We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even off-season, a delight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purity Spring Resort

Save Saved
You added Purity Spring Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Purity Spring Resort
1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Madison
An American living in Northwest England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Even off-season, a delight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We came here in mid-November, just for a break. Long past the foliage sealn and before the skiers arrived So while we weren't able to take advantage of a lot of the resort amenities -swimming in Purity Lake, kayaks and canoes, BBQ and picnic tables - we still had a delightful, quiet stay. The indoor pool was lovely and the changing and locker rooms made it easy to enjoy. Bring your bathing suits.
The resort is spread out, there's a main in and then a lot of small cottages. We were in Lakeside, which housed two guest rooms, and really was just at the edge of the lake. Wonderful. You do have to walk across the street to get to the restaurant for dinner or breakfast, but it is close.
The room was lovely. Very big. Nice big bed, wonderful linens and pillows. There was a twin daybed as well, which was nice to use as a couch for lounging. Good amount of dresser storage. A small fridge, coffee-maker, microwave, and an Iphone docking station/alarm clock/radio which we really enjoyed since it provided a good selection of music including classical.
Luxuriously big bathroom, great hot shower (it was 13° F outside in the morning) and a nice flat-screen TV. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The view out over the lake was beautiful, and breakfasts were excellent. All the people we encountered were friendly and helpful. I'm sure the place gets Much busier in season, but we loved being there in one of the quiet times. Still, it'd be great to come back in the summer to enjoy the lake in a more active way. This place is not 4-star luxury, but it is five-star clean and comfortable. You can tell that the people who run Purity Spring really care about their place and the people who stay here.

The King Pine Ski Area (and a great looking outdoor ice skating rink) is about a 1/4 mile up the road. Easy access to the Conway and North Conway areas, too.

Room Tip: Lakeview Cottage (two rooms available in it) was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    29
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
52
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a family reunion here with 70 people. The Hoyt Family and staff were absolutely wonderful! The food was excellent. The lodging was clean and comfortable. The amenities were great! We kayaked, canoed, played at the beach on the climbing wall in the lake and water-skiied! The indoor poor and outside tennis courts were included as well as the ready-to-light bonfire. They set up game rooms with puzzles and ping-pong tables and the DVD player to watch family movies. If something could be perfect, that stay was. People came from all over the country and as far away as Japan. Although the resort is situated in the beautiful White Mountains with hundreds of shopping, food and attractions for all ages, you don't have to leave the resort for anything if you don't want to. Everything was included in our stay (except if we had alcohol with our dinner). They pull no punches. I think winter skiing may be an extra charge, but other than that, your vacation will be an all inclusive wonderful, memorable time! We stayed in the King Pine Lodge and it accomodated everyone, but there are lots of choices on their 75 acres.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

From the moment we checked in with a very enthusiastic staff, to the delightful breakfast in our inn - this was definitely a great place to stay. The rooms are not fancy, but very comfortable and the rooms in the main inn are convenient for meals. We enjoyed our breakfast the next morning. Our Travelzoo deal allowed us to order anything off the menu. Our room was across the road from the lake and wished we had more time to explore it and the audubon land that is adjacent to it. The hot tub/pool closes early (8:00 p.m.) and were a bit disappointed, but otherwise, this is a perfect place to stay as a couple and/or family. We also enjoyed one of the best meals in nearby Snowvillage Inn (the cedar plank salmon is to die for!)

Room Tip: Our room was to the front of the Inn and the road noise could be easily heard. It might be good to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

In a world of ultra standardized resorts finding the Purity Spring Resort was a great surprise. Tucked in the hills between the Lakes region and the White Mountains the great chalets of the resort are cozy, comfortable, green and so integrated to nature that we could feel in a shack. The pond where we can freely practice water sports activities is great some of the pictures I took there could be easily be perceived as post cards. Moreover the service was so kind that I did feel at home. Not to mention the tennis courts, pools, etc, etc that I couldn't even have the time to experience. Can't barely wait do come back to New England and preferably to this charming hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our first stay at Purity Spring Resort, though we have been in the area many times and have skied at King Pine. Booked a one night anniversary stay, and it was the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. We stayed In a room in the main building (above the office). Room had older furniture, but was quaint, very clean, and very comfortable. Were greeted with a "happy anniversary" at the pub, and a round of drinks on the house. Dinner in the pub was very good. Limited but varied menu. Breakfast was included in our reservation, whatever we wanted off the menu, plus cereal, muffins, yogurt also available. The staff in every area - front desk, pool, gift shop, restaurants were friendly and so helpful. All seemed to genuinely enjoy working there. When we were leaving, we noticed one of our tires was low, front office staff sent us up to a maintenance area where a few guys were waiting for us. Checked all 4 tires, put air in and got us on our way! The grounds were beautiful, decorated for fall. Only negative was lack of cellphone service in the area--no fault of the resort. Would highly recommend Purity Spring Resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This summer was our 6th stay with Purity Springs! Our family group is composed of myself, my daughter, son-inlaw and 2 grandkids, this year 10 & 12. We have rented several of the condos but our favorite is Island view, which is lake side and a short walk on the path from the rest of the facilities. The lake is beautiful, the opportunity to kayak or canoe, fish, swim climb the famous Iceberg on the lake, the different walking trails, heated swimming, opportunity to get massages provide everything needed for a relaxing yet active vacation. The kids love to use the swimming pool every evening. When the grandkids were younger we were able to utilize their free babysitting services a few days a week.

The staff is very accomodating and helpful. The lake is very clean and clear, there are many activities and amenities in the area for kids of all ages. and many beautiful natural places. Every year we discover a new place to explore or new paths to hike. Even shopping and the extensive Conway outlets is 20' away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Enjoyed a few days with my daughter and her family, who live in N.H. We loved the area. Canoeing on the placid bog pond was perfect with a toddler on board. I got to see wild cranberries and carnivorous pitcher plants, (Don't get those in the Midwest).
The 2 bedroom cottage we stayed in was perfect for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purity Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.