We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purity Spring Resort

Save Saved
You added Purity Spring Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Purity Spring Resort
1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Madison
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place. We only stayed 3 days 2 nights this visit but had a wonderful time. We did archery, water-skiing, canoeing, tie-dying and sailing and kayaking and swimming at the main beach. We didn't eat here this time but have in the past. This was our first time staying in the condos. Fully equipped kitchen with everything we needed was great for our group of 6.

Room Tip: Our condo was spacious, well-appointed and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    7
    10
    4
See reviews for
52
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everyone has a different expectation on vacation - if you like to just sit in the peace of the forest or on a float in the lake or read a book by the watchtower - this is the place. It is also the place to play volleyball on the grass or on the sand waiting your turn to waterski on their own private lake. The staff makes you feel part of the family atmosphere of this wonderful resort we have frequented since our daughter was 3.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff -- each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have just come from a weekend at another New England resort, which compelled me to come on to Trip Advisor and sing the praises of good 'ol Purity Spring. My extended family has been vacationing here for years, and we always have a wonderful, spirited, relaxing time, where we re-connect and unplug for a week (you don't need to unplug, incidentally, there is Wi-Fi everywhere, though cell service is scarce). In short, Purity is run by a family for families. They are accommodating when they can be, and patient (my nephew tried to get up on water skis eight times before he succeeded! There was no line behind him; if there was, he would have been told to try again at the end of the line, after about four attempts). The staff is positive, friendly and helpful (particularly the high school and college-age staff... these kids work HARD and make it look like fun). There are lots of scheduled outdoor activities, and you can grab a kayak, canoe or fishing pole when the mood strikes. The other guests are families from all over the country; the overall mood is very friendly.
Some of the reviews indicate that Purity is different, and the accommodations perhaps not up to snuff... it is what it is. Everything is very clean and well-run. It is a comfortable, affordable family vacation that provides many activities in a laid-back and welcoming family atmosphere. The restaurant has room for improvement; it's true. The dinner can be very good... other times it's a swing and a miss. They have improved over the years by simplifying their menu, streamlining the reservation process, and making it more flexible and family friendly. Aside from the sometimes slowness of the kitchen, breakfast is generally very good.
The activities include water skiing, rock climbing, hiking, biking, sailing, canoeing, kayaking, archery and more. At night, they have happy various happy hours, karaoke night, trivia night, etc. There are teen outings at various times. They is a super fun day-long canoe river trip on Thursdays, and the outdoor lobster bake on Thursday nights is a fun, social and relaxing.

In short, Purity is like home away from home... except you don't do any of the cooking or cleaning! It's a great way to spend a vacation and reconnect as a family, with other families, hosted by a family. Try it once, you'll keep coming back!

Room Tip: King Pine Lodge is about a mile from the main beach and dining hall. It does, however, have a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at Purity Springs from Wednesday thru Saturday and had a very relaxing trip. The front desk staff was wonderful and helpful anytime we stopping in with questions or looking for equipment. We stayed in two condos in Mountainside Condos (219 & 220), and while it was I think the furthest away from the main area, it was perfect and quiet for us, and all still in walkable distance. Two days were full of kayking, canoeing, fishing, rowboats, tennis, swimming, hiking, and even shuffleboard. Since we were there toward the end of the week, we got to enjoy the lobster cookout and then the smorgasbord. The food was very good - only one night, the ribs were a bit overdone. Meal plan for breakfast and dinner was a good value for us. It was really nice to have access to all the boats on the lake at any hour - even for taking my son fishing at 6:30 a.m. Every person on the staff that we had contact with was friendly and willing to help (will have to say that Heather at the front desk won the prize!). There are so many "regulars" at we heard come back year after year, and we can see why. Some parts of the condos could be updated (some kitchen cabinets and A/C), but they are nicely furnished and true to the pictures on the website. We did get wifi in the condos, so that was nice for emergencies. I would definitely recommend this as we had a wonderful time (but can't comment on the other housing options). Some people might question the price, but we were ok with it since all the equipment we used we did not have to pay additional fees to rent (and boat fees for all we used for 6 people would have been expensive elsewhere probably). Thanks to everyone there!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake worth florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family (13 people ages 10-80 ) just spent a delightful week at Purity Springs.
It is a perfect spot to enjoy its outdoor actiivites, even just lounging by the lake and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Rooms were basic but comfortable, food was great tasting and generous, and the staff amazingly considerate/concerned about the welfare of their guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have gone to Purity Springs for vacation every summer for the last 5 years and we love it. It's a beautiful setting on a private lake with lots to do. There are kayaks, canoes and row boats to use whenever you want. They have plenty of activities scheduled every day like water skiing, archery, tye die t-shirts, plenty of trials for hiking and much more!! You can do as much or as little as you want. If I had to give any complaints it would be that the rooms are a little outdated and the food in the restaurant is just ok. But overall it's a really great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Purity Spring back in October for our Honeymoon. At that time we didn't have a great experience, and we had to cut our trip short due to Hurricane Sandy. After hearing our story, the manager contacted me to make arrangements for us to come back and finish our trip...I was so pleased to hear it! Although the first trip wasn't the best, I was more than willing to give it a second chance, and boy am I glad we did! We just did our "redo" in July of 2013 and spent a long weekend there, it was AMAZING! We parked when we got there and didn't get back into the car until we checked out--there was just so much to do! As soon as we arrived it was beautiful, so we jumped into kayaks and went to try out the waterskiing--SO MUCH FUN! The meals were absolutely delicious and plentiful, the facilities were so clean, our room was BEAUTIFUL, and most importantly the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, particularly Heather at the front desk--she made the entire weekend so memorable! We tried out the archery, some hiking, and a ton of kayaking and swimming--we were never bored! All in all, we had an absolutely amazing trip! We came home perfectly rested and rejuvenated--we will definitely be returning to Purity Spring next summer! (I was also told that one of the main problems we had on our last trip had been taken care of.) I think that is most important in showing the character of a place...problems will always come up, but when they are taken care of in the helpful and courteous manner that we encountered with Purity Spring, it makes the place seem that much better!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Inn are the best; cozy, comfortable, and perfect central location! And the beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison
Purity Spring Hotel
Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purity Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.