We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Family Reunion Spot (Already Booked for Next Year)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purity Spring Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Purity Spring Resort to your Saves list
Purity Spring Resort
1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Family Reunion Spot (Already Booked for Next Year)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Having grown up in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire, our family was looking for a place that could re-create that unique atmosphere and lifestyle for our reunion earlier this month.

We found it at Purity Spring.

The accommodations were excellent. It was something of a cross between "rustic" and "too fancy." (Hey - when you're going to the lake, you want it to feel like "the lake"... but then again, some places take the nostalgia schtick too far.) At Purity Spring the suites were modern, spacious and clean, and there were the requisite books and board games in the common areas and comfy couches where we could spend rainy afternoons.

The outdoor facilities allowed a huge variety of activities. There were swim beaches, kayaks, canoes, rowboats, shuffleboard and a playground for the kids. Most importantly, when it came to the outdoors activities, there was a laid back, family-friendly attitude towards the facilities. That's rare these days. There wasn't a burdensome process of "signing out" canoes, kayaks, or even the horseshoes for the horseshoe pit. And frankly, as someone who grew up on the lake and played a lot of tippy-canoe as a kid, it was refreshing to be able to grab a canoe, paddle it out to the raft and, yes, flip over my sister's kayak without fearing that I was breaking some sort of nanny rules. As I said: That's rare these days.

Couple of other things (while I ramble on)...

My family all agreed that we really liked the all-inclusive setup. The restaurant itself was great. You'd almost expect a cafeteria-style "rustic" experience in a place like this, but Purity Spring has a fairly high-end menu for breakfast and dinner. The meals were a pleasant surprise.

The staff was wonderful. You could tell the place is family-owned, and at no point did our 20 (swelling to 30 at one point) person group ever feel like we were "unwelcome." (If you've got little kids, you know what I mean... A lot of places that bill themselves as "family resorts" recoil in shock when your kids are running around at dusk making a lot of noise playing tag. It helps that at Purity Spring the different lodging options are very separated from each other, but in the end, the attitude comes back to having a great staff.)

We really didn't have any complaints, and we've already reserved our time next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    36
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
57
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Terrific family owned resort, where the employees remember you and your entire family by first name. A resort for all seasons!! In the Summer, the resort CEO made sure that myself and my family learned how to water ski ( this is included in your stay). Every year I go back, we pick up where we left off. Winter time: terrific snow on a friendly mountain.

The family owned property goes back 150+ years, and the resort is celebrating its 100th anniversary of having guest this year. Staff is friendly and helpful. If you want information on things to do off of the resort, just simply ask the friendly and curteous front desk, or Jack Ellis, or a Hoyt Family Member and you are in good shape from there.

6 years ago, while vacationing here, my car broke down,...... not to worry, the resort set me up with the right person to fix my vehicle, while I was on vacation, and made sure if I needed transportation, it was available. No hassels, no worries, I did not miss a day of vacation. Customer service, customer serice, customer service!!!!

It is important to note that alot of guests return every year. I know some guests that have been visitors here yearly since 1943!!!!! This is a record that is tough to beat.

The Hoyt Family and Staff have become more like family, and you owe it to yourself to become part of this growing family with a visit. Call Carolyn at the front desk today at 603-367-8896 and learn for yourself how special Purity Spring Resort is.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

King Pine is a great place to bring a family to go skiing or any seasonal sports for that matter. Has a quaint retro feel to it. Breakfast buffet was the bargain of the century though the dinner buffet was overpriced in my opinion (we ate at the pub which was great) Loved the quaint cottage-like amenities, even if they are dated. Felt like camp! The challenges? For one, skis were stolen at King Pine, but I can't blame the hotel, just surprised that someone would steal old rental skis from a family-friendly resort.

Check out was a disaster. Apparently we were the only people that ever rented a room without getting the meal package (which we would have gotten except we arrived late and left early two days later negating the need for paying for all meals in advance. The staff took forever to check us out and acted like they didn't trust us. Took at least 20 minutes to checkout to the point that my kids got out of the waiting car to wonder if I was still around. Why? We had been billed for meals that never occurred (in fact, we had eaten at King Pine's cafeteria because we had gone night skiing (which was a blast). The staff was rude about it and questioned us. They were very abrupt about the fact that we only rented a room.

The sad part is that while we stayed there, we talked about how great it would be to come up during the summer and sending our 10 year old to their overnight camp. The checkout left such a bad taste in my mouth, that I'm in no hurry to return. Too bad, because the place is one of a kind and you can tell the owners are proud of their place. Note to owners: Develop an ownership culture with your employees and fire your front desk staff. As it is now, they don't care and are hurting your jewel of a place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We have been going to Purity Springs for years with a group of colleagues for a weekend away. I have stayed in the Main Inn, the Mill, and the King Pine Lodge. My best experience has been the Mill. The rooms are clean, include a small sink, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and it is wonderful to hear to running water of the brook outside the window as well as have a view overlooking the lake. The food is always good, but it is not fine dining. Breakfasts are great. I would recommend staying in one of the Main Buildings not the King Pine Lodge. For a more inn or bed and breakfast feel, you would want to stay in one of the rooms in the Inn. The names of the buildings actually speak to their character and feel. That was the only building I did not enjoy. It seemed remote. Purity Spring has all kinds of outdoor activities for families in all seasons and the Mill has a beautiful indoor pool and hot tub. It is also very reasonably priced for a family. I am so surprised to read that people's experiences have not been good here. I have gone here once a year for over 15 years and have had a great time every time.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the Mill, Inn or cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Over priced rooms that ended up being close to twice the price of what we booked. I wouldn't have paid the original price again, never mind the bloated rate we ended up paying. Worst part was the smug lady at the desk who was clearly anticipating our reaction when she gave us our bill.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We just returned from a long weekend and our family of 4 and had a great time. I found everyone who worked there to be extremely friendly and helpful. From the front desk who helped us with rooms, to the ski ticket counter, to the ski instructors- everyone took time to help answer our questions- which I am sure they hear the same questions 100 times each day.
Our room was clean and neat- some of the rooms are a bit older but our room was large and the beds were comfy with 2 doubles and a set of bunk beds.
We decided to do the meal plan, and could hop on the shuttle bus which zipped us from the mountain and to the inn. The food was delicious with a buffet at each meal with plenty of options, including hot soups and salads at lunch and dinner and don't even try to pass up the desserts- the mixed berry pie was delicious- and I am not even going to mention the cookies that I really didn't eat!
For young families this is a great place. The mountain is a perfect size- our young kids 5 & 7 enjoyed their lessons and the ski instructors actually gave you feedback about your child's progress during the 1 1/2 lesson. The mountain isn't large but it still has some challenging runs- and the lift lines were short- And at the end of the day- our kids left with a sense of accomplishment and smiles. Guests at Purity springs have access to the heated pool- a huge kid favorite- and King Pine pass includes access to ice skating.
When you want a break from skiing, the tubing is a big hit!
There is no real scene here at the mountain- no fancy gear, or crazy showboating- just families and skiers enjoying what it is really all about- great skiing and great times! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuritySpring, Manager at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments and feedback. King Pine and Purity Spring are indeed special places and we're glad to hear your family enjoyed their stay. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We Stayed in the Starr King lodge, and our room smelled of mold and the bathroom had mold on the ceiling. Plus the kitchen had mouse droppings on the counter. My wife turned on the dehumidifer and it was all i could do to have a conversation. The food and service at the inn was fantastic. The front desk staff have terrible people skills and seemed preturbed when asked questions.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Purity Spring is a family-owned and operated business and the Hoyt family has been in the hospitality business for 100 years. As fourth and fifth generation owners, our family takes pride in customer loyalty and satisfaction, and all issues are addressed with priority.

The building in which you stayed is one of our oldest "retreat" lodges and decades ago was built on a natural moisture system. Although we have made significant improvements over the years to reduce the humid conditions within the area, a wetter than average fall appears to be working against us. Nevertheless, we are currently replacing the entire ventilation system within the structure which we hope will reduce future moisture issues. All affected drywall and insulation have been replaced and dehumidifiers have indeed been found to be too noisy and therefore have been replaced with quieter, more efficient units.

There is simply no excuse for rudeness and/or insincerity from any of our staff. We apologize for this and plan to continue working with all departments to be sure that the positive customer service that Purity Spring has long been known for continues.

Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention. Addressing our guests' concerns will always be a priority and we hope that you will consider giving Purity Spring another chance in the near future.

Thank you,
Steven Hoyt
603.367.4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Rte. 153, Madison, NH 03849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purity Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.