We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok; not too bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Squire Motel

Save Saved
You added Country Squire Motel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Squire Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   172 W. Main St., Littleton, NH 03561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Littleton
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ok; not too bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Let's see...I walked into the office, which is attached to the owner's home, and stood there for a good 5 minutes before anyone greeted me. I said "Hello", rang the bell thingy, and actually saw people walking around in the house, one of whom sounded like he was coughing up a lung, before anyone decided to greet me in the office, which was quite odd. The place is old, but ok. The internet worked well, which was surprising. But there's no breakfast in the morning, and there's just a really small shower stall (no tub). The mattresses are hard as rocks, and the person I was with found a fake fingernail stuck in her sheets. The most bizarre event occurred in the morning, when I went to use the bathroom at 7:30 AM, and saw one of the owners...this older guy who I saw in the office the first day...peering through the bathroom window. When he saw me he looked away. Overall, a weird experience --- I won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocleeann, owner at Country Squire Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
We have no record of an advance reservation or a registration of anyone from Utah staying here during the month of September. But I will do my best to respond.

1. “I walked into the office, which is attached to the owner's home, and stood there for a good 5 minutes before anyone greeted me. I said "Hello", rang the bell thingy, and actually saw people walking around in the house”

What is interesting about this is that one can not see within the owner’s home via the guests’ registration area. One would have to exit the office and peer through the windows of the home in order to see anyone walking within.

2. “actually saw people walking around in the house, one of whom sounded like he was coughing up a lung”

We are very sorry that the person was in distress at the time of your arrival and was unable to promptly greet you. Hopefully upon his arrival he expressed his apologies for the delay. It might be helpful for you to know that the owner is a lifelong non-smoker, actually a health and fitness person with very healthy lungs.

3. “The mattresses are hard as rocks”

Thanks for heads up. Actually when we receive such a complaint I personally sleep in the room. Since we have no record of your stay I can only try to guess which room you stayed in.

4. “when I went to use the bathroom at 7:30 AM, and saw one of the owners...this older guy who I saw in the office the first day...peering through the bathroom window.”

All of the bathrooms have an opaque window shade installed. The window shade is controlled from within the room and can not be manipulated from the exterior of the building. How anyone could view you through an opaque window shade is a mystery but let’s explore…

The window is on the front side of the building overlooking the parking lot.
7:30am – it’s daylight
7:30am – guests are walking to and from the office to get coffee, check out, and asking tourism information. They are walking through the parking lot in direct view of that window and anyone that might be near it.
7:30am – some guests will be packing up their vehicles to begin their daily activities, all within view of that window and anyone that might be near it
7:30am – some guests will be sitting in the chairs on the deck drinking their coffee, within view of that window and anyone that might be near it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We were in the northern White Mountains area of New Hampshire recently and needed a place for a night before heading to Montreal. We used the AAA tourbook and positive Tripadvisor reviews to decide on the Country Squire Motel. We are glad to report that this is a very good choice: the room we were in was very clean, and had a small microwave and fridge. The only downside is the blanket -- a rubbery foam thing that felt gross. The room and bathroom are smallish, but adequate for a couple (especially if you're in a room with one queen bed). The motel is also conveniently close to the town of Littleton, and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Clean, reasonable cost.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Keith and Maureen UK
Although we only stayed one night here, on our travels around New England, this motel is well worth a recommendation. The room was a good size with two Queen beds (which we found comfortable), microwave, fridge and large wardrobe. It was very clean and fresh with good lighting. The grounds were well cared for. Chairs are provided on the deck and as the location was very quiet this was very restful after a day’s drive. Coffee was available in reception. Although we did not use the pool (others did) it looked clean and pleasant. For the price it was very good we would definitely stay again

  • Liked — Cleanlinness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

The Country Squire Motel is located just outside of the village of Littleton in a nice quiet area. It provides easy access to downtown Littleton and the Interstate Highway. The room was clean and the grounds were well kept. The owners were pleasant people.

My room was very clean. It was nice to have a fridge and a small microwave. Windows on each side of the building brought in a nice cross breeze even on a very warm day. There is air conditioning, unit in the wall, but it was very noisy so I only used it to cool down the room during the late afternoon and elected to have the windows open during the night. The furniture was in good shape though the bed was uncomfortable but it worked for one night and for being alone. Nice touch having not just a bureau/desk but also a nice table with two chairs to work at as I was on business.

Very cute but small inground pool. I did not swim but did take a look and was impressed with the cleanliness.

All and all a nice place to stop and rest for the night. Everything looked and smelled clean and the carpet based the yuck factor and I was able to walk barefoot in the room....nice!

Would definately use again when in the area on business. Would also work in a larger room, for families staying in the area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Squire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Motel

Address: 172 W. Main St., Littleton, NH 03561
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Littleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Squire Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are nonsmoking and include mini-fridge, microwave, cable tv and complimentary wireless internet access. Morning coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Country Squire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Squire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.