We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purity Spring Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Purity Spring Resort to your Saves list
Purity Spring Resort
1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Majestic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

In a world of ultra standardized resorts finding the Purity Spring Resort was a great surprise. Tucked in the hills between the Lakes region and the White Mountains the great chalets of the resort are cozy, comfortable, green and so integrated to nature that we could feel in a shack. The pond where we can freely practice water sports activities is great some of the pictures I took there could be easily be perceived as post cards. Moreover the service was so kind that I did feel at home. Not to mention the tennis courts, pools, etc, etc that I couldn't even have the time to experience. Can't barely wait do come back to New England and preferably to this charming hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    36
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
57
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our first stay at Purity Spring Resort, though we have been in the area many times and have skied at King Pine. Booked a one night anniversary stay, and it was the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. We stayed In a room in the main building (above the office). Room had older furniture, but was quaint, very clean, and very comfortable. Were greeted with a "happy anniversary" at the pub, and a round of drinks on the house. Dinner in the pub was very good. Limited but varied menu. Breakfast was included in our reservation, whatever we wanted off the menu, plus cereal, muffins, yogurt also available. The staff in every area - front desk, pool, gift shop, restaurants were friendly and so helpful. All seemed to genuinely enjoy working there. When we were leaving, we noticed one of our tires was low, front office staff sent us up to a maintenance area where a few guys were waiting for us. Checked all 4 tires, put air in and got us on our way! The grounds were beautiful, decorated for fall. Only negative was lack of cellphone service in the area--no fault of the resort. Would highly recommend Purity Spring Resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This summer was our 6th stay with Purity Springs! Our family group is composed of myself, my daughter, son-inlaw and 2 grandkids, this year 10 & 12. We have rented several of the condos but our favorite is Island view, which is lake side and a short walk on the path from the rest of the facilities. The lake is beautiful, the opportunity to kayak or canoe, fish, swim climb the famous Iceberg on the lake, the different walking trails, heated swimming, opportunity to get massages provide everything needed for a relaxing yet active vacation. The kids love to use the swimming pool every evening. When the grandkids were younger we were able to utilize their free babysitting services a few days a week.

The staff is very accomodating and helpful. The lake is very clean and clear, there are many activities and amenities in the area for kids of all ages. and many beautiful natural places. Every year we discover a new place to explore or new paths to hike. Even shopping and the extensive Conway outlets is 20' away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Enjoyed a few days with my daughter and her family, who live in N.H. We loved the area. Canoeing on the placid bog pond was perfect with a toddler on board. I got to see wild cranberries and carnivorous pitcher plants, (Don't get those in the Midwest).
The 2 bedroom cottage we stayed in was perfect for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I spent a week here in August.
Like anytime you book online at an unfamiliar place, we hoped for the best.
From the moment we arrived, Heather at the front desk was a pleasure.
Our room, a 2 bedroom suite at the INN, was recently redone and the bathroom was immaculate. (An otherwise deal breaker for my wife.)
Tom Hoyt and his staff were outstanding in everyway.
From kayaking to fishing, swimming to waterskiing , and from the Lobster Cookout to the Incredible Buffet, this place delivers an outstanding value for families.
It’s no surprise why families return year after year.
So if you're looking for a true family vacation where there are plenty of activities for the kids, this is it.
Tip: Sign up for the Saco River Trip…….. Capt Jack, Tammy, MaryBeth and Patrick will deliver a very memorable experience.

-Carl on the Cape

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My daughter and I spent 4 days here in August. The setting is very special, nestled in the foothills of the White Mountains, with it's own private lake, forests and wildlife trails. The lake is very pure and clean, and historically was the source of bottled spring water sold from the site. If you're lucky, when you kayak, you can see loons and herons, and more commonly, ducks and turtles. There's something for everyone here: waterskiing, tennis, hiking, swimming, boating, arts and crafts, games, even an indoor pool and fitness facility, and an Audubon Sanctuary. I also treated myself to a sublime massage in the repurposed antique Spring House, bordering the brook.
The accomodations are simple, and somewhat old-fashioned, but I find that adds to the charm, especially as they are scrupulously cleaned and very comfortable.
Rebooked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place. We only stayed 3 days 2 nights this visit but had a wonderful time. We did archery, water-skiing, canoeing, tie-dying and sailing and kayaking and swimming at the main beach. We didn't eat here this time but have in the past. This was our first time staying in the condos. Fully equipped kitchen with everything we needed was great for our group of 6.

Room Tip: Our condo was spacious, well-appointed and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purity Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.