this summer.
In mid-late June, we unexpectedly lost some key staff in food service (due to health and personal reasons – unfortunately for us, this happened at a less than ideal time in the season). We have worked diligently to search out and hire highly experienced, positive, and qualified staff to fill these positions. We have successfully filled the executive chef position as well as the dining room manager position, and are still working diligently to fill the remaining positions. During this transition time, we ask for your understanding as we bridge this small gap. Currently we are serving the dinner meals as upscale buffets. We are hoping to add in a couple of made to order items and will continue to make changes and add more individual items as staffing permits. Our overall goal in the dining room is to offer our guests a relaxing and satisfying meal, served in a timely manner, with the quality of your entire dining experience being at the level you deserve.
We will do our best to answer any other questions you may have, and again, we want to thank you for your understanding and patience.”
All of our meals, including our wonderful desserts are made fresh daily on the premises. Due to the fact that we’re not on the coast our fish does come in frozen and we cook it fresh daily, however, we did cook up a couple of fresh trout caught out of Purity Lake by one of our young guests last week, the family had fresh trout – served up by our chef for dinner one night.
Regarding food allergies - we do everything we can to accommodate guests with food allergies. We do ask folks to contact us at least a week or two prior to arriving – so they can speak directly with the chef, to discuss specific food allergies so the kitchen has time to order special items (if necessary) for them.
I did want to address the rumor about low wages being the reason we are short staffed. We pay our wait staff more than the average rate of pay for this area, and I’m not sure where the rumor started that staff was leaving due to poor wages, as that is not the case at all.
Historically folks are busy with activities on Monday, so activity in the dining room tends to be more spread out – we did have extra staff on hand and ready to jump in if needed, but it wasn’t necessary.
This year, you booked your reservation on July 19th for an August stay. As you know, we offer current guests the option to re-book the same room for the same time next year – upon departure. We do our best to keep prices as affordable as we can so folks are able to enjoy family vacations together year after year. I’m glad that we were able to accommodate you this year on such short notice, hopefully next year you will be able to stay as long as you want, spending important quality time together with your friends and family.

Steven Hoyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights here for a family wedding in the area. The staff was excellent through all our reservation questions and on check-in too. They even remedied a billing error on their part after we left. We had one of the lakefront condos overlooking the lake and what struck us the most was how dated the condo was. A little basic maintenance would go a long way here.

Room Tip: I would go somewhere else closer to North Conway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here in May. We are always happy to hear that guests found our staff to be helpful and welcoming. All of the staff at Purity Spring Resort are determined to make each guests experience a good one.

We are constantly making improvements and upgrades to our guest rooms, condominiums, common rooms as well as the many gathering spaces throughout the resort. This spring we completely renovated both the Hillside and Fireside cottages - restructuring each building from 2 individual standard rooms into single 2 bedroom luxury units. Being a 100+ year old family owned resort, we sometimes have a hard time letting go of some of the solid pine paneling which at one time dominated popular decor (call us sentimental) - it definitely dates some of our rooms, but rest assured, the condo you stayed in is one of the next buildings to be renovated. Since you stayed with us, we have updated the living room furniture, as well as the bedding and do have plans for more extensive renovations as time permits. We do hope to welcome you and your family back to Purity Spring Resort again!
Sincerely,
Steven Hoyt
Owner, and General Manager
Purity Spring Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, ME
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have been going to dance weekends at Purity Springs for a very long time. Over the years we have come to appreciate everything about it. The folks who run it are professional yet friendly. The food and dining room service is excellent. They continuously strive to improve the experience by trying new menu items and adding additional dining times when necessary.

The grounds are meticulously maintained and always lovely when we are there in April and October.

Although they offer many types of accommodations, we most often stay in King Pine Lodge, very convenient for dancing and very comfortable lodging. The rooms have been recently upgraded with new bedding and refrigerators, coffee makers and microwaves. Rooms are always spotless.

The owners and staff are always willing to accommodate reasonable requests. We never feel taken for granted and always feel appreciated when we go there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This review is long overdue, as we were at PSR last August, but if you are looking for a great place for a summer vacation, please read on.

Our family, including a 28 year old daughter, and a 9 year old son, have been coming to Purity Spring Resort for the last three summers, and will be coming again at the end of July. We cannot say enough wonderful things about the resort and the people there.

Our room is in the Mill, overlooking the lake. Nice and spacious and well furnished. Wonderful common room, indoor pool, fitness room etc, right down stairs.

Enjoyed many of the activities, especially the guided mountain tour with Jack, the activities director. The food in the restaurant was terrific and the service was great as always.

The staff is so friendly and accommodating. No request was too big or too small. The lake and the beach were so peaceful, and it's great to see some of the same families return each year.

Please consider this resort. You will be happy that you did.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mill (3) overlook the lake and are larger than most. Rooms at King Pine lodge, while g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were here this past weekend for a Ski a Thon, and Mt Dew Vertical Challenge race. We stayed at King Pine with a slopeside room. We were warned ahead of time it would be noisy but considering we had teenagers with us we figured it would either be noisy IN the room or OUT of the room and we didnt particularly care. Everything was perfect. Service, staff, room, housekeeping just everything. Cant wait until next winter to do it all over again :)

Room Tip: staying slopeside made it easy for ski in ski out. It is not really within walking distance to wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Based on a Globe suggestion, we packed up the gd kids for a winter weekend escape. It was fabulous. Skiing at their mountain, all meals, evening sleigh ride and snow tubing were way beyond expectations. You could not improve on their service, accommodations or fun. They even gave us a bag of truffles for our ride home! Back for a week next year

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purity Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.