We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purity Spring Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Purity Spring Resort to your Saves list
Purity Spring Resort
1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This summer was our 6th stay with Purity Springs! Our family group is composed of myself, my daughter, son-inlaw and 2 grandkids, this year 10 & 12. We have rented several of the condos but our favorite is Island view, which is lake side and a short walk on the path from the rest of the facilities. The lake is beautiful, the opportunity to kayak or canoe, fish, swim climb the famous Iceberg on the lake, the different walking trails, heated swimming, opportunity to get massages provide everything needed for a relaxing yet active vacation. The kids love to use the swimming pool every evening. When the grandkids were younger we were able to utilize their free babysitting services a few days a week.

The staff is very accomodating and helpful. The lake is very clean and clear, there are many activities and amenities in the area for kids of all ages. and many beautiful natural places. Every year we discover a new place to explore or new paths to hike. Even shopping and the extensive Conway outlets is 20' away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
57
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Enjoyed a few days with my daughter and her family, who live in N.H. We loved the area. Canoeing on the placid bog pond was perfect with a toddler on board. I got to see wild cranberries and carnivorous pitcher plants, (Don't get those in the Midwest).
The 2 bedroom cottage we stayed in was perfect for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I spent a week here in August.
Like anytime you book online at an unfamiliar place, we hoped for the best.
From the moment we arrived, Heather at the front desk was a pleasure.
Our room, a 2 bedroom suite at the INN, was recently redone and the bathroom was immaculate. (An otherwise deal breaker for my wife.)
Tom Hoyt and his staff were outstanding in everyway.
From kayaking to fishing, swimming to waterskiing , and from the Lobster Cookout to the Incredible Buffet, this place delivers an outstanding value for families.
It’s no surprise why families return year after year.
So if you're looking for a true family vacation where there are plenty of activities for the kids, this is it.
Tip: Sign up for the Saco River Trip…….. Capt Jack, Tammy, MaryBeth and Patrick will deliver a very memorable experience.

-Carl on the Cape

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My daughter and I spent 4 days here in August. The setting is very special, nestled in the foothills of the White Mountains, with it's own private lake, forests and wildlife trails. The lake is very pure and clean, and historically was the source of bottled spring water sold from the site. If you're lucky, when you kayak, you can see loons and herons, and more commonly, ducks and turtles. There's something for everyone here: waterskiing, tennis, hiking, swimming, boating, arts and crafts, games, even an indoor pool and fitness facility, and an Audubon Sanctuary. I also treated myself to a sublime massage in the repurposed antique Spring House, bordering the brook.
The accomodations are simple, and somewhat old-fashioned, but I find that adds to the charm, especially as they are scrupulously cleaned and very comfortable.
Rebooked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place. We only stayed 3 days 2 nights this visit but had a wonderful time. We did archery, water-skiing, canoeing, tie-dying and sailing and kayaking and swimming at the main beach. We didn't eat here this time but have in the past. This was our first time staying in the condos. Fully equipped kitchen with everything we needed was great for our group of 6.

Room Tip: Our condo was spacious, well-appointed and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everyone has a different expectation on vacation - if you like to just sit in the peace of the forest or on a float in the lake or read a book by the watchtower - this is the place. It is also the place to play volleyball on the grass or on the sand waiting your turn to waterski on their own private lake. The staff makes you feel part of the family atmosphere of this wonderful resort we have frequented since our daughter was 3.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff -- each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have just come from a weekend at another New England resort, which compelled me to come on to Trip Advisor and sing the praises of good 'ol Purity Spring. My extended family has been vacationing here for years, and we always have a wonderful, spirited, relaxing time, where we re-connect and unplug for a week (you don't need to unplug, incidentally, there is Wi-Fi everywhere, though cell service is scarce). In short, Purity is run by a family for families. They are accommodating when they can be, and patient (my nephew tried to get up on water skis eight times before he succeeded! There was no line behind him; if there was, he would have been told to try again at the end of the line, after about four attempts). The staff is positive, friendly and helpful (particularly the high school and college-age staff... these kids work HARD and make it look like fun). There are lots of scheduled outdoor activities, and you can grab a kayak, canoe or fishing pole when the mood strikes. The other guests are families from all over the country; the overall mood is very friendly.
Some of the reviews indicate that Purity is different, and the accommodations perhaps not up to snuff... it is what it is. Everything is very clean and well-run. It is a comfortable, affordable family vacation that provides many activities in a laid-back and welcoming family atmosphere. The restaurant has room for improvement; it's true. The dinner can be very good... other times it's a swing and a miss. They have improved over the years by simplifying their menu, streamlining the reservation process, and making it more flexible and family friendly. Aside from the sometimes slowness of the kitchen, breakfast is generally very good.
The activities include water skiing, rock climbing, hiking, biking, sailing, canoeing, kayaking, archery and more. At night, they have happy various happy hours, karaoke night, trivia night, etc. There are teen outings at various times. They is a super fun day-long canoe river trip on Thursdays, and the outdoor lobster bake on Thursday nights is a fun, social and relaxing.

In short, Purity is like home away from home... except you don't do any of the cooking or cleaning! It's a great way to spend a vacation and reconnect as a family, with other families, hosted by a family. Try it once, you'll keep coming back!

Room Tip: King Pine Lodge is about a mile from the main beach and dining hall. It does, however, have a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purity Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.